Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Captcha not showing?
#232059 12/12/2009 11:23 AM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 583
Basil Offline OP
old hand
OP Offline
old hand
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 583
What is the most likely cause on someones browser if they try to register and are unable to see the Captcha image? (They are using the latest FireFox)

Re: Captcha not showing?
Basil #232060 12/12/2009 11:33 AM
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 6,144
Likes: 21
Online Yawn
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 6,144
Likes: 21
Well I never figured it out myself. I had a momentary problem myself on Gizmos site several months ago for a few days,but then it just started to work again.

But you do know that Firefox hides the red x error that you would get with IE.
Some where in the current firefox version is a way to unhide it I recall. It may just be the error console.

I forgot your url to try. Since I use firefox.
Can't seem to find a post with your site.


Blue Man Group
There is no such thing as stupid questions. Just stupid answers
Re: Captcha not showing?
Ruben #232062 12/12/2009 11:36 AM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 583
Basil Offline OP
old hand
OP Offline
old hand
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 583
Originally Posted by Ruben
Well I never figured it out myself. I had a momentary problem myself on Gizmos site several months ago for a few days,but then it just started to work again.

But you do know that Firefox hides the red x error that you would get with IE.
Some where in the current firefox version is a way to unhide it I recall. It may just be the error console.

I forgot your url to try. Since I use firefox.
Can't seem to find a post with your site.

www.Britishcarforum.com


Re: Captcha not showing?
Basil #232063 12/12/2009 12:13 PM
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 6,144
Likes: 21
Online Yawn
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 6,144
Likes: 21
Okay just tried your site using firefox 3.5.5. The image appears and does refresh fine.


Blue Man Group
There is no such thing as stupid questions. Just stupid answers
Re: Captcha not showing?
Ruben #232065 12/12/2009 12:25 PM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 583
Basil Offline OP
old hand
OP Offline
old hand
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 583
Originally Posted by Ruben
Okay just tried your site using firefox 3.5.5. The image appears and does refresh fine.

My guess is they don't have Javascript turned on?

Re: Captcha not showing?
Basil #232066 12/12/2009 12:33 PM
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 6,144
Likes: 21
Online Yawn
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 6,144
Likes: 21
Well you guessed pretty good.
I just disabled it and the image will not appear at all just blank.

From the file menu.
Tools>Options
Select the content tab
Check the enable javascript option.
But if this is turned off I would assume a lot more items are not working.

BTW I believe this item is on by default when installing firefox.


Blue Man Group
There is no such thing as stupid questions. Just stupid answers
Re: Captcha not showing?
Ruben #232076 12/12/2009 2:11 PM
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,940
SD Offline
Former Developer
Offline
Former Developer
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,940
adblock+ ?


Link Copied to Clipboard
ShoutChat Box
Comment Guidelines: Do post respectful and insightful comments. Don't flame, hate, spam.
Recent Topics
[NOTABUG] Report Post bug..
by Morgan - 07/05/2020 1:48 PM
Trial Subscription question.
by Ruben - 07/03/2020 2:34 PM
Unread posts no longer tracked per user...
by KirkW - 06/16/2020 12:21 AM
Max Image file size upload
by jjjjj - 06/10/2020 10:25 PM
Error on Inert into POSTS
by jjjjj - 06/07/2020 8:09 PM
Who's Online Now
3 members (Gizmo, Ruben, 1 invisible), 87 guests, and 56 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Random Gallery Image
Latest Gallery Images
3D Creations
3D Creations
by JAISP, December 30
Artistic structures
Artistic structures
by isaac, August 29
Stones
Stones
by isaac, August 19
Amusing Terain Scenics
Amusing Terain Scenics
by isaac, August 19
Sky places
Sky places
by isaac, August 19
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.4