Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
H
stranger
stranger
H Offline
Last week, I got an email from a long-time member saying they couldn't login. I pulled up their profile in the CP (running classic 6.7.2) by searching on their PDN, and found them, but their post count, login name, etc was all blank.

Looking at my /cgi-bin/ubb/Members directory, their profile file (000xxxxx.cgi) was empty...it showed 0 bytes.

How the heck does this happen?

Luckily, I'm in the middle of testing threads, looking to migrate over in Feb or March...so, I had their profile in threads, and manually recreated it in classic format.

Now, today, I see that 2 more profiles are showing up as 0 bytes.

Any ideas?

UBB.threads Developer
UBB.threads Developer
Likely it's just file curruption; it happens from time to time, reguardless of the OS or product.

I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Do you need Forum Install or Upgrade Services?
Forums: A Gardeners Forum, Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
H
stranger
stranger
H Offline
OK, thanks Gizmo.

Pooh-Bah
Pooh-Bah
Yes, you can manually re-create his profile in a text editor and re-upload - be sure you follow how the others are done exactly at least for the first 5 lines or so - those are critical information. Then you'll need to re-add his email and username back into the index files for each, in the same order as before... ask if/when you have more questions, I had to manually create maybe a hundred profiles at ubbdev when a bot crashed our site - now we have flood control in registrations because of my pain smile

- Allen
- ThreadsDev | PraiseCafe
H
stranger
stranger
H Offline
Allen,