Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#223044 02/25/2009 10:55 AM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 583
Basil Offline OP
old hand
OP Offline
old hand
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 583
I'm not sure when this started happening, but none of my gallery forums are working. When anyone uses the image manager to attache images in a gallery forum, all that gets displayed is the file name, but not thumbnail and no other images when you click on the filename. I am using ImageMagick (and my PhPhoto Galley program uses that and it works fine).

All of my gallerys used to work but now none of them do. Any ideas?

Basil #223050 02/25/2009 11:16 AM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 9,242
R
Former Developer
Offline
Former Developer
R
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 9,242
I'd run the permission checker in the control panel and make sure those are all coming back ok for starters.

Rick #223066 02/25/2009 3:16 PM
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,292
Likes: 2
Veteran
Offline
Veteran
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,292
Likes: 2
I have this problem but it is intermittent. A dozen people will upload photos and everything is fine but then a person, who had uploaded before, will upload and no images for the post.

Once the images were there but didn't show and I had to edit the database to get them to display. I'm glad it isn't only me having problems with the photo gallery.

JAISP #228197 08/06/2009 5:52 PM
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 81
D
journeyman
Offline
journeyman
D
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 81
I just started having this problem myself. Eveything works as normal but it takes about 1 min to load each picture. Then all I get is the Red X. The permission checker said all was good so I'm at a loss on this one. Where is the Image Magick located so I can check the permissions on that and what should the permissions be?

DougMM #228198 08/06/2009 5:57 PM
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 6,361
Likes: 52
Online Yawn
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 6,361
Likes: 52
The initial setting for the path is in:
Control Panel » DB, Paths & URLs
Also you can opt for gd2 or imagemagic at :
Control Panel » Gallery Settings
There was a also a test url to use but I will need to look for it.


Blue Man Group
There is no such thing as stupid questions. Just stupid answers
Ruben #228199 08/06/2009 6:03 PM
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 6,361
Likes: 52
Online Yawn
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 6,361
Likes: 52
Here is a qutoe by Rick even though it references the captcha it supposedly tests IM:
Originally Posted by Rick
What you can do is go to the following url for your forum while logged in as an admin. If there is an error occuring, sometimes we're able to catch it and output it:

ubbthreads.php?ubb=captcha&t=im&test=1


Blue Man Group
There is no such thing as stupid questions. Just stupid answers
Ruben #228228 08/08/2009 8:06 PM
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 81
D
journeyman
Offline
journeyman
D
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 81
I did that and it came back with

PHP error: /usr/local/bin/convert: Input/output error

DougMM #228229 08/08/2009 9:38 PM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 9,242
R
Former Developer
Offline
Former Developer
R
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 9,242
I've been searching on this and I can't really find where that error comes from imagemagick. It possibly could be some sort of hardware issue. Was it working properly prior to having issues with it?


Rick #228231 08/08/2009 9:56 PM
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 81
D
journeyman
Offline
journeyman
D
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 81
Everything was working great until monday of this week when I added another Web address to my server. Aplus.net I did nothing but register the dot.com and had it linked to my ubb area. I also have a ubb test area on the same server that is having the same problems.

DougMM #228232 08/08/2009 10:58 PM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 16,071
Likes: 72
UBB.threads Developer
Offline
UBB.threads Developer
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 16,071
Likes: 72
I've heard of the "Input/output error" issues being related to corruption and potential hardware failures with the hard disk.

If such an issue where to occur on say a client machine I'd generally wipe the disk with the utilities that come with the drive and do a disk check to ensure the drive is clean and operating normally.


I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Do you need Forum Install or Upgrade Services?
Forums: A Gardeners Forum, Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
Gizmo #228233 08/09/2009 12:25 AM
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 81
D
journeyman
Offline
journeyman
D
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 81
I'm really thinking I have a permissions problem. I have checked and re-check all of them but I have a feeling that one of my permissions on the server has changed.

DougMM #228241 08/09/2009 5:59 PM
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 6,361
Likes: 52
Online Yawn
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 6,361
Likes: 52
If you suspect a file permission issue you can start at:
Control Panel » Permission Checks
then click on any issues that fail to expand the listing


Blue Man Group
There is no such thing as stupid questions. Just stupid answers
DougMM #228246 08/09/2009 6:52 PM
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 81
D
journeyman
Offline
journeyman
D
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 81
Originally Posted by Ruben
If you suspect a file permission issue you can start at:
Control Panel » Permission Checks
then click on any issues that fail to expand the listing

Originally Posted by DougMM
The permission checker said all was good so I'm at a loss on this one. Where is the Image Magick located so I can check the permissions on that and what should the permissions be?

