Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#254231 12/02/2013 7:45 PM
UBB.threads Developer
UBB.threads Developer
I thought that the SEO update was supposed to make the first post be the description in child pages? When I go here and look at the description in the meta tags it is of the first post on that page versus the first post of the thread...

I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Do you need Forum Install or Upgrade Services?
Forums: A Gardeners Forum, Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
SD Offline
Former Developer
Former Developer
description is for 1st post of page.. since the url changes to /page/2, then it would have a different og:Description

it's by design smile

SD Offline
Former Developer
Former Developer
take a look @ yoast and his comments on pagination..

also take a look at a page 2 in xenForo forum's thread. i like how they do SEO.

they do it same way smile

now IPB does it differently by prefacing the description ( 1st post ) with page x of y -

that is to make it look 'different' as to not have duplicate content descriptions.. but in looking closely their og:description is the 1st post of that page too ( Example )

--
so, in the end, i sided with Yoast ( SEO guru ) and the newer forum platform xenForo

--

also, iteration #2 will probably have an admin back end, where you can select certain things like: analytics, pagination style, apple iTouch icons, og:image .. rel="next" rel="previous" rel="canonical" og:site_name and more..

this is iteration #1 and gets the main og:xxx's out of the way to make it much easier for googlebot to grab SEO from the <head> section, vs wade thru table, tr, td stuff to figure it out.
--