Site Links
Home
Features
Documentation
Pricing & Order
Members Area
Support Options
UBBDev.com
UBBWiki.com
Who's Online Now
2 registered members (Gizmo, mmkk), 74 guests, and 419 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Member Spotlight
Morgan
Morgan
Sweden
Posts: 518
Joined: June 2006
Show All Member Profiles 
Top Posters(30 Days)
Gizmo 16
FREAK 11
M4TT 11
Ruben 6
mmkk 5
isaac 4
Latest Photos
Chinese Buddhist temple.
My buddha beads.
Rendered Walls
Multi-Screen wallpaper
Stockholm Metro
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 2 of 2 1 2
Re: customizable islands [Re: sundance] #256465
02/12/15 04:47 PM
02/12/15 04:47 PM
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 92
S
sundance Offline OP
journeyman
sundance  Offline OP
journeyman
S
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 92
I will now need to go back according to this,
folders need to be chmodded 777, all files 666.
I did not change the custom folder but did all of the portal_box_php files to 777

re ran the permission check and all is fine now,

but if the php files are to be at 666 i will need to go back and redo them.


Express Hosting
Express Hosting "We are the official hosting company of UBB.threads. Ask us about our free migration services to migrate your UBB.threads installation."
Re: customizable islands [Re: sundance] #256466
02/12/15 04:48 PM
02/12/15 04:48 PM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,704
Liverpool : England : UK
Mark S Offline
Mark S  Offline

Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,704
Liverpool : England : UK
So permissions were changed on the server at some point.

Looks like you have it sorted now.


Version v7.5.8
People who inspire me Gizmo ID242 SD
Its been a long road. . . .to be waiting
Re: customizable islands [Re: sundance] #256467
02/12/15 04:53 PM
02/12/15 04:53 PM
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 92
S
sundance Offline OP
journeyman
sundance  Offline OP
journeyman
S
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 92
Yes they were, and this is how,
I moved the files with FTP to my pc and then reloaded them back on the server. the transfer must have auto changed them.

Re: customizable islands [Re: sundance] #256468
02/12/15 04:54 PM
02/12/15 04:54 PM
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 92
S
sundance Offline OP
journeyman
sundance  Offline OP
journeyman
S
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 92
Now I am back to my original problem of I cant remember how to make these show after the first or 2nd post.

Re: customizable islands [Re: sundance] #256469
02/12/15 04:55 PM
02/12/15 04:55 PM
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 92
S
sundance Offline OP
journeyman
sundance  Offline OP
journeyman
S
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 92
onoes onoes onoes onoes

Re: customizable islands [Re: Mark S] #256471
02/12/15 04:57 PM
02/12/15 04:57 PM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,704
Liverpool : England : UK
Mark S Offline
Mark S  Offline

Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,704
Liverpool : England : UK
Control panel
Originally Posted by Mark S


Forum Permissions > Must view Ad Island

see what you have set there so who can see them.

Unless you give us as link to a section we can see with the blank we cant help as i can see your advert or am i missing something.


As Admin its always is iffy I dont know why.
So log in as a user when testing or log out if you can see the forum you need.


Version v7.5.8
People who inspire me Gizmo ID242 SD
Its been a long road. . . .to be waiting
Re: customizable islands [Re: sundance] #256472
02/12/15 05:00 PM
02/12/15 05:00 PM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,704
Liverpool : England : UK
Mark S Offline
Mark S  Offline

Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,704
Liverpool : England : UK
Forum Settings : Custom Inserts : Custom island insert.

Its a drop list so you can choose your custom island from a drop box.


Version v7.5.8
People who inspire me Gizmo ID242 SD
Its been a long road. . . .to be waiting
Re: customizable islands [Re: sundance] #256473
02/12/15 05:01 PM
02/12/15 05:01 PM
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 92
S
sundance Offline OP
journeyman
sundance  Offline OP
journeyman
S
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 92
Lets think of me as dumb dumb #1 and need it in step 1 through whatever?

Providing I have the correct code in all custom islands how do I make it show between threads?

Re: customizable islands [Re: sundance] #256474
02/12/15 05:02 PM
02/12/15 05:02 PM
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 92
S
sundance Offline OP
journeyman
sundance  Offline OP
journeyman
S
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 92
Its a drop list so you can choose your custom island from a drop box.

this is what I have been doing but there is a no show,

there is not another area over riding this is there?

Re: customizable islands [Re: Mark S] #256475
02/12/15 05:03 PM
02/12/15 05:03 PM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,704
Liverpool : England : UK
Mark S Offline
Mark S  Offline

Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,704
Liverpool : England : UK
Forum Permissions > Must view Ad Island

see what you have set there so who can see them.

Dumb#1 Reply lol


Version v7.5.8
People who inspire me Gizmo ID242 SD
Its been a long road. . . .to be waiting
Re: customizable islands [Re: sundance] #256476
02/12/15 05:04 PM
02/12/15 05:04 PM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,704
Liverpool : England : UK
Mark S Offline
Mark S  Offline

Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,704
Liverpool : England : UK
Originally Posted by Mark S
Forum Settings : Custom Inserts : Custom island insert.

Its a drop list so you can choose your custom island from a drop box.
Originally Posted by sundance
Its a drop list so you can choose your custom island from a drop box.

this is what I have been doing but there is a no show,

there is not another area over riding this is there?


No but log out and back in to be sure


Version v7.5.8
People who inspire me Gizmo ID242 SD
Its been a long road. . . .to be waiting
Re: customizable islands [Re: sundance] #256477
02/12/15 05:05 PM
02/12/15 05:05 PM
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 92
S
sundance Offline OP
journeyman
sundance  Offline OP
journeyman
S
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 92
even after I turn it on and check the source code on the page it is not showing the custom island code

Re: customizable islands [Re: sundance] #256478
02/12/15 05:07 PM
02/12/15 05:07 PM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,704
Liverpool : England : UK
Mark S Offline
Mark S  Offline

Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,704
Liverpool : England : UK
Forum Settings : Select your Forum : Custom Inserts : Custom island insert.


Version v7.5.8
People who inspire me Gizmo ID242 SD
Its been a long road. . . .to be waiting
Re: customizable islands [Re: Mark S] #256479
02/12/15 05:07 PM
02/12/15 05:07 PM
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 92
S
sundance Offline OP
journeyman
sundance  Offline OP
journeyman
S
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 92


No but log out and back in to be sure[/quote]

tried it and nope

Re: customizable islands [Re: sundance] #256480
02/12/15 05:08 PM
02/12/15 05:08 PM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,704
Liverpool : England : UK
Mark S Offline
Mark S  Offline

Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,704
Liverpool : England : UK
Originally Posted by Mark S
Forum Permissions > Must view Ad Island

see what you have set there so who can see them.


Main Control panel
Click on custom islands be sure there all there !!


Version v7.5.8
People who inspire me Gizmo ID242 SD
Its been a long road. . . .to be waiting
Re: customizable islands [Re: sundance] #256481
02/12/15 05:10 PM
02/12/15 05:10 PM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,704
Liverpool : England : UK
Mark S Offline
Mark S  Offline

Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,704
Liverpool : England : UK
I just Know Ruben is laffin at me lol


Version v7.5.8
People who inspire me Gizmo ID242 SD
Its been a long road. . . .to be waiting
Re: customizable islands [Re: sundance] #256482
02/12/15 05:14 PM
02/12/15 05:14 PM
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 92
S
sundance Offline OP
journeyman
sundance  Offline OP
journeyman
S
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 92
I thank you for your help Mark,

I do have 30 and am checking each one to make sure the code is code and I am adding Always Build to it just in case I have one in more than one area or want to in the future

Re: customizable islands [Re: sundance] #256483
02/12/15 05:22 PM
02/12/15 05:22 PM
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 92
S
sundance Offline OP
journeyman
sundance  Offline OP
journeyman
S
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 92
OK I checked each one and all are good to go.
How this started was yesterday I put bad code in and got an error upon trying to save the file so i eminently reversed the back to good code and it saved.

Then I noticed that none of the custom were showing in between threads.

I can make them show anywhere else on the site just not between the post.

Re: customizable islands [Re: sundance] #256484
02/12/15 05:24 PM
02/12/15 05:24 PM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,704
Liverpool : England : UK
Mark S Offline
Mark S  Offline

Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,704
Liverpool : England : UK
Ok Sundance

If there still not showing in the drop box.

1. Check permissions again via the control panel "Permissions Check"
2. Regardless if you allow certain groups to see or not see the ads they should still appear in the drop box your attempting show them.
3. I dont have <?php php?> tags in my custom island code.
4. when you get the islands to show in the drop box then think about who you want to show them too.
5. Modify the permissions for "View Ads" this is the section between 1st n second posts.

I'm over in the UK its 22:22 and i have a love life lol
I'm sure one of the others will guide you.

An After thought ?
Go to custom island 1
Take the code out and replace with

PHP Code
/* PHP CODE HERE, IF NECESSARY */

/* DO NOT CHANGE THE LINE BELOW */
$body = <<<EOF

Hello I am a Test

EOF;
/* DO NOT CHANGE THE LINE ABOVE */ 


6. Check your drop boxes again.

Thats it for now.
What ever it is, its an oversight and can be fixed with the attention to detail.
Its something stupid now.



Version v7.5.8
People who inspire me Gizmo ID242 SD
Its been a long road. . . .to be waiting
Re: customizable islands [Re: sundance] #256485
02/12/15 05:24 PM
02/12/15 05:24 PM
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 92
S
sundance Offline OP
journeyman
sundance  Offline OP
journeyman
S
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 92
I am at such a loss with it, that this is why I was wondering other than just choosing it tin the forum setup is there another place in the control panel that needs to be turned on or ?

Re: customizable islands [Re: sundance] #256486
02/12/15 05:26 PM
02/12/15 05:26 PM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,704
Liverpool : England : UK
Mark S Offline
Mark S  Offline

Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,704
Liverpool : England : UK
give us a link to where you mean because i looked earlier and i can see ads between 1st and second post


Version v7.5.8
People who inspire me Gizmo ID242 SD
Its been a long road. . . .to be waiting
Re: customizable islands [Re: sundance] #256487
02/12/15 05:27 PM
02/12/15 05:27 PM
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 92
S
sundance Offline OP
journeyman
sundance  Offline OP
journeyman
S
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 92
OK I just loaded this,
/* PHP CODE HERE, IF NECESSARY */

/* DO NOT CHANGE THE LINE BELOW */
$body = <<<EOF

Hello I am a Test

EOF;
/* DO NOT CHANGE THE LINE ABOVE */

into this forum and no show. should pop after 1st post
http://sundance-communications.com/...omdial_Small_Office_Lite_-_Fe#Post584457

Re: customizable islands [Re: Mark S] #256488
02/12/15 05:28 PM
02/12/15 05:28 PM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,704
Liverpool : England : UK
Mark S Offline
Mark S  Offline

Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,704
Liverpool : England : UK
Originally Posted by Mark S


Ive just visited this forum Click me and i can see and advert on the left side. Rotating images.



Has an add in under the words "Signup for our Top Telecom Sites Search!"


Version v7.5.8
People who inspire me Gizmo ID242 SD
Its been a long road. . . .to be waiting
Re: customizable islands [Re: sundance] #256489
02/12/15 05:29 PM
02/12/15 05:29 PM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,704
Liverpool : England : UK
Mark S Offline
Mark S  Offline

Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,704
Liverpool : England : UK
Originally Posted by sundance
OK I just loaded this,
/* PHP CODE HERE, IF NECESSARY */

/* DO NOT CHANGE THE LINE BELOW */
$body = <<<EOF

Hello I am a Test

EOF;
/* DO NOT CHANGE THE LINE ABOVE */

into this forum and no show. should pop after 1st post
http://sundance-communications.com/...omdial_Small_Office_Lite_-_Fe#Post584457


clear your cache

I get a search box


Version v7.5.8
People who inspire me Gizmo ID242 SD
Its been a long road. . . .to be waiting
Re: customizable islands [Re: sundance] #256490
02/12/15 05:30 PM
02/12/15 05:30 PM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,704
Liverpool : England : UK
Mark S Offline
Mark S  Offline

Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,704
Liverpool : England : UK
i see this from my link

Attached Files xxhelp.jpg

Version v7.5.8
People who inspire me Gizmo ID242 SD
Its been a long road. . . .to be waiting
Re: customizable islands [Re: sundance] #256491
02/12/15 05:32 PM
02/12/15 05:32 PM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,704
Liverpool : England : UK
Mark S Offline
Mark S  Offline

Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,704
Liverpool : England : UK
from your link the post above was my link

Attached Files xxhelp.jpg
Last edited by Mark S; 02/12/15 05:33 PM.

