Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
stranger
stranger
Hi,

a new user wanted to register. He tried to register with "Name Surname" like "John Doe". ubbt refused this user name pretending that special characters aren't allowed. But there were no special characters like German umlauts. When I tried it whithout the space like "JohnDoe", it was accepted.

Any idea?

Regards

Elmar

Dr. Elmar Frank
www.drfrank.de
UBB.threads Developer
UBB.threads Developer
A space is a special character; you can enable special characters in the registration settings in the control panel.

I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Do you need Forum Install or Upgrade Services?
Forums: A Gardeners Forum, Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
stranger
stranger
Thanks, that's exactly what I did. In the German translation the option is called: "Erlaube Sonderzeichen im Benutzernamen? ", which means "Allow special characters in Usernames" and the option is enabled.

My provider switched from one to another server last week. Could it have something to do with this fact (the user registration worked before). By the way: Im using version 7.5.2 with the German language pack from Zarzal.

Dr. Elmar Frank
www.drfrank.de
UBB.threads Developer
UBB.threads Developer
It shouldn't have an effect (on this setting at least) that you where moved

I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
stranger
stranger