Hi Mark, I'm sure that you know way more than I do, so not sure this will be of any help... however, I think the new user group will kick in as soon as they make 1 new post (which perhaps is what you'd like to avoid). I also believe that becoming this user and then logging out would do the trick... I know that eliminates the unread posts indicators (or it used to in past), so it would seem logical?