Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#241090 01/12/2011 6:58 PM
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
I'm a member on ski and boating site that is using vB and were getting hammered with spam. It seems the reCAPTCHA has been completely defeated.

My question is, for v8 are you looking at the future when with concern about spam prevention?

Are there new technologies for fighting spam that you are considering for v8?

-Tim
Cuervo #241091 01/12/2011 8:00 PM
UBB.threads Developer
UBB.threads Developer
Well, there is one thing people usually overlook when "spam" is concerned... And that's that companies hire people to spam in most cases; so a human is capable of defeating a signup and posting whatever they have to.

In this method, it doesn't matter what your security precaution is, a human can still break through a captcha, as that's what it's meant for.

I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Do you need Forum Install or Upgrade Services?
Forums: A Gardeners Forum, Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
Gizmo #241118 01/13/2011 10:00 PM
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Originally Posted by Gizmo
Well, there is one thing people usually overlook when "spam" is concerned... And that's that companies hire people to spam in most cases; so a human is capable of defeating a signup and posting whatever they have to.

In this method, it doesn't matter what your security precaution is, a human can still break through a captcha, as that's what it's meant for.

Yeah, but when dealing with low of a volume it's not too much of an issue. When the bot net gets running it's like 300 users a day.

What seems to have help is using a human verification sytem of question and answers.

IE: