Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
IE7 Gripes (Venting....) #174514 01/19/2007 5:26 PM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,640
jgeoff Offline OP
Pooh-Bah
OP Offline
Pooh-Bah
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,640
I'd use more colorful language posting this on my own forum, but what on earth were they thinking??

First off, totally disregarding the rules of usability for IE7 is appalling enough -- but to not allow you to customize it yourself on top of it??

1) They turned off the Menu Bar by default. You know, the standard menu bar that appears in EVERY OTHER application on the planet with File, Edit, View, etc? Okay, good, you CAN turn it back on -- but you cannot move it on the top where it belongs???? (Yeah, my toolbars are unlocked)

2) For the life of me I couldn't understand why there was only the Back and Forward buttons -- no Refresh or Stop or anything. So I go to add them back in - but they're not there! Then I noticed them...... they're now to the RIGHT of the address bar! WHY? Just to be different and appear "new"? And worst of all... I cannot move them back to where I'm accustomed to having them! Nor can I remove the stupid Add to Favorites buttons. If I wanted those buttons, I'd've added them!

3) They put some of the stuff from the old #2 (they used to call it "Standard Buttons" in IE6 -- apparently they're not "Standard" any more) into a new toolbar. Instead of placing it where it belongs, they place it on the tabbed-browsing line -- AND YOU CAN'T MOVE IT. So if you want to add the Print icon, it'd take up even more room on the tab toolbar. WHY?


Why does M$ feel the need to make their software more difficult by having users try to RE-LEARN behaviors they were already accustomed to?? Trying to look "new and different"? If you wanna look "new and different" why don't you try to STOP stealing features from other browsers and TRULY come up with something NEW and DIFFERENT -- WITHOUT the need to screw up normal human behavior by forcing people to RELEARN where everything is!!!!

Now get a load of this %$@% from M$'s own site! (Edited down; bold added for emphasis)

Quote:

Windows Internet Explorer 7 Toolbar: It's Your Option

Options, the world is all about options. .... Internet Explorer 7 has a monitor full of choices that you can make to customize the browser experience to suit your personal tastes. [WRONG!]

Traditionalists, please note that Microsoft understands that you might like your standard toolbar the way it used to be. To return it to its pre-Internet Explorer 7 form, select Classic Menu, and the classic menu appears [WRONG! That's not WHERE it used to be! And it doesn't even say "Classic Menu" any more.]

It's simple to arrange the toolbars however you like. [WRONG!]

After displaying the Classic Menu, click the ridge on the left side of the toolbar and drag it to the desired location. You can place the Classic Menu above, beside, or below the Links bar. [...But you can't put it where ever you "desire"!]

Click Add or Remove Commands to display the Customize Toolbar window . Adjusting the toolbar is easy. [LMAO!] The box on the left displays all the toolbar button possibilities ([Both of them?]) .... To remove a button, select it in the right box and click Remove. [Yeah, except for buttons it doesn't want you to remove!]

So which buttons are best on the standard toolbar? ["Standard"? LOL!] There is no correct answer; it depends on personal preference and how you use Internet Explorer 7. [LOL!]

The final option
[b]Options.
No doubt life is all about options and when those options concern the new Internet Explorer 7 toolbar, they're all good.[/b] [WHAT?? LMAO!]


mad sick crazy mad sick crazy

That said... if I'm missing something and sound like a crazy fool, please let me know. laugh




GangsterBB.NET (Ver. 7.6.1.1)
2007 Content Rulez Contest - Hon Mention
UBB.classic 6.7.2 - RIP
Browsers: Chrome, Firefox, & Safari (iPhone); No IE, ever!
Re: IE7 Gripes (Venting....) [Re: jgeoff] #174517 01/19/2007 5:42 PM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,640
jgeoff Offline OP
Pooh-Bah
OP Offline
Pooh-Bah
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,640

Well, that was quick! I haven't had IE7 installed more than a couple days and already got my first crash trying to close the program! ntdll.dll -- from viewing websites, nothing else running. Nice one! :/


GangsterBB.NET (Ver. 7.6.1.1)
2007 Content Rulez Contest - Hon Mention
UBB.classic 6.7.2 - RIP
Browsers: Chrome, Firefox, & Safari (iPhone); No IE, ever!
Re: IE7 Gripes (Venting....) [Re: jgeoff] #174545 01/19/2007 8:18 PM
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,090
ntdoc Offline
Carpal Tunnel
Offline
Carpal Tunnel
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,090
LOL - Funny story but sad it's true and Vista marches on with all the changes "that studies show" - yeah right quit studying 16 guys that thing candy os is cool. Try studying actual people that have to work using Windows and not "tweaking" Windows.

