Site Links
Home
Features
Documentation
Pricing & Order
Members Area
Support Options
UBBDev.com
UBBWiki.com
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 62 guests, and 416 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Member Spotlight
Mark S
Mark S
Liverpool : England : UK
Posts: 4,704
Joined: July 2006
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Gizmo 18
M4TT 12
FREAK 11
Ruben 8
isaac 4
mmkk 4
Latest Photos
Chinese Buddhist temple.
My buddha beads.
Rendered Walls
Multi-Screen wallpaper
Stockholm Metro
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Does v756p2 use InnoDB in MySQL? #250197
09/11/12 11:38 AM
09/11/12 11:38 AM
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 139
Binbrook, Ontario, Canada
A
Andrew Bienhaus Offline OP
member
Andrew Bienhaus  Offline OP
member
A
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 139
Binbrook, Ontario, Canada
Hi,
seeking tuning advice for a migrated installation of threads and mySQL.

I can find articles on tuning mySQL on the web, but they of course talk about "it depends on whether you're using a log of InnoDB or MyISAM"....

So, what is threads usage pattern in this regard? (it is enabled, I know that)

Thanks...


...usin' da classic UBB, since the beginning of time.
wink
Express Hosting
Express Hosting "We are the official hosting company of UBB.threads. Ask us about our free migration services to migrate your UBB.threads installation."
Re: Does v756p2 use InnoDB in MySQL? [Re: Andrew Bienhaus] #250202
09/11/12 01:29 PM
09/11/12 01:29 PM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 16,788
Portland, OR; USA
Gizmo Offline
UBB.threads Developer
Gizmo  Offline
UBB.threads Developer
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 16,788
Portland, OR; USA
MyISAM


I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Forums: A Gardeners Forum Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
Re: Does v756p2 use InnoDB in MySQL? [Re: Andrew Bienhaus] #250227
09/11/12 03:33 PM
09/11/12 03:33 PM
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 139
Binbrook, Ontario, Canada
A
Andrew Bienhaus Offline OP
member
Andrew Bienhaus  Offline OP
member
A
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 139
Binbrook, Ontario, Canada
thx


...usin' da classic UBB, since the beginning of time.
wink
Re: Does v756p2 use InnoDB in MySQL? [Re: Andrew Bienhaus] #251111
12/05/12 02:48 AM
12/05/12 02:48 AM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 754
BellaOnline Offline

old hand
BellaOnline  Offline

old hand
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 754
I was just about to look into upgrading my tables from MyISAM to InnoDB to see if I could get things to run more quickly. I'm reading that forums should normally run more quickly in InnoDB.

Are you saying they're MyISAM by default, or that they *have* to stay MyISAM?


Lisa Shea, owner, BellaOnline.com
BellaOnline Website
BellaOnline Forums - UBB since Apr 2002 - 57,000 members / 800,000 posts
Re: Does v756p2 use InnoDB in MySQL? [Re: BellaOnline] #251115
12/05/12 10:13 AM
12/05/12 10:13 AM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 16,788
Portland, OR; USA
Gizmo Offline
UBB.threads Developer
Gizmo  Offline
UBB.threads Developer
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 16,788
Portland, OR; USA
Originally Posted by BellaOnline
Are you saying they're MyISAM by default, or that they *have* to stay MyISAM?
Default; I haven't tried converting them to InnoDB


I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Forums: A Gardeners Forum Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
Re: Does v756p2 use InnoDB in MySQL? [Re: Andrew Bienhaus] #251117
12/05/12 10:58 AM
12/05/12 10:58 AM
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 5,827
Lutz,FL
Ruben Offline

Ruben  Offline


Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 5,827
Lutz,FL
The issue currently I believe is the UBB installer and upgrade scripts.
It was one of the items that were to change to InnoDB with either version 8 or 7.6 I can't remember now.

So if we ever get a upgrade without the db change it may be something to place in your todo list
It is easy to spot in the scripts.




Blue Man Group


There is no such thing as stupid questions. Just stupid answers
Re: Does v756p2 use InnoDB in MySQL? [Re: Andrew Bienhaus] #251118
12/05/12 01:40 PM
12/05/12 01:40 PM
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 220
Seattle, WA
C
cascadeclimbers Offline

enthusiast
cascadeclimbers  Offline

enthusiast
C
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 220
Seattle, WA
Please keep in mind you cannot do full text search on the posts and topics table with InnoDB.

What kind of hosting are you on and what does your stack look like?

There are several things you could do that would speed up your site.
- If you are serving a lot of static files use Nginx instead of Apache
- The best way to speed up MySQL is to get on faster hardware by upping your plan or switching hosts.
- Make sure you have expires set correctly in your htaccess file so that you are serving static files as little as possible.

Last edited by cascadeclimbers; 12/05/12 01:45 PM.

Won't you take me to Funkytown?
Re: Does v756p2 use InnoDB in MySQL? [Re: Andrew Bienhaus] #251119
12/05/12 08:13 PM
12/05/12 08:13 PM
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 220
Seattle, WA
C
cascadeclimbers Offline

enthusiast
cascadeclimbers  Offline

enthusiast
C
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 220
Seattle, WA
I just want to follow up in that mysql 5.6 has full text search with innodb tables, but it is not officially released. Based on what I know it is ready to go.


Won't you take me to Funkytown?
Re: Does v756p2 use InnoDB in MySQL? [Re: Andrew Bienhaus] #251283
12/13/12 09:21 PM
12/13/12 09:21 PM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 754
BellaOnline Offline

old hand
BellaOnline  Offline

old hand
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 754
OK an update I have converted two of my forums to INNODB (except the one posts table) and they are running more quickly than before. So this seems to be a good thing to do.

I am on Windows / IIS. I have a dedicated server. I currently cannot afford to upgrade to a better / faster machine.


Lisa Shea, owner, BellaOnline.com
BellaOnline Website
BellaOnline Forums - UBB since Apr 2002 - 57,000 members / 800,000 posts
Re: Does v756p2 use InnoDB in MySQL? [Re: Andrew Bienhaus] #251284
12/13/12 09:44 PM
12/13/12 09:44 PM
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 220
Seattle, WA
C
cascadeclimbers Offline

enthusiast
cascadeclimbers  Offline

enthusiast
C
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 220
Seattle, WA
Is your server colo or are you paying monthly? How much are you paying a month and what are the specs? There are so many awesome options out there.

To give you an example, I have a small $20 linode that runs a process at least 10x faster then on my dedicated with an 1/8 of the ram.

Last edited by cascadeclimbers; 12/13/12 09:47 PM.

Won't you take me to Funkytown?
Re: Does v756p2 use InnoDB in MySQL? [Re: Andrew Bienhaus] #251289
12/13/12 10:26 PM
12/13/12 10:26 PM
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 4,313
SoCal, USA
SD Offline
Carpal Tunnel
SD  Offline
Carpal Tunnel
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 4,313
SoCal, USA
InnoDB won't help at all for UBB..

just 2c

Re: Does v756p2 use InnoDB in MySQL? [Re: Andrew Bienhaus] #251373
12/14/12 07:42 PM
12/14/12 07:42 PM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 754
BellaOnline Offline

old hand
BellaOnline  Offline

old hand
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 754
CascadeClimbers -

This server in question is a dedicated server which hosts 12 of my websites. It is an IIS system - I code in ASP. It has three hard drives so I can have my databases on one, my websites on the second, and my log files on the third to keep disk access quick. It has MS-SQL on it because several of my sites are content-based out of those databases. I also have MySQL and PHP on it as you can imagine.

I'm paying $99/mo for it.

Their response time is fantastic; their team is there 247 and responds within minutes to any of my queries. I'm using Immedion in North Carolina. I've used many hosting companies over the years and these guys have been by far the most reliable and helpful.

I am extremely resistant to any shared / cloud solution. I like having complete control over my server and being able to designate exactly what hard drives what data is on, to separate out drive access.

If there are reliable hosting companies offering this setup for under $99, I'd be happy to examine them!


Lisa Shea, owner, BellaOnline.com
BellaOnline Website
BellaOnline Forums - UBB since Apr 2002 - 57,000 members / 800,000 posts
Re: Does v756p2 use InnoDB in MySQL? [Re: Andrew Bienhaus] #251374
12/14/12 07:44 PM
12/14/12 07:44 PM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 754
BellaOnline Offline

old hand
BellaOnline  Offline

old hand
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 754
SirDude -

I've converted three of my UBB forums over to InnoDB and in each case I saw a speed increase. I do think some of the features in InnoDB are helping streamline things. Maybe it only matters with forums of a certain size?


Lisa Shea, owner, BellaOnline.com
BellaOnline Website
BellaOnline Forums - UBB since Apr 2002 - 57,000 members / 800,000 posts
Re: Does v756p2 use InnoDB in MySQL? [Re: Andrew Bienhaus] #251377
12/14/12 07:53 PM
12/14/12 07:53 PM
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 4,313
SoCal, USA
SD Offline
Carpal Tunnel
SD  Offline
Carpal Tunnel
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 4,313
SoCal, USA
#1 way to increase things is RAM, RAM, RAM smile

if you think InooDB helped you, then more power to you... i won't try to disuade you wink

$99 is hard to beat....

but, like i said, an 8GIG RAM server dedi is looking at $149 $129...

but to get 3 HDDs, you aren't gonna beat $99...

at some point, though, unless you prune old posts, the forum will grind to a halt and be unusable....

and you will find that it won't be a SLOW thing.. it'll suddenly go over a cliff and just be unresponsive..... you are getting close to that limit, if saving posts cause a huge delay already smile

Re: Does v756p2 use InnoDB in MySQL? [Re: Andrew Bienhaus] #251380
12/14/12 08:22 PM
12/14/12 08:22 PM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 16,788
Portland, OR; USA
Gizmo Offline
UBB.threads Developer
Gizmo  Offline
UBB.threads Developer
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 16,788
Portland, OR; USA
You can get 16gb at Interserver for about $139.00 clicky (for 169 they have 32gb), they have something called "quick servers" servers, you can get 4gb ram for $103 clicky


I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Forums: A Gardeners Forum Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
Re: Does v756p2 use InnoDB in MySQL? [Re: Andrew Bienhaus] #251504
12/17/12 06:59 PM
12/17/12 06:59 PM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 754
BellaOnline Offline

old hand
BellaOnline  Offline

old hand
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 754
My current servers can't handle any more RAM. I would need to upgrade to completely new servers in order to then be able to ponder more RAM. I'm getting pricing quotes now, to see what my options are.

With my 2mb RAM and the upgrades I can now get performance like this on my lisashea server, looking at the main page -

Generated in 0.056 seconds in which 0.012 seconds were spent on a total of 9 queries. Zlib compression disabled.

So I consider that reasonable smile.


Lisa Shea, owner, BellaOnline.com
BellaOnline Website
BellaOnline Forums - UBB since Apr 2002 - 57,000 members / 800,000 posts
Re: Does v756p2 use InnoDB in MySQL? [Re: Andrew Bienhaus] #251506
12/17/12 07:01 PM
12/17/12 07:01 PM
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 4,313
SoCal, USA
SD Offline
Carpal Tunnel
SD  Offline
Carpal Tunnel
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 4,313
SoCal, USA
at some point, speed of page load will drive peeps away, which translates to lost revenue..

google ranks you lower too...

so you can do the math and decide where the point of inflection is..

the bummer is.... it's HARD to move laugh

Re: Does v756p2 use InnoDB in MySQL? [Re: Andrew Bienhaus] #251606
12/21/12 12:32 AM
12/21/12 12:32 AM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 754
BellaOnline Offline

old hand
BellaOnline  Offline

old hand
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 754
After my tuning, when I run my tests with Google I'm coming back as fast, and I'm earning #1 rankings. So I'm in good shape for now!


Lisa Shea, owner, BellaOnline.com
BellaOnline Website
BellaOnline Forums - UBB since Apr 2002 - 57,000 members / 800,000 posts

Shout Box
Today's Birthdays
No Birthdays
Recent Topics
Users Unable to Upload Avatar [Not a Bug]
by M4TT. 12/13/17 08:51 AM
Shout Box Sound Effect
by M4TT. 11/29/17 08:28 PM
Ad island
by TGCsanderson. 11/25/17 06:41 PM
Taking to long to connect to DB
by AstroCat. 11/24/17 12:34 PM
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics35,015
Posts190,544
Members12,045
Most Online978
Jun 24th, 2007
Random Image
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Snapshot build 20171106)