Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#254357 12/14/2013 5:58 PM
old hand
old hand
I'm used to the occasional spam registration attempts, but it seems in the last two weeks I've been getting a ton. Anyone else?

Here's what my queue currently looks like:

[Linked Image from ctfisherman.com]

old hand
old hand
I have blocked anything form 163.com chinese spammers often...

http://clubadventist.com/forums

No longer following the carrot
UBB.threads Developer
UBB.threads Developer
Yeah, times like this one needs to utilize the EMail/IP ban types (which now adays isn't much of an issue). I have a mod at UBBDev that changes the 7.5.7 StopForumSpam modification (and v7.5.8 has this stock) that make it so that ip's are looked up on signup.

I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Do you need Forum Install or Upgrade Services?
Forums: A Gardeners Forum, Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
We've been getting a ton of them too.
But the ones we get are multiple IP addresses and domains.

I could add each IP to the ban list, but I'm always a little concerned I might end
up shutting out someone legit.

Founder/Host
Piano World
https://PianoWorld.com
Home of the world famous Piano Forums.
http://forum.PianoWorld.com
88,000+ registered members
Over 2.5 million posts, and growing...
UBB.threads Developer
UBB.threads Developer