Version v7.5.8
People who inspire me Gizmo ID242 SD
Its been a long road. . . .to be waiting
Re: customizable islands [Re: sundance] #256492
02/12/15 05:33 PM
02/12/15 05:33 PM
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 92
S
sundance Offline OP
journeyman
sundance  Offline OP
journeyman
S
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 92
You are correct my man, this has been a chrome issue this whole time I just tried IE and see it just fine F......................................<

Re: customizable islands [Re: sundance] #256493
02/12/15 05:35 PM
02/12/15 05:35 PM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,704
Liverpool : England : UK
Mark S Offline
Mark S  Offline

Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,704
Liverpool : England : UK
I'm using chrome.
But do you have 20,00000 tabs open lol

close chrome and start with no tabs.


its happened to me in the past with firefox but don't open many tabs in IE so it just works.

When strange things happen close all tabs.

Last edited by Mark S; 02/12/15 05:36 PM.

Version v7.5.8
People who inspire me Gizmo ID242 SD
Its been a long road. . . .to be waiting
Re: customizable islands [Re: sundance] #256494
02/12/15 05:36 PM
02/12/15 05:36 PM
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 92
S
sundance Offline OP
journeyman
sundance  Offline OP
journeyman
S
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 92
I am going to a temp to hang myself now, Mike out, thx Mark sry for the run around!

Re: customizable islands [Re: sundance] #256495
02/12/15 05:38 PM
02/12/15 05:38 PM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,704
Liverpool : England : UK
Mark S Offline
Mark S  Offline

Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,704
Liverpool : England : UK
Mark takes off his "I was needed Badge" lol


Version v7.5.8
People who inspire me Gizmo ID242 SD
Its been a long road. . . .to be waiting
Re: customizable islands [Re: sundance] #256496
02/12/15 05:53 PM
02/12/15 05:53 PM
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 92
S
sundance Offline OP
journeyman
sundance  Offline OP
journeyman
S
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 92
Mark,
just an FYI, the only window I had open in chrome was our site, and this site for the support, so I am guessing this UBB version was conflicting with our older version and took control or something like that. As soon as I closed chrome here it started to load on my side.

That was a fun one!

Re: customizable islands [Re: sundance] #256497
02/12/15 06:30 PM
02/12/15 06:30 PM
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 92
S
sundance Offline OP
journeyman
sundance  Offline OP
journeyman
S
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 92
I put chrome to the test to see if the UBB was the causing it and found this,

I cleared all my cache/browsing in chrome and rebooted pc, upon re entering the site I can see the custom island, after I make one change to any of the islands they all go away. In IE not so, I can still see them just fine. Chrome, oh boy this is a new one for me.

Re: customizable islands [Re: sundance] #256500
02/13/15 03:33 AM
02/13/15 03:33 AM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,704
Liverpool : England : UK
Mark S Offline
Mark S  Offline

Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,704
Liverpool : England : UK
Chrome has never given that much trouble as its my browser of choice.
But Since i had a crazy experience with Firefox a few years ago, it go me checking in other browsers, before i admit my self to the local nut house.

You may want to consider re-installing chrome or making sure your on the latest update.

Gald you got there in the end.


Version v7.5.8
People who inspire me Gizmo ID242 SD
Its been a long road. . . .to be waiting
Re: customizable islands [Re: sundance] #256503
02/13/15 04:52 PM
02/13/15 04:52 PM
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 5,825
Lutz,FL
Ruben Offline

Ruben  Offline


Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 5,825
Lutz,FL
Let me back step a little bit.
First If you found that file permissions failed in the ubb control panel.
The very first item is to make sure they all are correct now.
And pass.
Second because you had bad file permissions I would open the ubb control panel and select the clear cache option, but don't submit yet.
Then use your ftp program and navigate to the cache folder(not custom builders)
and delete all the files except for the html files.
Then switch back to the ubb control panel and run the clear cache.
That will force all the cache files to be rebuilt as well as knowing that all of them were.
The cache folder holds all of your island scripts and if some are out of sync they won't update correctly after you make changes to them.


Blue Man Group


There is no such thing as stupid questions. Just stupid answers
Page 2 of 2 1 2

Shout Box
Today's Birthdays
No Birthdays
Recent Topics
Users Unable to Upload Avatar
by M4TT. 12/13/17 08:51 AM
Shout Box Sound Effect
by M4TT. 11/29/17 08:28 PM
Ad island
by TGCsanderson. 11/25/17 06:41 PM
Taking to long to connect to DB
by AstroCat. 11/24/17 12:34 PM
Forum Statistics
Forums36
Topics35,015
Posts190,536
Members12,045
Most Online978
Jun 24th, 2007
Random Image
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.6.1
(Snapshot build 20171106)