Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
I am a bit nervous about converting over to the php version because I am coming from 4.1.3 and its a few upgrades plus a switch. Also since 4.1.3 doesnt allow me to turn off my boards for maintainence I have more to worry about. So I tried copying my current database to a new name database2 and am trying the upgrade on database2. Everything seemed to go ok through the upgrade, but for some reason the php version is still looking for database . I explicitly pointed the config file with a full url to the php config file... no go.

Can this be done?

WIll

Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 9,242
R
Former Developer
Offline
Former Developer
R
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 9,242
Will,
In the PHP version there is one line at the top of the main.inc.php file that needs to be edited, you will see a variable like this:
$thispath = "/home/httpd/html/wwwthreads.com/php";
Have you changed this?

---

Scream

WWWThreads Developer

Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
Yes, this is edited to my correct php install path.

Will

Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 9,242
R
Former Developer
Offline
Former Developer
R
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 9,242
The only other portions that specify a database name are in the config.inc.php. Have you got all of the settings correct in there?

---
Scream
WWWThreads Developer

Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
Yes the settings are correct there... thats why I thought it may have something do with the other perl version or apache through mod perl setting those variables?

Will

Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
Here is some additional info about the problem. The error is:

Seeya! Table 'highendforum.w3t_Users' doesn't exist: 1146
Warning: Supplied argument is not a valid MySQL result resource in mysql.inc.php on line 71

(highendforum was my old database, boards is my new)

[admin@www boards]$ grep highend *
grep: admin: Is a directory
grep: cron: Is a directory
grep: filters: Is a directory
grep: images: Is a directory
grep: includes: Is a directory
grep: languages: Is a directory
grep: stylesheets: Is a directory
theme.inc.php: $theme['stylesheet'] = "highend";
theme.inc.php: $theme[availablestyles] = "highend:highend";

So as you can see highend trying to match highendforum is no where in my root directory of the php installation. It must be getting the variable from somewhere else.

Will

Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 9,242
R
Former Developer
Offline
Former Developer
R
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 9,242
Ah, you are running mod_perl with your PERL version? If that is the case then that is probably the problem. That is the only thing that I can think of really. But of course if it was looking at your old database then it should be able to find the w3t_Users table, unless your PERL version is quite old.

---

Scream

WWWThreads Developer


Link Copied to Clipboard
ShoutChat
Comment Guidelines: Do post respectful and insightful comments. Don't flame, hate, spam.
Recent Topics
IMG Options
by mmem700 - 06/12/2021 10:14 AM
Custom Island database updates
by Pak Chan - 06/09/2021 2:11 PM
PHP 8 support + which php engine is used in IIS?
by luket - 06/08/2021 7:05 AM
7.7.5 Update error
by ECNet - 05/30/2021 8:08 PM
Re: Custom Island Questions
by ECNet - 05/30/2021 5:00 PM
Who's Online Now
1 members (Ruben), 61 guests, and 97 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Random Gallery Image
Latest Gallery Images
gallery test
gallery test
by Mors, September 23
Los Angeles
Los Angeles
by isaac, August 6
3D Creations
3D Creations
by JAISP, December 30
Artistic structures
Artistic structures
by isaac, August 29
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5