If you let the upgrader do the language file changes for you it will only modify language strings that have been changed in the upgrade and then add any new ones.
I think the upgrade notes should be clarified on this respect:
https://www.ubbcentral.com/doc_upgrade7.phpThey say:
The next screen will list the changes to the language files. If you uploaded a new copy of the "languages" directory in an earlier step, click the "I have updated my language files by hand" button. Otherwise, click the "Update my language files" button.
So that is fairly, clear, but further up the page they say:
Upload all files and directories from the unzipped UBB.threads directory to the UBB.threads installation directory, except for the includes, styles, and cache_builders/custom directories.
If I understand things correctly, shouldn't that be clarified to read something like the following?
Upload all files and directories from the unzipped UBB.threads directory to the UBB.threads installation directory, except for the includes, styles, and cache_builders/custom directories. Uploading the langauges directory is optional; if you have made customizations to your languages directory in the past you can omit this step and allow UBB.threads to handle the upgrading of the files for you.