Print Thread
Hop To
#229092 09/08/2009 1:07 PM
T
stranger
stranger
T Offline
Hey,
Why is UBB banned from MANY web hosts? Soem of which are at the top [Biggest and most successful/reliable].

Is it sort of unsecure or soenthing?

[Ex of host your banned form: hosting24.com]

UBB.threads Developer
UBB.threads Developer
Well, likely they've banned UBB.Classic due to high resource usage; it wasn't optimized for large forums and was perl/flat file based.

I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Do you need Forum Install or Upgrade Services?
Forums: A Gardeners Forum, Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
R
Former Developer
Former Developer
R Offline
Gizmo pretty much nailed it. I've had a couple customers be in this situation where their host said UBB was banned. Once they contacted them and explained that UBB.threads is MySQL based and totally different from UBB.classic there was no problem installing on the host.

R
stranger
stranger
R Offline
So is the current release stable enough for a large number of users and alot of content?

R
Former Developer
Former Developer
R Offline
Yes, this thread covers the question a bit.

SD Offline
Former Developer
Former Developer
i've consulted on a forum with over 350,000 users in it.. the only bottleneck there was that the welcome PM on signup got repeated 350,000 times!!

i modded that forum, so it used a shared welcome PM and things were ok wink

SD #233081 01/02/2010 2:22 AM
C
stranger
stranger
C Offline
Mail traffic is another concern in shared hosting. But its always better to go with VPS. now a days vps are getting cheaper.

stranger
stranger