Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
T
T Offline
I have had a report that whenever a particular logged in user clicks "search", the system logs them out and then tells them "you must be logged in" to search.

I only have this report from this one person, but I know this particular user and can't imagine he is doing something really stupid to get this to happen.

Can anyone help?

Last edited by Rick; 12/03/2006 12:50 PM.
UBB.threads Developer
UBB.threads Developer
It'll sound dumb, are they accessing your site through:
http://yoursite.tld

or
http://www.yoursite.tld

I ask because I think the search forum sends the search to the www version of your site and they may not be logged into the www version (as the "www" on your domain is meerely a subdomain the cookie would be set on whatever url they logged in on).

I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Do you need Forum Install or Upgrade Services?
Forums: A Gardeners Forum, Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
T
T Offline
Ah. Interesting. That sounds a bit weird, and it'd be really nice if this could somehow be corrected; but I will ask the user. I would guess that's the problem!

Thanks for the reply. :-)

UBB.threads Developer
UBB.threads Developer
It can be corrected, set your .htaccess file up to forward users accessing yoru site without "www" to "www" so all users access your forums the same way.

It is intended behavior however that it not function this way, as it's a security issue with cookies (as cookies should not spread over differant domain names, otherwise you could see even more issues).