Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
N
N Offline
At some point in the last few updates UBB.threads stopped accepting usernames with spaces in them.

All existing usernames on one of my sites have spaces - we have a "username must be Firstname Lastname" policy. This change is debatably not a bug, but I'd really like to see it being backed out if at all possible -- can this be done?

(On a related note, I'd like the ability to turn off Display Names...)

UBB.threads Developer
UBB.threads Developer
I don't recall the reasoning offhand, but it was added like this in the last couple versions for a reason; I was thinking it was just spaces before or after text (so people couldn't try to register say "gizmo " or " gizmo")...

Why not use the Public Display Name for this though is my question; it should allow spaces without a problem...

I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Do you need Forum Install or Upgrade Services?
Forums: A Gardeners Forum, Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
N
N Offline
I understood that to be the change too, but when you actually try to register now it tells you that usernames must only contain alphanumeric characters and underscores.

Public Display Name is certainly an option, but I'd rather stick with the existing system with the username if I could purely because my four hundred and fifty existing users are in that format.

If you look at the change logs you will see that this change was intended to not allow spaces before and after the name. I don't believe the intent was to limit spaces like "First Last".
But that is what we ended up with "First_Last" or "FirstLast"

Blue Man Group
There is no such thing as stupid questions. Just stupid answers