Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
I've been wondering about this for a while: is there an htaccess file that will 301 Redirect old style addresses to the new search engine friendly ones? The reason is to get rid of duplicate content issues on SEs.

I've been looking at the "make_ubb_url" function and figured it might provide a basic template for me to build my own redirects, but it'd be a helluva job. So, if the htaccess for this already exists, I'd really appreciate it! smile

UBB.threads Developer
UBB.threads Developer
Well, there are php and cgi redirect files available in the member area; unless your heart is set on using htaccess for some reason...

Both UBB.C and UBB.T v6 used different filenames than UBB.T7 so there should be no conflict...

I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Do you need Forum Install or Upgrade Services?
Forums: A Gardeners Forum, Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
Hi Gizmo - thanks for that. smile PHP is absolutely fine - but I've not seen the files? I'll take another look...

Ok, thanks Gizmo. I took a look, but those files aren't quite what I was after - though to be fair I probably didn't quite say what I meant! wink

It's to do with changes in the URL structure from the dynamic URLs to search engine friendly URLs. The SE friendly URL system is great, but currently it leads to a duplicate content. Take this:
Code
forums/ubbthreads.php?ubb=cfrm
and this...
Code
forums/ubbthreads.php/ubb/cfrm

The thing is BOTH of these addresses are valid, but I only want the SECOND to lead to a page - the first I want to 301 redirect. Now, I've discovered that I can use something like the following to match up query string pairs for an htaccess redirect: