Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Likes: 24
Old Hand
Old Hand
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Likes: 24
Hi

See below
Is there a way to set UBB code as mentioned, do we have options in admin panel that effect when connections closes?

Quote
Please ensure that your code closes any connections to the database once no longer required



Issue: Database/MYSQL
Problem Description:
7/22/2013 7:46:01 AM - Online Customer:
Hi, our database seems to get blocked and we don't have that much traffic. could you please help.... Script: - Line: Unable to connect to the database! - Host 'lnh-xxxxj.xxxx.xxxx.com' is blocked because of many connection errors; unblock with 'mysqladmin flush-hosts'

Solution History On Ticket:
7/22/2013 8:16:03 AM - Darren T.:
Dear Morgan ,
Thank you for choosing Web.com technical support.
I am not able to replicate your issue. There are a limited ammount of connections (780) allowed to a database and the error message means that these connections have been exceeded. Please ensure that your code closes any connections to the database once no longer required


Morgan Johansson
BritBike Forum
https://www.britbike.com/forums/ubbthreads.php
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Likes: 24
Old Hand
Old Hand
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Likes: 24
If above question don't help maybe below will but i don't know how to execute these commands etc, Any ideas..?


http://answers.web.com/article.asp?article=3915&p=2


How to use a custom php.ini file

Because we’ve implemented php as a CGI, you can’t change php runtime settings via the php_value and php_flag directives in an .htaccess file. To change php runtime settings, you can either use ini_set in your code, or write a wrapper cgi which specifies the configuration file.

To use a custom php.ini file:

Enter the following commands to copy the system’s default php.ini into your home directory:
cp /etc/php.ini ~/

Enter the following command to create a cgi wrapper named php.cgi in your cgi-bin directory containing the following lines:
#!/bin/sh
exec /var/www/cgi-bin/php -c ~/php.ini

Enter the following command to set the executable bit on your wrapper:
chmod +x php.cgi

Add an .htaccess file to the directory in which you want to use the settings. The .htaccess file should contain the following lines:
AddHandler application/my-php .php
Action application/my-php /cgi-bin/php.cgi

Change any settings you need in the php.ini file in your home dire
ctory and use phpinfo to ensure that they’re set.


Morgan Johansson
BritBike Forum
https://www.britbike.com/forums/ubbthreads.php
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 16,299
Likes: 116
UBB.threads Developer
UBB.threads Developer
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 16,299
Likes: 116
The only section affecting the db's connection is "Persistent Connections" which you shouldn't be using unless you're on a dedicated machine; this setting is in the CP at:
CP -> Master Settings -> DB, Paths & URLs -> "Use Persistent Connections?"


I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Do you need Forum Install or Upgrade Services?
Forums: A Gardeners Forum, Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Likes: 24
Old Hand
Old Hand
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Likes: 24
OK but its strange, they say

Please ensure that your code closes any connections to the database once no longer required

so what does Persistent Connections do? what kind of harm could it do if i use it?

I will reopen the ticket and ask the host.


Morgan Johansson
BritBike Forum
https://www.britbike.com/forums/ubbthreads.php
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Likes: 24
Old Hand
Old Hand
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Likes: 24
we'll see what they will answer, my ubb error log file is between 1,5-2 MB everyday which is a lot of bad connections.

Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 16,299
Likes: 116
UBB.threads Developer
UBB.threads Developer
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 16,299
Likes: 116
Easy, don't enable it, I included that tidbit there to ensure you weren't... Persistent connections will always ensure there are open connections to the database...


I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Do you need Forum Install or Upgrade Services?
Forums: A Gardeners Forum, Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Likes: 24
Old Hand
Old Hand
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Likes: 24
OK then i will not unless host say its ok!?

Then my options are to look for another host or another plan cause our members are fed up with all these error pages.
Or if anyone has any idea..
Could it not work then with the other option?
http://answers.web.com/article.asp?article=3915&p=2

Cheers

Last edited by Morgan; 07/22/2013 2:51 PM.
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 16,299
Likes: 116
UBB.threads Developer
UBB.threads Developer
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 16,299
Likes: 116
I, and several of my clients, use hosting and VPS services with Interserver and several members here use Express Hosting as well.


I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Do you need Forum Install or Upgrade Services?
Forums: A Gardeners Forum, Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 6,562
Likes: 78
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 6,562
Likes: 78
Originally Posted by Morgan
OK then i will not unless host say its ok!?

Then my options are to look for another host or another plan cause our members are fed up with all these error pages.
Or if anyone has any idea..
Could it not work then with the other option?
http://answers.web.com/article.asp?article=3915&p=2

Cheers

My suggestion three months ago was to migrate to another host,Due to the exact same issue.
As Gizmo has stated as well as I have, you could try express hosting. I know you were waiting on a reply from them at the time.

Or the other hosts Gizmo suggested.
They both offer better options than what you have now.




Blue Man Group
There is no such thing as stupid questions. Just stupid answers
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Likes: 24
Old Hand
Old Hand
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Likes: 24
Host said no to persistant connections on a shared server,.
So i'm on a shared linux account now and see that
there is so much to chose from.
I wonder how to chose the right VPS platform/size/capacity..
maybe this question is off UBB topic but since my present mysql is close to 1 GB
I don't see how much database space any of the two mentioned above offer.
Off to the beach..

PS Express hosting never answered..

Last edited by Morgan; 07/23/2013 3:50 AM.

Morgan Johansson
BritBike Forum
https://www.britbike.com/forums/ubbthreads.php
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 6,562
Likes: 78
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 6,562
Likes: 78
I can tell you for express.
They don't limit the size nor number of database you use.
They give you x number of storage space and bandwidth per plan and you use it how you wish.
For example the cheapest shared plan is 9.99 us dollars per month.
10GB storage
100GB bandwidth
Use it as you wish.
email accounts will take space
web pages will take space

if say you have two databases using 1GB each you still have 8gb for your other stuff.
or have 100 databases as long as you have storage space that is also okay.

You will need to talk to him about vps plans. As well as dedicated servers.

For a vps plan you may want to consider a managed plan at first so you can get some help from the host running things.

Last edited by Ruben; 07/23/2013 1:29 PM.

Blue Man Group
There is no such thing as stupid questions. Just stupid answers
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 16,299
Likes: 116
UBB.threads Developer
UBB.threads Developer
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 16,299
Likes: 116
You get dedicated resources with a VPS, and Interserver has a 1 slice VPS is $6 and you get 512mb shared memory, 25gb storage on an OpenVZ with no control panel (you could install Webmin/Virtualmin yourself or rent a CPanel install from them for $10/mo

They have shared hosting options as well as additional slices for VPS' (a slice is a share of the resources on a VPS, the more slices the more resources; you can tinker on their VPS page). Myself I have a 4 slice VPS for them which is hosting several sites (and I use a CDN on top of that).


I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Do you need Forum Install or Upgrade Services?
Forums: A Gardeners Forum, Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Likes: 24
Old Hand
Old Hand
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Likes: 24
So getting VPS means there is a limit of space that I can use for either database + website storage = total amount within the limit.

when using shared plans they specify each item and limit for each items.

I see on shared plans they say for example there are hundreds of one click installs that comes with the plans, does it with VPS too?

Gizmo
On Interserver's site there are several "OS" to chose from wonder which one to chose?

I see from my web.com statistics that the traffic normally is about 75GB per month from Manually traffice and about the same from spiders so that would be minimum 150GB required per month.

Nah I have been looking on both options express/Interserver It's late here and i'm not thinking strait, will be gone next day, just feel i need to learn more.





Morgan Johansson
BritBike Forum
https://www.britbike.com/forums/ubbthreads.php
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 6,562
Likes: 78
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 6,562
Likes: 78
well the suggested shared plans don't limit you to a specific number or size of mysql or email account,etc.
They just limit you on the storage space and bandwidth needed.
Now a VPS or dedicated server. Is differet where they actually just provide a server to you and you are required to make all the server settings within the boundaries of the physical limits of the server. Meaning the cpu size,ram plus drive size.
Now with them comes options of managed or un managed usually.
Meaning that managed the host will assist in the setup and running of the server for a fee that is why a managed server is more cost.
A un managed server means they provide a server and it is totally up to you to install software and make all the settings like you are used to on a shared account.


Blue Man Group
There is no such thing as stupid questions. Just stupid answers
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Likes: 24
Old Hand
Old Hand
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Likes: 24
Thanks ruben for the info
Obviasly is the limit of 780 connections a problem now and the reason why i look elsewhere, and of course the size of DB backups size. Right now I cannot upload backup files as they are above the limit.


Morgan Johansson
BritBike Forum
https://www.britbike.com/forums/ubbthreads.php
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 16,299
Likes: 116
UBB.threads Developer
UBB.threads Developer
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 16,299
Likes: 116
I run on CentOS, it's a debranded Red Had Enterprise Linux.

And yes, space is space with most places, they don't really care how you use it.

The problem one might find with a VPS is that they need to run updates by themselves; a basic crash rundown of how to use SSH and running the command "yum -y upgrade" generally does the task for most people though.


I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Do you need Forum Install or Upgrade Services?
Forums: A Gardeners Forum, Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Likes: 24
Old Hand
Old Hand
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Likes: 24
Gizmo,

I hijacked a thread on interserver forum
http://forum.interserver.net/forum/threads/do-you-guys-use-vps.2214/
what do you think of The admins reply regarding connections on Interserver VPS

What do you think about below from web.com support, could there be something wrong that is not closing connections?

Quote
Hello Morgan, Thank you for contacting Technical Support. Our databases servers do have a limit of 768 connections however this is a very large amount for most websites and unfortunately there is no way for us to increase this limit. Reaching this limit usually occurs because MySQL connections on your site are not being closed. On the typical site, when a MySQL connection is created, and tasks are completed within the database, the connection is then immediately closed. If sites are not coded correctly to close this connection, the connections can keep accumulating causing these type of issues. Otherwise this error message would usually indicate that your site is getting too much traffic and should be on some type of dedicated or VPS server. But that would usually indicate that you have 768 connections being accessed simultaneously to your database.


Morgan Johansson
BritBike Forum
https://www.britbike.com/forums/ubbthreads.php
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 16,299
Likes: 116
UBB.threads Developer
UBB.threads Developer
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 16,299
Likes: 116
I think he's pointing towards the possibility of you just using a vps for hosting MySQL and still hosting the site wherever you want; I'd just host everything on a VPS and call it good.

I've never run into connection limits on a VPS before; if anything would go wrong memory wise there's always another slice one could buy for the VPS...


I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Do you need Forum Install or Upgrade Services?
Forums: A Gardeners Forum, Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Likes: 24
Old Hand
Old Hand
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Likes: 24
OK I'm just buying 2 slices without Cpanel and go from there.. at this point i'm not migrating but will check as i'm curious.


Morgan Johansson
BritBike Forum
https://www.britbike.com/forums/ubbthreads.php
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Likes: 24
Old Hand
Old Hand
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Likes: 24
Gizmo I never got a verifying email so maybe the purchase did not come thru,

I run a show variables check in myphpadmin database and look what came up

Under Show variables i found

Quote
max_connect_errors 10

max_connections 1536

max_delayed_threads 20

max_error_count 64

max_heap_table_size 16777216

max_insert_delayed_threads 20

max_join_size 18446744073709551615

max_length_for_sort_data 1024

max_prepared_stmt_count 16382

max_relay_log_size 0

max_seeks_for_key 18446744073709551615

max_sort_length 1024

max_sp_recursion_depth 0

max_tmp_tables 32

max_user_connections 40


max_write_lock_count 18446744073709551615

MyPHPadmin says also
Quote
Your PHP MySQL library version 5.0.95 differs from your MySQL server version 5.1.52. This may cause unpredictable behavior.

Last edited by Morgan; 07/28/2013 5:39 AM.

Morgan Johansson
BritBike Forum
https://www.britbike.com/forums/ubbthreads.php
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 16,299
Likes: 116
UBB.threads Developer
UBB.threads Developer
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 16,299
Likes: 116
Well, if that's from the VPS the beauty is that you can change the variables...


I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Do you need Forum Install or Upgrade Services?
Forums: A Gardeners Forum, Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Likes: 24
Old Hand
Old Hand
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Likes: 24
Nope its from my present host..


Morgan Johansson
BritBike Forum
https://www.britbike.com/forums/ubbthreads.php
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 6,562
Likes: 78
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 6,562
Likes: 78
Well without looking it up.
There are two settings for that.
max_user_connections
and Max_connections
I think that one is just what your host says is the limit.
So it sounds like they may have lied to you.
if they were unlimited they would be set to 0.
Or as they stated 780 on at least one of them.


Blue Man Group
There is no such thing as stupid questions. Just stupid answers
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Likes: 24
Old Hand
Old Hand
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Likes: 24
Well here we go, I ordered VPS by interserver and at first i want to
use the old website but the new VPS for database

Database is restored at new VPS but i have connection problems
During the day I was able to open one (1) forum page and the admin cp once too
Despite from that only a message with no connection to mysql.

What I have don is to change following in the config.in.php

server ip
username
database name
password

Thats it, I wonder do I need to change anything else?
as I say I am keeping the britbike.com domain at the old place until I see I get
connection.

Oh yes, I'm entitle now to set persistant connections as mysql.allow_persistent is turned on.

Now where do i set this when I can't open ubb control panel.

If anyone has the strength then I'm interested in some help to secure this migration.

Thanks


Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 6,562
Likes: 78
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 6,562
Likes: 78
If you are attempting to use two different servers meaning database on one host server and script files in another host server.
I don't believe it will work.
But anyway
You need to figure out the first line which usually is:
'DATABASE_SERVER' => 'localhost',

If you had cpanel you could use:
Remote Database Access Hosts


Blue Man Group
There is no such thing as stupid questions. Just stupid answers
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Likes: 24
Old Hand
Old Hand
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Likes: 24
Hi Ruben,
In config.inc.php it was before an ipaddress which i changed to new database ipadress.
'DATABASE_SERVER' => 'IP_address',
I do have a cpanel
Remote Database Access Hosts
I had 209.xxxx.%
but just now i set to %

Last edited by Morgan; 08/07/2013 4:37 PM.

Morgan Johansson
BritBike Forum
https://www.britbike.com/forums/ubbthreads.php
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Likes: 24
Old Hand
Old Hand
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Likes: 24
Blimey it was the max_error that failed or worked as it was set to "10" and now"99999"
so now can use the board, have not open yet but am posting tests as admin.
check out if you like
http://www.britbike.com/forums/ubbthreads.php?
Thanks


Morgan Johansson
BritBike Forum
https://www.britbike.com/forums/ubbthreads.php
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 6,562
Likes: 78
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 6,562
Likes: 78
I hope you do know that just using % allows any site in?
They still need user and password but?


Blue Man Group
There is no such thing as stupid questions. Just stupid answers
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Likes: 24
Old Hand
Old Hand
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Likes: 24
have removed the % now and replaced it with an Ip address.
Thanks for your input Ruben.
Cheers


Morgan Johansson
BritBike Forum
https://www.britbike.com/forums/ubbthreads.php
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 16,299
Likes: 116
UBB.threads Developer
UBB.threads Developer
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 16,299
Likes: 116
I still wouldn't turn on persistent connections; it's just not worth it and doesn't quite do what one would think (at least efficiently).



I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Do you need Forum Install or Upgrade Services?
Forums: A Gardeners Forum, Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Likes: 24
Old Hand
Old Hand
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Likes: 24
Feedback.

three days now on VPS and not a single error in the log.. well two tiny errors yesterday 398 bytes compared to 3MB ea day before.

People say its fast even as the website is in Georgia and database is in NJ.


Morgan Johansson
BritBike Forum
https://www.britbike.com/forums/ubbthreads.php

Link Copied to Clipboard
ShoutChat
Comment Guidelines: Do post respectful and insightful comments. Don't flame, hate, spam.
Recent Topics
Bots
by Outdoorking - 04/13/2024 5:08 PM
Can you add html to language files?
by Baldeagle - 04/07/2024 2:41 PM
Do I need to rebuild my database?
by Baldeagle - 04/07/2024 2:58 AM
This is not a bug, but a suggestion
by Baldeagle - 04/05/2024 11:25 PM
Is UBB.threads still going?
by Aaron101 - 04/01/2022 8:18 AM
Who's Online Now
1 members (Geoff), 1,018 guests, and 215 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Random Gallery Image
Latest Gallery Images
Los Angeles
Los Angeles
by isaac, August 6
3D Creations
3D Creations
by JAISP, December 30
Artistic structures
Artistic structures
by isaac, August 29
Stones
Stones
by isaac, August 19
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 8.0.0
(Preview build 20230217)