Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#242039 03/03/2011 2:26 PM
C
C Offline
I have a subscriber area and I have recently come to notice that a couple of the users are sharing a username for the subscriber area. Is there a way to block certain IP Addresses from just the subscriber area? If not it would be a feature that would help me. Hopefully this makes sense. Trying to figure out a better way to tighten up people finding a free way to view my subscriber area.

Capt. Clay C
UBB.threads Developer
UBB.threads Developer
Really your Terms of Service should cover "sharing" logins, let alone sharing them to access members only/premium content... I'd start by emailing the account owner and specify that this is his only warning about sharing account information and that if they continue being in violation of your Terms of Service that their account (or premium) access will be terminated.

I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Do you need Forum Install or Upgrade Services?
Forums: A Gardeners Forum, Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
addict
addict
*nods* with Gizmo's idea. I would say set up a TOS and make it clear that "sharing" your info compromises the security of the forum and will be dealt with by terminating the primary account regardless of status. This will not end the practice, however, it will at least curb it a bit for you. You will have to be active in policing this, at least until people get the idea you are serious.

Dunny

R
R Offline
Originally Posted by Capt. Clay C