Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
S
Stranger
Stranger
S Offline
All of a sudden, attached images are not displaying and we're getting the broken link icon. What should I check?

Thanks,
John

John
UBB.threads Developer
UBB.threads Developer
Are you logged in? I see you have download perms set to not allow guests, instead they get the message "You do not have access to download this attachment" such as here from here

I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Do you need Forum Install or Upgrade Services?
Forums: A Gardeners Forum, Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
S
Stranger
Stranger
S Offline
Hi Gizmo. Thanks. I am logged in. I see what you are showing me.

BTW, our usual guy who handles this (Baldeagle) is offline currently -- probably dealing with flooding in his hometown of Richardson, TX. I am not as conversant with all of this as he is, so your patience is appreciated smile

I checked a random forum and the permissions seem to be set as they should be ... I tried your first link to my site and I get the message that the image attempting to display contains errors. You might have to hold my hand through this...

John
S
Stranger
Stranger
S Offline
We haven't allowed guests to view images all along. Even for logged in users, images are showing up as broken link icons

John
I would start with validating the files are accessible.
First is in the UBB CP go to the attachment section and use the test link to make sure the folder can be accessed.

Try typing a direct path in a browser to a attachment file.not using UBB.
The clickable links in a post are not direct links. They access to database first and alter the URL.