Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#221267 01/18/2009 11:43 PM
C
C Offline
Is there any way to improve the ability of the pages in a forum being listed in the search engines? The index page of my forum lists well with the search engines but none of the others.

Capt. Clay C
Capt. Clay C #221268 01/18/2009 11:51 PM
UBB.threads Developer
UBB.threads Developer
Well, SE Friendly URLs are a good start (option in UBB.T), and a sitemap is also helpful (I have a paid mod that lists out all of your forum topics in a sitemap; click here for more information)

I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Do you need Forum Install or Upgrade Services?
Forums: A Gardeners Forum, Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
Gizmo #221329 01/20/2009 2:07 PM
C
C Offline
I must be blind because I am missing the option. I expected it to be there. I will check into your site about the sitemap as well.

Capt. Clay C
You have two options in the control panel.
Control Panel ยป Primary Settings

Enable Spider-friendly URLs?
Warning: This function allows most search engine spiders to crawl the community and also allows for specially formatted URLs, which may result in higher bandwidth usage and server load.

Note: The PATH_INFO environmental variable must be available for this feature to function properly.

Enable HTML Extension:

At least I think they are both there for your version.

Last edited by Ruben Rocha; 01/20/2009 2:31 PM.

Blue Man Group
There is no such thing as stupid questions. Just stupid answers
Ruben #221333 01/20/2009 3:04 PM
UBB.threads Developer
UBB.threads Developer
Enable Spider-frinedly has been there since 7.0; html extension was added in 7.3 i think?