Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#237342 06/08/2010 1:32 PM
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 84
journeyman
OP Offline
journeyman
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 84
I have checked the preferences and it says they are on but when one is downloaded it will not show up in the members profile or on the board.

Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 6,347
Likes: 51
Offline
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 6,347
Likes: 51
One place to check is:
Control Panel » Display Options[-]Topic Display Options
Enable, Show User Avatars?
Next:
Control Panel » Site Permissions
Can upload an avatar , set to 1 for each desired group

Next:
Control Panel » Profile Settings
Avatar Upload Storage Directory: set a path.

And make sure you use the test link directly underneath.
Very important task.

In fact you need to set all of the fields in this page.


Blue Man Group
There is no such thing as stupid questions. Just stupid answers
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,940
SD Offline
Former Developer
Offline
Former Developer
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,940
not only test the directory for 777, but also ensure the http link is right..

i see peeps append a / at the end when it ain't needed..

2c

Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 84
journeyman
OP Offline
journeyman
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 84
Avatar Upload Storage Directory:
Full URL to Avatar Upload Storage Directory:

Reuben its not showing either one of these as having a directory.

When I hit the Test Button I get this:

Testing ''
Directory does not exist!
Test failed. Either the directory was not found or cannot be written to by the web server.

Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,940
SD Offline
Former Developer
Offline
Former Developer
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,940
bingo!

that's it..

you need to decide where you will store avatars first..

ie: images/avatars as an example..

then fill in the path to that dir and the http to that dir after making the dir writeable smile

then you are good to go smile

Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 6,347
Likes: 51
Offline
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 6,347
Likes: 51
Yep you need to create a directory or decide to use a existing one.
Before you make any entries.
And make the directory writable via permissions with your FTP program.
Either case you must type in both path fields in the control panel.
and If I recall you must use the test link because it writes a test file to that directory. Besides checking to see if the path is valid.
Then also you must set the file size limit.
And the pixel size.

Right now the avatar uploads are going to la la land.


Blue Man Group
There is no such thing as stupid questions. Just stupid answers
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 84
journeyman
OP Offline
journeyman
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 84
Everything I create it says its not there! Whats the Chmod to make it writeable? 755, 777 what?

Last edited by elijahone; 06/08/2010 3:15 PM.
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 6,347
Likes: 51
Offline
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 6,347
Likes: 51
That is your choice.
The existing avatar folder is the stock ones to choose from. Which you can add to also.
Personally from a file management perspective. I would make a unique folder so you know all the files in it were uploaded by members not you.
It could be a sub folder of the stock one.
avatars/uploads.


Blue Man Group
There is no such thing as stupid questions. Just stupid answers
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 84
journeyman
OP Offline
journeyman
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 84
It won't acknowledge anything I create independently or otherwise..

Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 6,347
Likes: 51
Offline
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 6,347
Likes: 51
Okay. Little more detail needed.
Going to be a little tough with out access.
You probably either have the path wrong or the file permissions are incorrect.
What is the url to the folder you wish to use.
www.whatsite.com/whatfolder.
Try to upload a file to the folder with your ftp program.
View it in your browser.



Blue Man Group
There is no such thing as stupid questions. Just stupid answers
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 9,242
R
Former Developer
Offline
Former Developer
R
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 9,242
Originally Posted by elijahone
It won't acknowledge anything I create independently or otherwise..

I'll PM you with the info that you'll need to get this working. Since I have access to the server you're on after all wink

Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 6,347
Likes: 51
Offline
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 6,347
Likes: 51
Well Rick has jumped in so anyway.
A good clue for future reference is goto:
Control Panel » DB, Paths & URLs
tab to the Paths&urls page.
That will give you a starting point for your paths.


Blue Man Group
There is no such thing as stupid questions. Just stupid answers
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 6,347
Likes: 51
Offline
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 6,347
Likes: 51
Looks to be working now.


Blue Man Group
There is no such thing as stupid questions. Just stupid answers
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 84
journeyman
OP Offline
journeyman
Joined: Jan 2010
Posts: 84
Originally Posted by Ruben
Well Rick has jumped in so anyway.
A good clue for future reference is goto:
Control Panel » DB, Paths & URLs
tab to the Paths&urls page.
That will give you a starting point for your paths.

Thanks Reuben appreciate your help there buddy.....


Link Copied to Clipboard
ShoutChat
Comment Guidelines: Do post respectful and insightful comments. Don't flame, hate, spam.
Recent Topics
Gobal announcement replies.
by Ruben - 04/09/2021 1:46 PM
Strange parse error in faq.php
by Baldeagle - 04/06/2021 1:12 AM
Upgrading to 7.7.5: Error:
by BB - 04/02/2021 10:48 AM
Does UBB 7.7.5 support webp images
by Ruben - 03/27/2021 12:00 PM
Does UBB support webp image. For insert image
by Ruben - 03/27/2021 9:49 AM
Who's Online Now
1 members (JAISP), 46 guests, and 84 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Random Gallery Image
Latest Gallery Images
gallery test
gallery test
by Mors, September 23
Los Angeles
Los Angeles
by isaac, August 6
3D Creations
3D Creations
by JAISP, December 30
Artistic structures
Artistic structures
by isaac, August 29
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5