Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Does v756p2 use InnoDB in MySQL? #250197 09/11/2012 12:38 PM
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 120
Andrew Bienhaus Offline OP
member
OP Offline
member
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 120
Hi,
seeking tuning advice for a migrated installation of threads and mySQL.

I can find articles on tuning mySQL on the web, but they of course talk about "it depends on whether you're using a log of InnoDB or MyISAM"....

So, what is threads usage pattern in this regard? (it is enabled, I know that)

Thanks...


...usin' da classic UBB, since the beginning of time.
wink
Express Hosting
Re: Does v756p2 use InnoDB in MySQL? [Re: Andrew Bienhaus] #250202 09/11/2012 2:29 PM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 15,830
Gizmo Offline
UBB.threads Developer
Offline
UBB.threads Developer
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 15,830
MyISAM


I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Need to Upgrade?
Forums: A Gardeners Forum Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
Re: Does v756p2 use InnoDB in MySQL? [Re: Andrew Bienhaus] #250227 09/11/2012 4:33 PM
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 120
Andrew Bienhaus Offline OP
member
OP Offline
member
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 120
thx


...usin' da classic UBB, since the beginning of time.
wink
Re: Does v756p2 use InnoDB in MySQL? [Re: Andrew Bienhaus] #251111 12/05/2012 3:48 AM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 673
BellaOnline Offline
old hand
Offline
old hand
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 673
I was just about to look into upgrading my tables from MyISAM to InnoDB to see if I could get things to run more quickly. I'm reading that forums should normally run more quickly in InnoDB.

Are you saying they're MyISAM by default, or that they *have* to stay MyISAM?


Lisa Shea, owner, BellaOnline.com
BellaOnline Website
BellaOnline Forums - UBB since Apr 2002 - 57,000 members / 800,000 posts
Re: Does v756p2 use InnoDB in MySQL? [Re: BellaOnline] #251115 12/05/2012 11:13 AM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 15,830
Gizmo Offline
UBB.threads Developer
Offline
UBB.threads Developer
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 15,830
Originally Posted by BellaOnline
Are you saying they're MyISAM by default, or that they *have* to stay MyISAM?
Default; I haven't tried converting them to InnoDB


I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Need to Upgrade?
Forums: A Gardeners Forum Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
Re: Does v756p2 use InnoDB in MySQL? [Re: Andrew Bienhaus] #251117 12/05/2012 11:58 AM
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 5,891
Ruben Offline
Offline
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 5,891
The issue currently I believe is the UBB installer and upgrade scripts.
It was one of the items that were to change to InnoDB with either version 8 or 7.6 I can't remember now.

So if we ever get a upgrade without the db change it may be something to place in your todo list
It is easy to spot in the scripts.




Blue Man Group
There is no such thing as stupid questions. Just stupid answers
Re: Does v756p2 use InnoDB in MySQL? [Re: Andrew Bienhaus] #251118 12/05/2012 2:40 PM
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 208
cascadeclimbers Offline
enthusiast
Offline
enthusiast
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 208
Please keep in mind you cannot do full text search on the posts and topics table with InnoDB.

What kind of hosting are you on and what does your stack look like?

There are several things you could do that would speed up your site.
- If you are serving a lot of static files use Nginx instead of Apache
- The best way to speed up MySQL is to get on faster hardware by upping your plan or switching hosts.
- Make sure you have expires set correctly in your htaccess file so that you are serving static files as little as possible.

Last edited by cascadeclimbers; 12/05/2012 2:45 PM.

Won't you take me to Funkytown?
Re: Does v756p2 use InnoDB in MySQL? [Re: Andrew Bienhaus] #251119 12/05/2012 9:13 PM
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 208
cascadeclimbers Offline
enthusiast
Offline
enthusiast
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 208
I just want to follow up in that mysql 5.6 has full text search with innodb tables, but it is not officially released. Based on what I know it is ready to go.


Won't you take me to Funkytown?
Re: Does v756p2 use InnoDB in MySQL? [Re: Andrew Bienhaus] #251283 12/13/2012 10:21 PM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 673
BellaOnline Offline
old hand
Offline
old hand
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 673
OK an update I have converted two of my forums to INNODB (except the one posts table) and they are running more quickly than before. So this seems to be a good thing to do.

I am on Windows / IIS. I have a dedicated server. I currently cannot afford to upgrade to a better / faster machine.


Lisa Shea, owner, BellaOnline.com
BellaOnline Website
BellaOnline Forums - UBB since Apr 2002 - 57,000 members / 800,000 posts
Re: Does v756p2 use InnoDB in MySQL? [Re: Andrew Bienhaus] #251284 12/13/2012 10:44 PM
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 208
cascadeclimbers Offline
enthusiast
Offline
enthusiast
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 208
Is your server colo or are you paying monthly? How much are you paying a month and what are the specs? There are so many awesome options out there.

To give you an example, I have a small $20 linode that runs a process at least 10x faster then on my dedicated with an 1/8 of the ram.

Last edited by cascadeclimbers; 12/13/2012 10:47 PM.

