Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#244162 07/08/2011 6:44 AM
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 184
member
member
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 184
Hey Guys, I would like to inser the menu here:

http://cinemageek.co.uk/

Into here:

http://cinemageek.co.uk/ubbthreads/

But don't know how to do it

I've tried copying the sidebar.php into the table but no luck

Code
<div id="sidebar">

		<ul>

			<?php 	/* Widgetized sidebar, if you have the plugin installed. */

					if ( !function_exists('dynamic_sidebar') || !dynamic_sidebar() ) : ?>

			<li>

				<?php include (TEMPLATEPATH . '/searchform.php'); ?>

			</li>



			<!-- Author information is disabled per default. Uncomment and fill in your details if you want to use it.

			<li><h2>Author</h2>

			<p>A little something about you, the author. Nothing lengthy, just an overview.</p>

			</li>

			-->



			<?php if ( is_404() || is_category() || is_day() || is_month() ||

						is_year() || is_search() || is_paged() ) {

			?> <li>



			<?php /* If this is a 404 page */ if (is_404()) { ?>

			<?php /* If this is a category archive */ } elseif (is_category()) { ?>

			<p>You are currently browsing the archives for the <?php single_cat_title(''); ?> category.</p>



			<?php /* If this is a yearly archive */ } elseif (is_day()) { ?>

			<p>You are currently browsing the <a href="<?php bloginfo('url'); ?>/"><?php echo bloginfo('name'); ?></a> blog archives

			for the day <?php the_time('l, F jS, Y'); ?>.</p>



			<?php /* If this is a monthly archive */ } elseif (is_month()) { ?>

			<p>You are currently browsing the <a href="<?php bloginfo('url'); ?>/"><?php echo bloginfo('name'); ?></a> blog archives

			for <?php the_time('F, Y'); ?>.</p>



			<?php /* If this is a yearly archive */ } elseif (is_year()) { ?>

			<p>You are currently browsing the <a href="<?php bloginfo('url'); ?>/"><?php echo bloginfo('name'); ?></a> blog archives

			for the year <?php the_time('Y'); ?>.</p>



			<?php /* If this is a monthly archive */ } elseif (is_search()) { ?>

			<p>You have searched the <a href="<?php echo bloginfo('url'); ?>/"><?php echo bloginfo('name'); ?></a> blog archives

			for <strong>'<?php the_search_query(); ?>'</strong>. If you are unable to find anything in these search results, you can try one of these links.</p>



			<?php /* If this is a monthly archive */ } elseif (isset($_GET['paged']) && !empty($_GET['paged'])) { ?>

			<p>You are currently browsing the <a href="<?php echo bloginfo('url'); ?>/"><?php echo bloginfo('name'); ?></a> blog archives.</p>



			<?php } ?>



			</li> <?php }?>



			

			

			<li><h2>Archives</h2>

				<ul>

				<?php wp_get_archives('type=monthly'); ?>

				</ul>

			</li>



			<?php wp_list_categories('show_count=1&title_li=<h2>Categories</h2>'); ?>



			<?php /* If this is the frontpage */ if ( is_home() || is_page() ) { ?>

				<?php wp_list_bookmarks(); ?>



				<li><h2>Meta</h2>

				<ul>

					<?php wp_register(); ?>

					<li><?php wp_loginout(); ?></li>

					

					<?php wp_meta(); ?>

				</ul>

				</li>

			<?php } ?>



			<?php endif; ?>

		</ul>

		<!--Uncomment this to show a notice to your IE visitors to upgrade to Firefox

		

		<div id="ie_notice">

			Hohoho!<br/>

			It appears that you are using Internet Explorer 6 or 7...<br/>

			both of which show crappy css support and also have some security issues <br/>

			Thankfully there are a number of good alternatives to Internet Explorer which you can use for your daily surfing tasks, emailing or for any other purpose<br/>

			FireFox for example , is a great web browser which is faster and more secure than Internet Explorer 6 or 7...<br/>

			you can download FireFox for free at :<br/><a href="http://www.mozilla.com" title="Download Fire Fox">www.Mozilla.org</a>

		</div>.-->

	</div>

Any ideas?

Stephen G #244166 07/08/2011 3:36 PM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 16,292
Likes: 116
UBB.threads Developer
UBB.threads Developer
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 16,292
Likes: 116
Easiest method would be to use a table (dirty, but easy). How I do it is make a table, one side has a sidebar cell, and the other cell is the UBB; then I take and add all of my content for the table in the header and footer includes, with the area where the UBB should be being the split (table start to the td open (for the ubb) in the header, then td end (for the ubb) to the table end in the footer.

You can see this in action here.


I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Do you need Forum Install or Upgrade Services?
Forums: A Gardeners Forum, Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
Stephen G #244169 07/08/2011 5:21 PM
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 184
member
member
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 184
I have the table set up (that part is where I've typed M E N U) but don't know what to put in the Sidebar cell to have the menu appear the same as it does in the wordpress page

Stephen G #244171 07/08/2011 5:27 PM
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 6,560
Likes: 78
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 6,560
Likes: 78
I have only dabbled in wordpress but I don't think you can just stick some tables in the html includes and make it work.
Might get some conflicts due to WP uses div tags not tables. Also since it it a dynamic wp side bar it is looking for some other includes needed to make it work the same.

Sirdude has done some work on his site with this.
But your site is a little cleaner than his.

Have you tried doing this in reverse.
For example.
Add a page in WP and add ubb to the page with say iframe


Blue Man Group
There is no such thing as stupid questions. Just stupid answers
Stephen G #244172 07/08/2011 5:28 PM
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 184
member
member
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 184
I think it may have somthing to do with the style.css as it needs the .css file but there's nothing in the sidebr.php to call it

Stephen G #244173 07/08/2011 5:30 PM
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 184
member
member
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 184
No ruben, I haven't tried that...

...hmmm

smile

Stephen G #244176 07/08/2011 5:48 PM
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 6,560
Likes: 78
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 6,560
Likes: 78
It is not just the css file there are a few WP files called when the WP page loads to make the sidebar.
Just sticking the code from sidebar.php will not work.
Because the file has paths that look for values stored in other WP files.

If you don't care about the dynamic part. You could just do as Gizmo suggested and manually fatfinger them in.
But of course it would be a static menu.


Blue Man Group
There is no such thing as stupid questions. Just stupid answers

Link Copied to Clipboard
ShoutChat
Comment Guidelines: Do post respectful and insightful comments. Don't flame, hate, spam.
Recent Topics
spam issues
by ECNet - 03/19/2024 11:45 PM
Looking for a forum
by azr - 03/15/2024 11:26 PM
Editing Links in Post
by Outdoorking - 03/15/2024 9:31 AM
Question on barkrowler and the like
by Mors - 02/29/2024 6:51 PM
Member Permissions Help
by domspeak - 02/27/2024 6:31 PM
Who's Online Now
0 members (), 396 guests, and 110 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Random Gallery Image
Latest Gallery Images
Los Angeles
Los Angeles
by isaac, August 6
3D Creations
3D Creations
by JAISP, December 30
Artistic structures
Artistic structures
by isaac, August 29
Stones
Stones
by isaac, August 19
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 8.0.0
(Preview build 20230217)