Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
P
P Offline
Hi. I've just done a test upgrade of a board from 7.5.8 to 7.5.9, and have noticed that the default encoding has now changed from ISO Latin 1 (ISO-8869-1) to UTF8. This has resulted in the non-7-bit-ASCII characters being corrupted (e.g. "†" is now displayed as "�"). I can understand the change to UTF8 (I think it's a great idea going forwards), but is there any way to convert the database content encoding to UTF8 as part of the upgrade, or a script I can run afterwards?

UBB.threads Developer
UBB.threads Developer
There are several wiki entries about this, namely you can change UTF8 back to the original character set by editing the language files (just use the search in the language editor for "utf" and change the specification).

I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Do you need Forum Install or Upgrade Services?
Forums: A Gardeners Forum, Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
P
P Offline
Thanks Gizmo. I'll take a look at those today.

P
P Offline
I had a few problems during conversion. I could see that the database text encoding had changed (at least, the sample pieces of text I was checking had changed appropriately), but UBB was still showing diamonds.