Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#21548 05/22/2001 1:09 PM
Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
First thing I am a total newbie to Php and Mysql, and this is the error I am getting when I run the createtable.php via browser:
Creating the tables...

Seeya! No Database Selected: 1046Board table created...

Seeya! No Database Selected: 1046Posts table created...

Adding a master poll table...

Seeya! No Database Selected: 1046Adding the poll results table...

Seeya! No Database Selected: 1046Seeya! No Database Selected: 1046Last viewed table created...

Seeya! No Database Selected: 1046Category table created...

Seeya! No Database Selected: 1046Seeya! No Database Selected: 1046Users table created...

Seeya! No Database Selected: 1046Moderator table created...

Seeya! No Database Selected: 1046Messages table created...

Seeya! No Database Selected: 1046Banned table created...

Seeya! No Database Selected: 1046Groups table createdSeeya! No Database Selected: 1046Seeya! No Database Selected: 1046Seeya! No Database Selected: 1046Seeya! No Database Selected: 1046Basic groups created...

Seeya! No Database Selected: 1046Online table created...

Seeya! No Database Selected: 1046Subscribe table created...

Creating table for the address book...

Seeya! No Database Selected: 1046

All tables created.
I checked the config file and I believe everything is set up properly (not sure though).

This is the part of the config.inc file for you to have a look
<?

// ------------------------------------------------------------------------

// WWWThreads - PHP

// Wired Community Software

// Rick Baker (rbaker@wcsoft.net)

// (c) Copyright 1999-2000

// ------------------------------------------------------------------------
// ------------------

// Database Variables
// What type of database are you running

// current options

// mysql, (postgres, sybase are available but untested)

$config['dbtype'] = "mysql";
// Server hosting the database

$config['dbserver'] = "localhost";
// Username that has permissions to the database

$config['dbuser'] = "flashtribute";
// Password for the database

$config['dbpass'] = "fla926";
// Name of the database

$config['dbname'] = "db1.mdb";
// If you are using mysql do you want to use persistent connections?

// Note that on some hosted servers you may not be allowed to do this

// so contact your host before setting this to "on"

// Options: "on" - Use persistent: "off" - Don't use persistent

$config['persistent'] = "on";
My host told me I need a db like access or similar, is he right?
I looked all over the forums but have found no solution.

Can please someone help?

Thanks

Luke01

Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 9,242
Likes: 1
R
Former Developer
Former Developer
R Offline
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 9,242
Likes: 1
Someone can correct me if I am wrong but I don't think you can have a period in your database name. That would be the first thing I would try is create a database without the . and change the config.inc.php file to match and try again.

-------------------
Scream
<A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.wwwthreads.com>WWWThreads</A>

Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
I renamed the database without the . but still doesn't work, I am sure I am doing something wrong but dunno what...
Is my host write in telling that the database can be like an access database? or can it be a simple text file? I am new to it and I have no idea...
Thanks for your help

Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
What database engine are you using? MySQL, Access, or what?
If you're trying to use Access (which I gleaned from your .mdb name), then I believe you're SOL.
Hell, if this package was able to talk MS SQL, I'd have purchased it for another org that I am in charge of forums for...I *hate* ASP based forums...this is a nice engine.
If you have MySQL set up, you need to create a database and give permissions to the user you configured for the forums (mine defaulted to 'nobody').
bryan

Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
I am using Access because that's what my host told me to do, but I know the server runs Mysql and that's what I want to use, but the thing is probably that I am not sure on how do I create the database and my host doesn't really know what is talking about...

Thanks for helping, I guess I do need it...

Luke01

Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 9,242
Likes: 1
R
Former Developer
Former Developer
R Offline
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 9,242
Likes: 1
Ah, you do need to use mysql. Mysql is the only supported database at this time with the PHP version. I don't believe you will be able to create the database yourself on a hosted server. The host needs to just run the mysqladmin command to create the database for you and then mysql_setpermission to set the permissions. Fairly easy, and if they offer mysql then this should be a standard setup for them.

-------------------
Scream
<A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.wwwthreads.com>WWWThreads</A>

Anonymous
Unregistered
Anonymous
Unregistered
OK, sorted out!!!

The problem was obviusly the database name,username and password, once I clearly told my host what to do I solved the problem...

Thanks for your help

I really appreciate it

Luke01


Link Copied to Clipboard
ShoutChat
Comment Guidelines: Do post respectful and insightful comments. Don't flame, hate, spam.
Recent Topics
Bots
by Outdoorking - 04/13/2024 5:08 PM
Can you add html to language files?
by Baldeagle - 04/07/2024 2:41 PM
Do I need to rebuild my database?
by Baldeagle - 04/07/2024 2:58 AM
This is not a bug, but a suggestion
by Baldeagle - 04/05/2024 11:25 PM
Is UBB.threads still going?
by Aaron101 - 04/01/2022 8:18 AM
Who's Online Now
1 members (ahmed047), 272 guests, and 132 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Random Gallery Image
Latest Gallery Images
Los Angeles
Los Angeles
by isaac, August 6
3D Creations
3D Creations
by JAISP, December 30
Artistic structures
Artistic structures
by isaac, August 29
Stones
Stones
by isaac, August 19
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 8.0.0
(Preview build 20230217)