Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#167497 11/02/2006 3:02 AM
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 152
Y
member
member
Y Offline
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 152
I'd like to change {$CUSTOM_FIELD_1} into a text area in editbasic.tpl, but the tpl file only mentions {$CUSTOM_FIELD_1} itself. How do I actually edit its contents?

Yomar #167501 11/02/2006 5:24 AM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 3,837
I
Ian Offline
Carpal Tunnel
Carpal Tunnel
I Offline
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 3,837
good question - despite searching for you I can't spot it - must be there - I will look deeper smile

Ian #167600 11/03/2006 3:15 AM
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 152
Y
member
member
Y Offline
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 152
Another one for Rick?

Yomar #167605 11/03/2006 9:36 AM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 3,837
I
Ian Offline
Carpal Tunnel
Carpal Tunnel
I Offline
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 3,837
sorry, have not had a chance to relook.

Ian #167613 11/03/2006 11:57 AM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 9,242
Likes: 1
R
Former Developer
Former Developer
R Offline
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 9,242
Likes: 1
For that, you'll need to actually edit the editbasic.php script. Around line 309.

Rick #167788 11/05/2006 7:43 AM
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 152
Y
member
member
Y Offline
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 152
Hi Rick,

Believe it or not, but editing those lines does nothing!

Yomar #169394 11/30/2006 4:06 AM
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 152
Y
member
member
Y Offline
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 152
Hi Rick,

Any chance we'll get a custom field size feature in future control panels?

Yomar #169402 11/30/2006 5:34 AM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 16,299
Likes: 116
UBB.threads Developer
UBB.threads Developer
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 16,299
Likes: 116
I haven't tested itmyself (as I don't really have a need to use a text area) but you've tried changing this:
Code
	if ($config['CUSTOM_FIELD_1']) {
		$CUSTOM_FIELD_1 = "
		{$config['CUSTOM_FIELD_1']}
		<br />
		<input type=\"text\" name=\"CUSTOM_FIELD_1\" value=\"$CUSTOM_FIELD_1\" class=\"form-input\" />
		<br />
		<br />
		";
	}

in scripts/editbasic.inc.php? It seems trivial, I'm just hoping that you tested the correct areas in your search.


I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Do you need Forum Install or Upgrade Services?
Forums: A Gardeners Forum, Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
Gizmo #169411 11/30/2006 8:36 AM
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 152
Y
member
member
Y Offline
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 152
Hi Gizmo,

Indeed. For some funny reason, it doesn't change anything.

Yomar #169413 11/30/2006 9:15 AM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 16,299
Likes: 116
UBB.threads Developer
UBB.threads Developer
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 16,299
Likes: 116
Did you clear your cache after editing files?


I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Do you need Forum Install or Upgrade Services?
Forums: A Gardeners Forum, Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
Gizmo #169437 11/30/2006 8:52 PM
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 152
Y
member
member
Y Offline
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 152
I just tried, but it doesn't change anything.

Yomar #169485 12/01/2006 8:09 PM
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 152
Y
member
member
Y Offline
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 152
I'm getting really curious after the solution to this riddle...

Yomar #169491 12/01/2006 9:19 PM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 9,242
Likes: 1
R
Former Developer
Former Developer
R Offline
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 9,242
Likes: 1
Changing that on my test system works ok. Do any other template changes to that script work for you? Just curious if maybe it's caching an old template. If the templates/compile directory doesn't have full permissions it could be holding on to an old compiled template.

Rick #169656 12/04/2006 5:18 AM
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 152
Y
member
member
Y Offline
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 152
It seems indeed it's holding on to an old template. Howver, template changes from the Control Panel do work. Changes made straight in the php file don't work.

The Templates/compile directory has full permissions.

The Templates directory has no write permissions for Group and Public.

Is that correct?

Last edited by Yomar; 12/04/2006 5:23 AM.
Yomar #170112 12/11/2006 6:38 PM
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 152
Y
member
member
Y Offline
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 152
/boink

Yomar #170118 12/11/2006 7:07 PM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 9,242
Likes: 1
R
Former Developer
Former Developer
R Offline
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 9,242
Likes: 1
Missed your earlier reply. Permissions sound ok. One thing you can try to see if it's a permission problem is to delete everything from within the templates/compile directory and see if your changes are visible. This will force it to recompile the template and the output.

Gizmo #170176 12/12/2006 4:34 PM
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 152
Y
member
member
Y Offline
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 152
I'm ashamed, so ashamed. I thought the HTML syntax for textareas was exactly the same as for other input fields... but it seems I was wrong. This works:

PHP Code

<textarea name=\"CUSTOM_FIELD_1\" cols=\"50\" rows=\"5\"
wrap=\"soft\" class=\"form-input\">{$CUSTOM_FIELD_1}</textarea>
 

This does not work:
PHP Code

<input type=\"textarea\" name=\"CUSTOM_FIELD_1\" 
value =\"$CUSTOM_FIELD_1\" cols=\"50\" rows=\"5\" wrap=\"soft\" class=\"form-input\" /> 

I'm so sorry for wasting your time... It worked correctly right from the beginning. I just don't know how HTML works laugh

Last edited by Yomar; 12/12/2006 4:41 PM.
Yomar #170177 12/12/2006 4:39 PM
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 152
Y
member
member
Y Offline
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 152
Rick, any chance we can configure the size of fields directly from the control panel in future versions?


Link Copied to Clipboard
ShoutChat
Comment Guidelines: Do post respectful and insightful comments. Don't flame, hate, spam.
Recent Topics
Bots
by Outdoorking - 04/13/2024 5:08 PM
Can you add html to language files?
by Baldeagle - 04/07/2024 2:41 PM
Do I need to rebuild my database?
by Baldeagle - 04/07/2024 2:58 AM
This is not a bug, but a suggestion
by Baldeagle - 04/05/2024 11:25 PM
Is UBB.threads still going?
by Aaron101 - 04/01/2022 8:18 AM
Who's Online Now
2 members (Gizmo, 1 invisible), 732 guests, and 158 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Random Gallery Image
Latest Gallery Images
Los Angeles
Los Angeles
by isaac, August 6
3D Creations
3D Creations
by JAISP, December 30
Artistic structures
Artistic structures
by isaac, August 29
Stones
Stones
by isaac, August 19
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 8.0.0
(Preview build 20240501)