Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
In my classic board, there are hundreds of messages where the writer has posted a link to another thread. Each of these links contains .../cgi-bin/ubb/ultimatebb.cgi...

I assume I would be hoping too much that in importing the old board, the links will not be changed. Right?

So might there be a way to search all messages, and convert the cgi_bin string into a ...ubbthreads.php/ubb... link that would work? Will each thread come across with the same thread number?

UBB.threads Developer
UBB.threads Developer
The links will be changed, it's a new product.

There are however redirectors, which will allow old links to forward to new locations.

I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Do you need Forum Install or Upgrade Services?
Forums: A Gardeners Forum, Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Originally Posted by Gizmo
The links will be changed, it's a new product.
I take that to mean the old link contained within the text will NOT be changed, and the actual URL of the imported message will be different ...right?

There are however redirectors, which will allow old links to forward to new locations.
So that means clicking on the old link in the imported message will do a two-step hop and actually find the imported message in the new message board?

I hope that the cgi-bin area will be left untouched, because I am hoping to do a Trial, then Final conversion. I need to be sure the old board will not be affected by installing and importing it to Threads.

If the redirect is going to work, does that mean the actual message numbers will not be changed during the import?

UBB.threads Developer