Won't you take me to Funkytown?
Re: Does v756p2 use InnoDB in MySQL? [Re: Andrew Bienhaus] #251289 12/13/2012 11:26 PM
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,945
SD Offline
Former Developer
Offline
Former Developer
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,945
InnoDB won't help at all for UBB..

just 2c

Re: Does v756p2 use InnoDB in MySQL? [Re: Andrew Bienhaus] #251373 12/14/2012 8:42 PM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 673
BellaOnline Offline
old hand
Offline
old hand
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 673
CascadeClimbers -

This server in question is a dedicated server which hosts 12 of my websites. It is an IIS system - I code in ASP. It has three hard drives so I can have my databases on one, my websites on the second, and my log files on the third to keep disk access quick. It has MS-SQL on it because several of my sites are content-based out of those databases. I also have MySQL and PHP on it as you can imagine.

I'm paying $99/mo for it.

Their response time is fantastic; their team is there 247 and responds within minutes to any of my queries. I'm using Immedion in North Carolina. I've used many hosting companies over the years and these guys have been by far the most reliable and helpful.

I am extremely resistant to any shared / cloud solution. I like having complete control over my server and being able to designate exactly what hard drives what data is on, to separate out drive access.

If there are reliable hosting companies offering this setup for under $99, I'd be happy to examine them!


Lisa Shea, owner, BellaOnline.com
BellaOnline Website
BellaOnline Forums - UBB since Apr 2002 - 57,000 members / 800,000 posts
Re: Does v756p2 use InnoDB in MySQL? [Re: Andrew Bienhaus] #251374 12/14/2012 8:44 PM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 673
BellaOnline Offline
old hand
Offline
old hand
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 673
SirDude -

I've converted three of my UBB forums over to InnoDB and in each case I saw a speed increase. I do think some of the features in InnoDB are helping streamline things. Maybe it only matters with forums of a certain size?


Lisa Shea, owner, BellaOnline.com
BellaOnline Website
BellaOnline Forums - UBB since Apr 2002 - 57,000 members / 800,000 posts
Re: Does v756p2 use InnoDB in MySQL? [Re: Andrew Bienhaus] #251377 12/14/2012 8:53 PM
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,945
SD Offline
Former Developer
Offline
Former Developer
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,945
#1 way to increase things is RAM, RAM, RAM smile

if you think InooDB helped you, then more power to you... i won't try to disuade you wink

$99 is hard to beat....

but, like i said, an 8GIG RAM server dedi is looking at $149 $129...

but to get 3 HDDs, you aren't gonna beat $99...

at some point, though, unless you prune old posts, the forum will grind to a halt and be unusable....

and you will find that it won't be a SLOW thing.. it'll suddenly go over a cliff and just be unresponsive..... you are getting close to that limit, if saving posts cause a huge delay already smile

Re: Does v756p2 use InnoDB in MySQL? [Re: Andrew Bienhaus] #251380 12/14/2012 9:22 PM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 15,830
Gizmo Offline
UBB.threads Developer
Offline
UBB.threads Developer
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 15,830
You can get 16gb at Interserver for about $139.00 clicky (for 169 they have 32gb), they have something called "quick servers" servers, you can get 4gb ram for $103 clicky


I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Need to Upgrade?
Forums: A Gardeners Forum Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
Re: Does v756p2 use InnoDB in MySQL? [Re: Andrew Bienhaus] #251504 12/17/2012 7:59 PM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 673
BellaOnline Offline
old hand
Offline
old hand
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 673
My current servers can't handle any more RAM. I would need to upgrade to completely new servers in order to then be able to ponder more RAM. I'm getting pricing quotes now, to see what my options are.

With my 2mb RAM and the upgrades I can now get performance like this on my lisashea server, looking at the main page -

Generated in 0.056 seconds in which 0.012 seconds were spent on a total of 9 queries. Zlib compression disabled.

So I consider that reasonable smile.


Lisa Shea, owner, BellaOnline.com
BellaOnline Website
BellaOnline Forums - UBB since Apr 2002 - 57,000 members / 800,000 posts
Re: Does v756p2 use InnoDB in MySQL? [Re: Andrew Bienhaus] #251506 12/17/2012 8:01 PM
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,945
SD Offline
Former Developer
Offline
Former Developer
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,945
at some point, speed of page load will drive peeps away, which translates to lost revenue..

google ranks you lower too...

so you can do the math and decide where the point of inflection is..

the bummer is.... it's HARD to move laugh

Re: Does v756p2 use InnoDB in MySQL? [Re: Andrew Bienhaus] #251606 12/21/2012 1:32 AM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 673
BellaOnline Offline
old hand
Offline
old hand
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 673
After my tuning, when I run my tests with Google I'm coming back as fast, and I'm earning #1 rankings. So I'm in good shape for now!


Lisa Shea, owner, BellaOnline.com
BellaOnline Website
BellaOnline Forums - UBB since Apr 2002 - 57,000 members / 800,000 posts

Additional Community Resources
UBB Developers
UBB Wiki
ShoutChat Box
Recent Topics
Forum Not Working after Cpanel upgrade.
by doug - 06/14/2019 2:35 PM
YouTube does not display?
by BlackMale - 06/09/2019 6:34 AM
Removing a redirect?
by Baldeagle - 06/01/2019 4:50 PM
Mobile Version Not so Friendly?
by PianoWorld - 05/28/2019 6:50 PM
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 52 guests, and 182 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Member Spotlight
PianoWorld
PianoWorld
Parsonsfield, Maine (U.S.)
Posts: 97
Joined: October 2008
Show All Member Profiles 
Forum Statistics
Forums35
Topics35,302
Posts192,515
Members12,169
Most Online978
Jun 24th, 2007
Random Gallery Image
Latest Photos
Land Rocks
Cozy Places
Trees
Retreats
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.2
(Snapshot build 20190614)