Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#3475 09/18/2006 9:27 PM
D
D Offline
I've installed beta 1, 2, 3, and 5 (skipped 4). Beta 5 is the first time I've tried to bring over my real boards and members. Before, I just picked a few boards and had only myself as a member. I've been importing now for 15 1/2 hours, and it is on forum 10 of 82. How long should I expect an import to take? I know the next question is how many osts do I have. Not sure, but is there some sort of statistic per hour or something you can give?

Where I am going w/ this is that this seems like it could take days, and I will surely want the true release. Will I start all over? How will that work?

Thanks for any info.

UBB.threads Developer
UBB.threads Developer
Depends on a lot actually...
Ammount of Members
Ammount of Posts
If your server is heavily in use, if your server is lagged
etc.

I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Do you need Forum Install or Upgrade Services?
Forums: A Gardeners Forum, Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
R
Former Developer
Former Developer
R Offline
The only problem with importing now is if you're not going live with it. Any posts made on your live forum between now and the time you do go live would be lost and you'd have to reimport from scratch.

Importing all of the posts is the longest step, especially from UBB.classic because there is so much it has to do in order to get a clean import. I'm not sure on an average number of posts per hour as it depends on the server speed and how busy it is during the import. One of the guys that have done a classic import might be able to give a better idea.

UBB.threads Developer
UBB.threads Developer