Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#234506 02/08/2010 1:50 PM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 9,242
Rick Offline OP
Former Developer
OP Offline
Former Developer
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 9,242
You can use this topic to discuss the version 7.5.5 announcement.

Last edited by Rick; 02/08/2010 1:51 PM.
Rick #234512 02/08/2010 2:07 PM
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,940
SD Offline
Former Developer
Offline
Former Developer
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,940
so is it more than just a change to the php ini settings?

ie: rewrite to not use deprecated functions like split() with preg_split() or str_split() ?

is there a changelog.txt ? laugh

SD #234517 02/08/2010 2:14 PM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 9,242
Rick Offline OP
Former Developer
OP Offline
Former Developer
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 9,242
All references to deprecated functions in PHP 5.3+ have been adjusted. So it will run properly without any php.ini changes.

Rick #234521 02/08/2010 2:44 PM
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,940
SD Offline
Former Developer
Offline
Former Developer
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,940
thank you thank you!! laugh

SD #234565 02/09/2010 7:31 AM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 116
member
Offline
member
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 116
Good lookin' out, Rick!

Myke #234651 02/11/2010 6:14 AM
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 260
enthusiast
Offline
enthusiast
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 260
Question: Do you guys temporarily shutdown the Forum to backup the forum, database and to make the upgrade?

Or do you just shutdown the forum to backup the database and perform the upgrade?

Or just for the upgrade?

Or can you just do it all without shutting down the forum?


Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 15,976
Likes: 41
UBB.threads Developer
Online Tapedshut
UBB.threads Developer
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 15,976
Likes: 41
I generally close the forum then upgrade; I usually don't close the forum for a backup though


I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Do you need Forum Install or Upgrade Services?
Forums: A Gardeners Forum, Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
Gizmo #234653 02/11/2010 7:00 AM
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 260
enthusiast
Offline
enthusiast
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 260
Originally Posted by Gizmo
I generally close the forum then upgrade; I usually don't close the forum for a backup though

ok thanks bro

So I can backup the database without shutting down the forum?


Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,940
SD Offline
Former Developer
Offline
Former Developer
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,940
yes..

since a backup usually takes (even for a huge board) only 10mins or so.. i personally actually close the forum(s)..

but that's a personal choice...

there is no hard/fast rule that forums MUST be closed for a backup wink

SD #234672 02/11/2010 1:49 PM
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 260
enthusiast
Offline
enthusiast
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 260
Originally Posted by Sirdude
yes..

since a backup usually takes (even for a huge board) only 10mins or so.. i personally actually close the forum(s)..

but that's a personal choice...

there is no hard/fast rule that forums MUST be closed for a backup wink


If this whole thing takes me less than an hour, I will be surprised

So when I try the upgrade, I just follow the upgrade instructions

Except I add this part from the portal page here:

Quote
When upgrading, you'll want to update your libs/smarty and libs/phpmailer files from the download as these have been altered due to the compatibility issues mentioned above.


Correct ?

Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,940
SD Offline
Former Developer
Offline
Former Developer
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,940
yes.. just do what it says.. the instructions are correct wink

SD #234676 02/11/2010 2:02 PM
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 260
enthusiast
Offline
enthusiast
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 260
Originally Posted by Sirdude
yes.. just do what it says.. the instructions are correct wink

You guys should look into possible creating a ubb.threads wiki

A lot of answer then could be found there.

I just changed my FireFTP to Automatic Mode

It was set to ASCII before

I'm going to re-do it, in Automatic Mode this time

I hope that's ok 100%

Automatic Mode will automatically detect the file type and then automatically determine if it should be sent in binary or ascii


?


Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 391
addict
Offline
addict
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 391
I've always had my FTP program set to auto and have never had a problem.


Greg AKA Virgil Earp at the OK Corral
Tombstone, AZ
GregK #234683 02/11/2010 2:12 PM
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 260
enthusiast
Offline
enthusiast
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 260
Originally Posted by GregK
I've always had my FTP program set to auto and have never had a problem.

Ok thanks bro

I'm new to this. This will be my first backup and upgrade.

I have no experience in dealing with a website and server.

I'm usually a slow starter but once I get the hang of it, then I get good at it.


thanks


Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 286
enthusiast
Offline
enthusiast
Joined: Jun 2007
Posts: 286
If the server is using PHP Version 5.2.11
is there any reason to update to V 7.5.5 ?

Thanks


JR
Team ZR-1 Corvette Racer's
teamzr1 #234780 02/12/2010 4:40 AM
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,940
SD Offline
Former Developer
Offline
Former Developer
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,940
i recommend it.. the proper use of the sql class is and important one..

SD #234822 02/13/2010 11:16 AM
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 514
addict
Offline
addict
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 514
Ok I am confused... what does this mean

"you'll want to update your libs/smarty and libs/phpmailer files from the download as these have been altered due to the compatibility issues mentioned above."


I did the upgrade it went without a hitch. But I honestly have no idea if I have to change this as per your instructions or if it will still work without messing with anything else.


Dunny #234823 02/13/2010 11:20 AM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 9,242
Rick Offline OP
Former Developer
OP Offline
Former Developer
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 9,242
If you're running stock code, then you can just upload everything in the libs directory. The smarty and phpmailer directories aren't required if you are running something less than PHP 5.3, but it's a good thing to upload them anyways, just in case you do upgrade your PHP installation at some point.

Rick #234824 02/13/2010 11:22 AM
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 514
addict
Offline
addict
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 514
I just did the whole thing like a normal upgrade. So I probably put them in already and didn't realize it. I only took out the three folders (styles,cache-builder (custom), and includes) as per the upgrade instructions. I figured go with the upgrade process I was familiar with tongue

Thanks Rick!


Link Copied to Clipboard
ShoutChat Box
Comment Guidelines: Do post respectful and insightful comments. Don't flame, hate, spam.
Recent Topics
Quick Help on issue changing forum styles
by Mors - 09/29/2020 7:59 PM
Individual Post Count Adjustments?
by FREAK - 09/25/2020 11:17 PM
Like unlike bug?
by Morgan - 09/24/2020 5:03 PM
looking to renew :)
by Mors - 09/23/2020 7:52 PM
test
by Mors - 09/23/2020 7:51 PM
Who's Online Now
4 members (Gizmo, Mors, Ruben, 1 invisible), 77 guests, and 60 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Random Gallery Image
Latest Gallery Images
gallery test
gallery test
by Mors, September 23
Los Angeles
Los Angeles
by isaac, August 6
3D Creations
3D Creations
by JAISP, December 30
Artistic structures
Artistic structures
by isaac, August 29
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5
(Snapshot build 20200925)