Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
W
stranger
stranger
W Offline
Hi,

I'm about the purchase a liscense for UBB to start my first forum after trying out the demo. To me it seems way more reasonably priced and I like this little support community.

With that said, and remember I'm very new to this:

1) I'm hoping to grow into a very large community over time. Tens of thousands of members, hundreds of thousands of posts and pms, etc. What am I looking at hosting wise as far as size needed, any particular hosting sites, and special types of hosting?

2) I bought my domain on Godaddy.com then created a homepage on MSN. Do I need to purchase the larger hosting site before purchasing the UBB liscense or can I purchase the UBB liscense under MSN then transfer everything to the hosting site?

3) Anything else I should consider as far as hosting, any particular hosting sites work for you? Anything I need to think about in advance that I might not of yet?

Like I said so far I've purchased a domain and designed a homepage. That's it.

Again I apologize if these questions are ridiculous, I'm a noob.

Thanks
Mark

R
Former Developer
Former Developer
R Offline
There are 2 routes you could go on this. When your site is really big, then you'd definitely be looking at some type of VPS/Dedicated hosting. So the 2 options would be to go with a beefy right out of the gate, or go with something a bit more moderate and move up to a larger plan as your site grows.

The second option is what most people do. They'll start with a smaller hosting plan and then move to something bigger when it's needed.

You'd need to have your hosting purchased in order to install UBB, as it will need to be installed on the server, so you'll want to get that taken care of.

Not really much required beyond that. Who you choose for hosting is probably the toughest part. There are so many different providers available and everyone has different experiences with them.