Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Joined: May 2008
Posts: 15
C
Stranger
Stranger
C Offline
Joined: May 2008
Posts: 15
Hello All,

So I tried to not look like a newbie but I still cannot find the answer frown

So here is my newbie question how can I setup my column to show my non profit's twitter feed? I am hoping that the feed can show the last xxxx number of posts an it and will refresh automatically just as the Recent Topics Box does. Also I would love to add the Recent Topics Box to my ubb can someone give me the code for that as well..... I know I know gotta love us newbies always wanting more an more smile

Thank you Thank you Thank you,

Nathan

Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 6,562
Likes: 78
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 6,562
Likes: 78
For a recent topics island that would be a post island
For Twitter which I don't use I assume you would grab a script from twitter and place it in what is called a custom island.
Try ubbwiki.com and search for post island,custom island and possibly portal.


Blue Man Group
There is no such thing as stupid questions. Just stupid answers
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,474
Likes: 3
D
Pooh-Bah
Pooh-Bah
D Offline
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,474
Likes: 3
https://twitter.com/about/resources/widgets/widget_profile

Enter your twitter user name and add it to the content island.


Code

/* PHP CODE HERE */

/* BODY HERE */
$body = <<<EOF

<script charset="utf-8" src="http://widgets.twimg.com/j/2/widget.js"></script>
<script>
new TWTR.Widget({
version: 2,
type: 'profile',
rpp: 4,
interval: 30000,
width: 250,
height: 300,
theme: {
shell: {
background: '#333333',
color: '#ffffff'
},
tweets: {
background: '#000000',
color: '#ffffff',
links: '#4aed05'
}
},
features: {
scrollbar: false,
loop: false,
live: false,
behavior: 'all'
}
}).render().setUser('YOUR_TWITTER_ACCOUNT').start();
</script>

EOF;



Joined: May 2008
Posts: 15
C
Stranger
Stranger
C Offline
Joined: May 2008
Posts: 15
Driv,

I entered the following into my custom island but when I load my forum listing it shows the island name but nothing else. I set the cache time to "5". Did I do something wrong on the code?

Thanks, Nathan





/* PHP CODE HERE */

/* BODY HERE */
$body = <<<EOF

<script charset="utf-8" src="http://widgets.twimg.com/j/2/widget.js"></script>
<script>
new TWTR.Widget({
version: 2,
type: 'profile',
rpp: 4,
interval: 30000,
width: 250,
height: 300,
theme: {
shell: {
background: '#333333',
color: '#ffffff'
},
tweets: {
background: '#000000',
color: '#ffffff',
links: '#4aed05'
}
},
features: {
scrollbar: false,
loop: false,
live: false,
behavior: 'all'
}
}).render().setUser('MaleSurvivorORG').start();
</script>

EOF;

Joined: May 2008
Posts: 15
C
Stranger
Stranger
C Offline
Joined: May 2008
Posts: 15
Here is the twitter page for the non profit
https://twitter.com/#!/malesurvivororg

Ubb homepage
http://www.malesurvivor.org/board/ubbthreads.php


Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 6,562
Likes: 78
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 6,562
Likes: 78
It works for me.
I am not sure what text editor you used to enter it but you have some extra line feeds that need to be deleted.


Blue Man Group
There is no such thing as stupid questions. Just stupid answers
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 6,562
Likes: 78
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 6,562
Likes: 78
Take out the line feeds so it looks like:
HTML
/* PHP CODE HERE */

/* BODY HERE */
$body = <<<EOF
<script charset="utf-8" src="http://widgets.twimg.com/j/2/widget.js"></script>
<script>
new TWTR.Widget({
version: 2,
type: 'profile',
rpp: 4,
interval: 30000,
width: 250,
height: 300,
theme: {
shell: {
background: '#333333',
color: '#ffffff'
},
tweets: {
background: '#000000',
color: '#ffffff',
links: '#4aed05'
}
},
features: {
scrollbar: false,
loop: false,
live: false,
behavior: 'all'
}
}).render().setUser('MaleSurvivorORG').start();
</script>
EOF;


Blue Man Group
There is no such thing as stupid questions. Just stupid answers
Joined: May 2008
Posts: 15
C
Stranger
Stranger
C Offline
Joined: May 2008
Posts: 15
Hmmmmm


Here is the code that I put into the custom island an still nothing shows on the forum list page

Quote
/* PHP CODE HERE */

/* BODY HERE */
$body = <<<EOF
<script charset="utf-8" src="http://widgets.twimg.com/j/2/widget.js"></script>
<script>
new TWTR.Widget({
version: 2,
type: 'profile',
rpp: 4,
interval: 30000,
width: 250,
height: 300,
theme: {
shell: {
background: '#333333',
color: '#ffffff'
},
tweets: {
background: '#000000',
color: '#ffffff',
links: '#4aed05'
}
},
features: {
scrollbar: false,
loop: false,
live: false,
behavior: 'all'
}
}).render().setUser('MaleSurvivorORG').start();
</script>
EOF;

Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 6,562
Likes: 78
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 6,562
Likes: 78
It is working now for me at your site.
Possibly it us your browser cache.


Blue Man Group
There is no such thing as stupid questions. Just stupid answers
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,474
Likes: 3
D
Pooh-Bah
Pooh-Bah
D Offline
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,474
Likes: 3
Hi,
Yes I can confirm it's working me me also. Try CTRL-F5 smile

Joined: May 2008
Posts: 15
C
Stranger
Stranger
C Offline
Joined: May 2008
Posts: 15
Haha I got it set now, thank you so much for your help smile

Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,474
Likes: 3
D
Pooh-Bah
Pooh-Bah
D Offline
Joined: Jan 2004
Posts: 2,474
Likes: 3
Cool smile


Link Copied to Clipboard
ShoutChat
Comment Guidelines: Do post respectful and insightful comments. Don't flame, hate, spam.
Recent Topics
Bots
by Outdoorking - 04/13/2024 5:08 PM
Can you add html to language files?
by Baldeagle - 04/07/2024 2:41 PM
Do I need to rebuild my database?
by Baldeagle - 04/07/2024 2:58 AM
This is not a bug, but a suggestion
by Baldeagle - 04/05/2024 11:25 PM
spam issues
by ECNet - 03/19/2024 11:45 PM
Who's Online Now
1 members (1 invisible), 879 guests, and 150 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Random Gallery Image
Latest Gallery Images
Los Angeles
Los Angeles
by isaac, August 6
3D Creations
3D Creations
by JAISP, December 30
Artistic structures
Artistic structures
by isaac, August 29
Stones
Stones
by isaac, August 19
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 8.0.0
(Preview build 20230217)