DougMM #228248 08/09/2009 6:58 PM
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 6,361
Likes: 52
Online Yawn
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 6,361
Likes: 52
Well, If you are using Imagemagic the location is set by your host. Usually you have no control over paths or permission settings.
So if you need to verify the paths or settings you need to contact your host.

Or if available switch to GD2 for testing as a option.


Blue Man Group
There is no such thing as stupid questions. Just stupid answers
Ruben #228250 08/09/2009 7:39 PM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 16,071
Likes: 72
UBB.threads Developer
Offline
UBB.threads Developer
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 16,071
Likes: 72
Well, with ImageMagick you CAN just go download the binary files and upload them to your webspace...


I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Do you need Forum Install or Upgrade Services?
Forums: A Gardeners Forum, Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
Gizmo #228251 08/09/2009 9:09 PM
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 81
D
journeyman
Offline
journeyman
D
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 81
How do I switch to GD2.. I have not seen info on this setup. I'm looking at getting this fixed ASAP so this might be the quicked rought.

DougMM #228252 08/09/2009 9:13 PM
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 81
D
journeyman
Offline
journeyman
D
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 81
Originally Posted by DougMM
How do I switch to GD2.. I have not seen info on this setup. I'm looking at getting this fixed ASAP so this might be the quicked rought.

Wait this might not alow all of the old pictures viewable.

Gizmo #228253 08/09/2009 9:37 PM
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 81
D
journeyman
Offline
journeyman
D
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 81
Originally Posted by Gizmo
Well, with ImageMagick you CAN just go download the binary files and upload them to your webspace...

This sounds like the best way to resolve my problem. how would I go about this?

DougMM #228254 08/09/2009 11:38 PM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 16,071
Likes: 72
UBB.threads Developer
Offline
UBB.threads Developer
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 16,071
Likes: 72
go to their site, download the binary files for your system, upload somewhere on your site, chmod them 755, set the path to the files you uploaded in your ubb config...


I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Do you need Forum Install or Upgrade Services?
Forums: A Gardeners Forum, Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
DougMM #228262 08/10/2009 2:28 PM
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 6,361
Likes: 52
Online Yawn
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 6,361
Likes: 52
Originally Posted by DougMM
Originally Posted by DougMM
How do I switch to GD2.. I have not seen info on this setup. I'm looking at getting this fixed ASAP so this might be the quicked rought.

Wait this might not alow all of the old pictures viewable.
Well GD2 should be fine if available. It will be be at:
Control Panel » Gallery Settings
What Graphics Library do you want to use?
Select GD 2

On the subject of Imagemagic
Did you happen to ask your host the path and version?
Maybe they upgraded and moved it to a new location.


Blue Man Group
There is no such thing as stupid questions. Just stupid answers
Ruben #228263 08/10/2009 3:33 PM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 16,071
Likes: 72
UBB.threads Developer
Offline
UBB.threads Developer
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 16,071
Likes: 72
GD2 will only show as an option if it's been compiled with freetype support.



I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Do you need Forum Install or Upgrade Services?
Forums: A Gardeners Forum, Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
Gizmo #228366 08/16/2009 9:03 PM
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 81
D
journeyman
Offline
journeyman
D
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 81
Thank you Gizmo for your help with this. Problem fixed.


Link Copied to Clipboard
ShoutChat
Comment Guidelines: Do post respectful and insightful comments. Don't flame, hate, spam.
Recent Topics
Scroll Up Button
by JAISP - 04/28/2021 7:39 AM
[Cannot Replicate] Unapprove Post Bug
by Larry Miller - 04/26/2021 10:07 AM
Just popping in
by Harold - 04/25/2021 9:05 PM
Moving Forum/Category location
by ECNet - 04/25/2021 12:11 PM
7.7.5 become member issue
by Ruben - 04/15/2021 10:06 AM
Who's Online Now
1 members (Ruben), 74 guests, and 54 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Random Gallery Image
Latest Gallery Images
gallery test
gallery test
by Mors, September 23
Los Angeles
Los Angeles
by isaac, August 6
3D Creations
3D Creations
by JAISP, December 30
Artistic structures
Artistic structures
by isaac, August 29
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5