Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 23
J
newbie
newbie
J Offline
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 23
I'd like to edit one of the template files to include a custom drop down but I'm having a bit of trouble modifying this to do what I want.

Code
<table width="100%" class="t_standard">
<tr>
<td class="tdheader" style="cursor: pointer" id="options_control" onclick="showHideMenu('options_control','options_popup')">
{$lang.FORUM_OPTIONS} <img style="vertical-align: middle" src="{$config.BASE_URL}/images/{$style_array.general}/toggle_open.gif" alt="" />
</td></tr>
</table>
</td>
</tr>
</table>

So I'm not sure where the array $lang.FORUM_OPTIONS is stored. Basically I want to create my own array of links.

Anyone done this or can help me out? If so, post your customer DropDown Menu code here. Thanks.

Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 3,837
I
Ian Offline
Carpal Tunnel
Carpal Tunnel
I Offline
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 3,837
\languages\xxxxxx\postlist.php

Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 23
J
newbie
newbie
J Offline
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 23
I guess not really what I wanted. Just interested in some code that I can insert in the template to do a dropdown menu with the same look and feel but where I can edit the links to my liking. Anyone done this? Copy/paste your code in this thread...

Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 16,299
Likes: 116
UBB.threads Developer
UBB.threads Developer
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 16,299
Likes: 116
You'd be better off with modification requests at UBBDev as most of the people over there specialize in tearing the UBB apart


I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Do you need Forum Install or Upgrade Services?
Forums: A Gardeners Forum, Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 23
J
newbie
newbie
J Offline
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 23
I looked and couldn't find anything. Hmm, I'll keep trying to figure it out. Shouldn't be too hard.

Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 23
J
newbie
newbie
J Offline
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 23
Ok got it working! I edited the activetopics template file because I decided I want this to be my homepage view. I wanted a dropdown that allowed users to post a new topic to whichever forum they wanted. Here's the code in case anyone else wants to do this.

Code
<!--BEGIN CUSTOM MENU-->

<div id="mymenu_popup" style="display: none;">
<table class="popup_menu">
<tr><td nowrap='nowrap' class="popup_menu_header">
Which Forum?
</td></tr>
<tr><td class="popup_menu_content">
<a href="{$config.BASE_URL}/ubbthreads.php?ubb=newpost&Board=8">Everything Audio</a>
</td></tr>
<tr><td class="popup_menu_content">
<a href="{$config.BASE_URL}/ubbthreads.php?ubb=newpost&Board=2">The Lounge</a>
</td></tr>
<tr><td class="popup_menu_content">
<a href="{$config.BASE_URL}/ubbthreads.php?ubb=newpost&Board=3">Buy and Sell</a>
</td></tr>
<tr><td class="popup_menu_content">
<a href="{$config.BASE_URL}/ubbthreads.php?ubb=newpost&Board=4">Tips and Tricks</a>
</td></tr>
<tr><td class="popup_menu_content">
<a href="{$config.BASE_URL}/ubbthreads.php?ubb=newpost&Board=5">Listen To My Recording</a>
</td></tr>
<tr><td class="popup_menu_content">
<a href="{$config.BASE_URL}/ubbthreads.php?ubb=newpost&Board=6">DA7 Support</a>
</td></tr>
</table></div>
<script type="text/javascript">registerPopup("mymenu_popup");</script>

<!--END CUSTOM MENU-->

Then insert this where you want the dropdown to appear

Code
<td width="13%" class="tdheader" style="cursor: pointer;" id="mymenu_control" onclick="showHideMenu('mymenu_control','mymenu_popup')">
<a href="javascript:void(0);"><img style="vertical-align: middle" src="{$config.BASE_URL}/images/{$style_array.general}/posticon.gif" alt="" border="0" /> New Topic</a>
<img style="vertical-align: middle" src="{$config.BASE_URL}/images/{$style_array.general}/toggle_open.gif" alt="" /> 
</td>

Wasn't too hard to figure out. You could do this anywhere.

You can see a working example here: http://www.audiotalkback.com

Upper left hand corner where it says New Topic on blue bar.


Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 3,837
I
Ian Offline
Carpal Tunnel
Carpal Tunnel
I Offline
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 3,837
Well done smile

Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,057
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,057
I would use that as a portal / home page.

As above well done wink


BOOM !! Version v7.6.1.1
People who inspire me Isaac ME Gizmo

Link Copied to Clipboard
ShoutChat
Comment Guidelines: Do post respectful and insightful comments. Don't flame, hate, spam.
Recent Topics
Bots
by Outdoorking - 04/13/2024 5:08 PM
Can you add html to language files?
by Baldeagle - 04/07/2024 2:41 PM
Do I need to rebuild my database?
by Baldeagle - 04/07/2024 2:58 AM
This is not a bug, but a suggestion
by Baldeagle - 04/05/2024 11:25 PM
Is UBB.threads still going?
by Aaron101 - 04/01/2022 8:18 AM
Who's Online Now
1 members (Geoff), 1,124 guests, and 219 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Random Gallery Image
Latest Gallery Images
Los Angeles
Los Angeles
by isaac, August 6
3D Creations
3D Creations
by JAISP, December 30
Artistic structures
Artistic structures
by isaac, August 29
Stones
Stones
by isaac, August 19
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 8.0.0
(Preview build 20240501)