Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
D
D Offline
In the redirect version of ultimatebb.cgi to redirect from Classic 6.72, I need to use the choice...

# 0 - Don't send a 301/302 header, my webserver does this. (Enable this if 301/302 results in an ISE or blank page)

... When this is selected, a 302 redirect results. I would like to change this to a 301 - does anyone know how I would do this?

UBB user since 1998
UBB.threads Developer
UBB.threads Developer
If you want to use a 302 redirect, change the redirect line:
$redirect = 302;

If you don't want to use one, you'll need to comment out the redirect codes (keep in mind i'm using an old version, and i am not sure if the latest build doesn't allow you to turn it off with a simple tick).

I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Do you need Forum Install or Upgrade Services?
Forums: A Gardeners Forum, Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
D
D Offline
Apparently the "0 - Don't send" choice is used when $redirect=301 (or 302) returns a blank page.

Since I get a blank page in the browser when I use that $redirect=301 setting, I am trying the "0" setting - "Don't send a 301/302 header, my webserver does this. (Enable this if 301/302 results in an ISE or blank page)" setting.

It works- there is a redirect and no blank page. The problem is that it is a 302 redirect which is not search engine friendly so I would prefer to use a 301.

What I need to know is how I go about making that change so using the "0"' setting results in a 301 redirect instead of a 302.

UBB user since 1998
UBB.threads Developer
UBB.threads Developer