Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 460
Addict
Addict
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 460
Is this really all I need to do (?):

1. Create a .htaccess file in the ubbthreads directory.

2. Inside it put the following code:
<IfModule mod_php4.c>
php_value register_globals 0
</IfModule>

-or- <IfModule mod_php5.c> for PHP5

Is that it? Also, is a reboot needed?

Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 9,242
Likes: 1
R
Former Developer
Former Developer
R Offline
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 9,242
Likes: 1
That would be it as long as you have permission to use .htaccess files. THis is determined by the webserver setup. No reboot needed, the webserver will read the .htaccess file each time a file is requested from within it.

Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 460
Addict
Addict
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 460
Many thanks! I created the file from within CPanel, but I didn't set any passwords or anything. Is that ok?

Then I just ftp'ed my way in and edited the file to include the code you mentioned.

Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 116
F
member
member
F Offline
Joined: Apr 2006
Posts: 116
You should be able to have access to php.ini file. If you cannot, change your hosting. Also setting register_globals off on a global basis is much better, because it should not really affect anything, and if it does then you have some really dodgy scripts that you should not really be using.

Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 20
stranger
stranger
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 20
register_globals is set to off by default, you or your host has to turn it on, since v 4.2.0.
It is best to never enable it.

Last edited by Extrm Bob; 05/08/2006 6:54 PM.
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 9,242
Likes: 1
R
Former Developer
Former Developer
R Offline
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 9,242
Likes: 1
It's rather suprising how many webhosts DO turn this on. I've worked on numerous servers over the past few weeks all running a later version of PHP but with register_globals turned on in php.ini.

Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 460
Addict
Addict
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 460
Rick, is there a changelog for 6.5.4 somewhere? I run a subforum mod so I'd rather replace just the necessary files, one-by-one.

Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 9,242
Likes: 1
R
Former Developer
Former Developer
R Offline
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 9,242
Likes: 1
If you look at the install/UPGRADE_CHANGES.txt file you can see what files have been changed.

Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 31
L
newbie
newbie
L Offline
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 31
My webhost is Infopop. I cannot find php.ini... ANYWHERE.

Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 16,301
Likes: 116
UBB.threads Developer
UBB.threads Developer
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 16,301
Likes: 116
most webhosts will not allow you to adjust fields in php.ini; adjustingin php.ini is mainly for users of vps and dedicated servers.

You should instead folow the htaccess example above as most webhost aallow users to crate and maintain their own .htaccess fles.


I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Do you need Forum Install or Upgrade Services?
Forums: A Gardeners Forum, Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 31
L
newbie
newbie
L Offline
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 31
Thanks Gizmo.

<img src="https://www.ubbcentral.com/boards/images/graemlins/smile.gif" alt="" />

How do I find out which PHP version is used ? Should I just assume that Infopop would have the latest version... version 5 ?

Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 16,301
Likes: 116
UBB.threads Developer
UBB.threads Developer
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 16,301
Likes: 116
A lot of webhosts do not use PHP5, becasue it is rare that a script coded for PHP4 will function "out of the box" with PHP5...

You can find all of the info of your servers php config by uploading a file to your server and accessing it from the web...

phpinfo.php:
Code
&lt;?php phpinfo(); ?&gt;


I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Do you need Forum Install or Upgrade Services?
Forums: A Gardeners Forum, Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 31
L
newbie
newbie
L Offline
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 31


Very cool !!

Thank you ! Have a virtual beer on my tab !

<img src="https://www.ubbcentral.com/boards/images/graemlins/smile.gif" alt="" />


Link Copied to Clipboard
ShoutChat
Comment Guidelines: Do post respectful and insightful comments. Don't flame, hate, spam.
Recent Topics
Version 7.7.5 Images suddenly not displaying
by Stovebolt - 05/04/2024 11:19 AM
Bots
by Outdoorking - 04/13/2024 5:08 PM
Do I need to rebuild my database?
by Baldeagle - 04/07/2024 2:58 AM
Who's Online Now
1 members (Ruben), 872 guests, and 177 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Random Gallery Image
Latest Gallery Images
Los Angeles
Los Angeles
by isaac, August 6
3D Creations
3D Creations
by JAISP, December 30
Artistic structures
Artistic structures
by isaac, August 29
Stones
Stones
by isaac, August 19
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 8.0.0
(Preview build 20240506)