Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
T
T Offline
Hello all,

Our forum's owner is retiring. So I threw out an offer to take the forum off his hands.

Does anyone have advice on how i might propose co ownership among regular members? i was thinking on starting a partnership among 3 or 4 regular members.

(i'm an accountant, btw)

thanks

I'm not yet sure if this is the route we'll take, btw.

And thanks again for all the help that i've received in the past. Sirdude, Rick and Gizmo -- special thanks.

And I have already done a search.

M
M Offline
If I understand correctly, you are talking about possibly entering into a limited partnership with others who you may not really know all that well.

For myself personally, there is no way I'd do such a thing.

Has the owner stated that the site is for sale?

I'd deal with him directly and see what he would settle for. Be sure you get ownership of the domain name and any copyrighted logos as well as the contents of the forum.

Lots of variables that will affect the value of the site.

T
T Offline
Hi Mike,

Thanks for responding.

I should have mentioned that i would offer ownership to partners for one dollar each. I'd choose partners that were longtime, respectible members.

The site is for sale. His publishing business is no longer profitable. If the owner doesn't have someone buy his entire website, with the online business, then he may resort to letting us take it off his hands so the forum section may continue. He publicly stated that he'd like his business to continue.

Any more advice is appreciated.

thnks

S

T
T Offline
Bump

Again, how would you set up "co ownership" of a forum in the sates. Partnership or a Corp? I'd think partnership.

In a nutshell, we (our forum) might be very soon come to a point where either we take action or our forum dies.

We're talking about a forum with sentimental value and no real monetary value.