Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Default Time Offset? #88769 03/30/2005 7:33 AM
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 10
tee128 Offline OP
stranger
OP Offline
stranger
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 10
I used to have version 5,45 c and upgraded last year to version 6.7.1

The board is hosted in Miami but the website serves mainly a UK audience.

I seem to remember on the older version that we needed to manually set a +5 hour time difference.

After the upgrade, the time settings on the board appeared correct and I had no need to alter or look at the time settings.

However, this week UK clocks went forward 1 hour. This is a week before US Daylight saving comes into effect.

I looked at the clock settings to see if I could temporarily change it to compensate and was surprised to find the 'Default Time Offset' set to 0 even though the time zone difference is still working.

Default Time Offset (Hours): 0
Unadjusted server time: 30 March, 2005 08:15
Your local computer time: 30 March, 2005 14:18

I tried entering '1' in that setting, and submitting a test post, but the time displayed remained the same.

I've checked the manual I have and can't see any explanaton of how this works.

Please can anyone tell me how I can make the ncessary time corrections.

Many thanks
Steve

Re: Default Time Offset? #88770 03/30/2005 11:16 AM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,143
David Dreezer Offline
Pooh-Bah
Offline
Pooh-Bah
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,143
If you wish to, you can manually edit the vars_time.cgi file. There may be a value in the file called "FudgedOffset" - adjust it by the number of seconds that you wish to change the time by.

However, this may cause unintended side effects, and I would not advise doing it. Waiting the additional week for the rest of the world to catch up isn't so bad. <img src="https://www.ubbcentral.com/boards/images/graemlins/smile.gif" alt="" />


This thread for sale. Click here! [Linked Image from navaho.infopop.cc]
Re: Default Time Offset? #88771 03/30/2005 12:56 PM
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 10
tee128 Offline OP
stranger
OP Offline
stranger
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 10
Hi Charles

Thanks for the reply. Neither myself or the board users mind waiting. In fact it provoked a rather interesting thread about time zones. <img src="https://www.ubbcentral.com/boards/images/graemlins/smile.gif" alt="" />

However, I am still confused as to how the time difference is working when the Default Time Offset value is 0 rather than 5.

Am I missing something obvious?

Thanks
Steve

Re: Default Time Offset? #88772 03/30/2005 1:20 PM
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 141
oracleweb Offline
member
Offline
member
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 141
aww man, daylight savings time is next week? we lose an hour of sleep this time, right?

Re: Default Time Offset? #88773 03/30/2005 2:54 PM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,143
David Dreezer Offline
Pooh-Bah
Offline
Pooh-Bah
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,143
The default is the default - each registered user has his or her own preference for the current offset, including yourself. The default applies only to new and unregistered users. If you had logged out and looked at the times before and after the change, then you would have seen a difference.


This thread for sale. Click here! [Linked Image from navaho.infopop.cc]
Re: Default Time Offset? #88774 03/07/2006 2:11 PM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 10
nimh Offline
stranger
Offline
stranger
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 10
Is there a way to globally edit all of my user's preferences to change their time display? They are all here in the US with me and I just moved my hosting to a new time zone so I want to edit everyone to correct their time display without having them all figure out how to edit their profiles.

Thanks.

Re: Default Time Offset? #88775 03/07/2006 4:45 PM
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 53
Josh Offline
journeyman
Offline
journeyman
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 53
Version 6.7.3 here

This is what is displayed at General>Date&Time

Default Time Offset (Hours):
Unadjusted server time: 03-07-2006 02:40 PM
Your local computer time: 03-07-2006 05:40 PM

What should I enter in the white box??

I have tried +3

But it does not change anything.

When I post, the time displayed is 1 hour slow. It says 4:40pm


Joshua Pettit
Web Developer - www.JoshuaPettit.com
Re: Default Time Offset? #88776 03/07/2006 5:06 PM
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 53
Josh Offline
journeyman
Offline
journeyman
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 53
No matter what numbers I enter for an offset I can not get the correct time to display. Yes, I have posted many times AFTER I have made the changes.


Joshua Pettit
Web Developer - www.JoshuaPettit.com
Re: Default Time Offset? #88777 03/07/2006 5:18 PM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,143
David Dreezer Offline
Pooh-Bah
Offline
Pooh-Bah
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,143
Mark, please read my previous post in this topic for your answer. <img src="https://www.ubbcentral.com/boards/images/graemlins/smile.gif" alt="" />

SudburyComputer: Unfortunately, there is no way to globally edit a user preference.


This thread for sale. Click here! [Linked Image from navaho.infopop.cc]
Re: Default Time Offset? #88778 03/08/2006 6:38 AM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 10
nimh Offline
stranger
Offline
stranger
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 10
Thanks Charles:

Is there a file for each user that holds these settings that I can edit or can it only be done by logging and editing the profile?

Re: Default Time Offset? #88779 03/08/2006 8:35 AM
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 53
Josh Offline
journeyman
Offline
journeyman
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 53
Even if i change the setting in my own profile I can not get the time to change. Shouldn't it change?


Joshua Pettit
Web Developer - www.JoshuaPettit.com
Re: Default Time Offset? #88780 03/08/2006 5:37 PM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,143
David Dreezer Offline
Pooh-Bah
Offline
Pooh-Bah
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,143
Mark: Yes, it should. Can we get the URL to your board?

SudburyComputer: These settings are stored in each member file. The only way to edit the preference would be to either perform the edit manually through the control panel, or to edit each file by hand.


This thread for sale. Click here! [Linked Image from navaho.infopop.cc]
Re: Default Time Offset? #88781 03/08/2006 7:48 PM
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 10
nimh Offline
stranger
Offline
stranger
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 10
Hi Charles,

I started editing the files manually. I chaged the follwoing line:
0&#0124;^&#0124;MMM dd, yyyy&#0124;^&#0124;hh:mm a
to read
-13&#0124;^&#0124;MMM dd, yyyy&#0124;^&#0124;hh:mm a

I checked about 15 users and only half of them had that line at all. Should I add it to the others?

Thanks for the help.

Re: Default Time Offset? #88782 03/08/2006 11:45 PM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,143
David Dreezer Offline
Pooh-Bah
Offline
Pooh-Bah
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,143
Users without that line will use the board default that you've set in the control panel -- they haven't updated their profiles since you upraded to the version that has the added feature.

Be sure to make backups of those files before modifying them. <img src="https://www.ubbcentral.com/boards/images/graemlins/smile.gif" alt="" />


This thread for sale. Click here! [Linked Image from navaho.infopop.cc]

Forum Search
ShoutChat Box
Comment Guidelines: Do post respectful and insightful comments. Don't flame, hate, spam.
Recent Topics
Mobile app?
by Baldeagle - 12/06/2019 9:32 PM
How do you change Text Line spacing?
by jorb - 11/23/2019 12:14 AM
What happened to FAQ or Forum Help
by Ruben - 11/20/2019 11:58 AM
Search feature encountering an Error message
by jorb - 11/20/2019 12:06 AM
Followed List v7.7.2 Question
by Ruben - 11/12/2019 12:22 PM
Who's Online Now
3 registered members (Gizmo, Gator, Baldeagle), 85 guests, and 431 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Random Gallery Image
Latest Gallery Images
Artistic structures
Artistic structures
by isaac, August 29
Stones
Stones
by isaac, August 19
Amusing Terain Scenics
Amusing Terain Scenics
by isaac, August 19
Sky places
Sky places
by isaac, August 19
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.4
(Snapshot build 20191023)