I hear that probably about the most. WHY DID THEY CHANGE IT

Only their lies can say for sure.


Re: IE7 Gripes (Venting....) [Re: ntdoc] #174547 01/19/2007 8:21 PM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 15,852
Gizmo Offline
UBB.threads Developer
Offline
UBB.threads Developer
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 15,852
I use Windows Classic in XP; I certainly hope Vista has this option too lol...

I agree with your grypes about IE7 btw; it's insanely ugly...

I feel, if you want a CandyOS, you should install a window manager and customize, i feel that a default install of your os should nto be candied, it's disgusting and absurd.


I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Need to Upgrade?
Forums: A Gardeners Forum Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
Re: IE7 Gripes (Venting....) [Re: Gizmo] #174549 01/19/2007 8:25 PM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 15,852
Gizmo Offline
UBB.threads Developer
Offline
UBB.threads Developer
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 15,852
btw, how do you re-enable the toolbar (file, edit, etc)


I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Need to Upgrade?
Forums: A Gardeners Forum Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
Re: IE7 Gripes (Venting....) [Re: jgeoff] #174553 01/19/2007 8:27 PM
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,062
Mark S Offline
Offline
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 4,062
Ive never had a problem with it?
No dll errors since day one.

I can see your not happy and that's why we
have other options out there.

Only kwerk which i find in tabs, not sure if its the
same with other software,

but my quick links goes right across the menu area,
as i have it active, when i use more than the first tab.

Funny, at my uncles
this happened and in his quick links as a favorite was
Sex tips for the over 60's

That made my day lol...

Apart from that mate i just go with the flow
and blame it on the big boys and the hold
they have always had on us.

OMG with the release of vista around the courner
i guess you could be in for a bad month.


BOOM !! Version v7.6.1.1
People who inspire me Isaac ME Gizmo
Re: IE7 Gripes (Venting....) [Re: Gizmo] #174554 01/19/2007 8:27 PM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,640
jgeoff Offline OP
Pooh-Bah
OP Offline
Pooh-Bah
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,640
Originally Posted by Gizmo
I use Windows Classic in XP; I certainly hope Vista has this option too lol...


Yeah, me, too -- solid blue desktop, classic menus, ZERO "effects"

Originally Posted by Gizmo
btw, how do you re-enable the toolbar (file, edit, etc)


It's the "Menu Bar" when you right-click in there -- look where it puts it!!



GangsterBB.NET (Ver. 7.6.1.1)
2007 Content Rulez Contest - Hon Mention
UBB.classic 6.7.2 - RIP
Browsers: Chrome, Firefox, & Safari (iPhone); No IE, ever!
Re: IE7 Gripes (Venting....) [Re: jgeoff] #174558 01/19/2007 8:30 PM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 3,837
Ian Offline
Carpal Tunnel
Offline
Carpal Tunnel
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 3,837
Had no major issues with IE7 - but it is awkward to find items - for example where the heck is history???

Re: IE7 Gripes (Venting....) [Re: Ian] #174561 01/19/2007 8:32 PM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 15,852
Gizmo Offline
UBB.threads Developer
Offline
UBB.threads Developer
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 15,852
when i right click in the roolbar it asks if i want to close ie lol...


I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Need to Upgrade?
Forums: A Gardeners Forum Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
Re: IE7 Gripes (Venting....) [Re: Mark S] #174562 01/19/2007 8:34 PM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,640
jgeoff Offline OP
Pooh-Bah
OP Offline
Pooh-Bah
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,640
Originally Posted by Mark S
I can see your not happy and that's why we
have other options out there.


Darn straight! I use Firefox for my general browsing. I installed IE7 on my new second system for testing. Ewwww!

-----

And NOW what?? Yahoo Toolbar doesn't default to showing when you close/reopen your browser?? You have to enable it manually every time???????? mad

Jeez! ALL I just did was open IE7, enabled Yahoo toolbar, moved (yet again) my Links toolbar on the same line as Yahoo, hit Exit... and it crashed again.

Microsoft: "This problem was caused by Yahoo Toolbar." LMAO!! Why take any responsibility??!!

Okay, let's see... "A newer version of Yahoo! Toolbar is available for download that will address this problem." --- What, it's gonna uninstall IE7 for me?? laugh laugh laugh

(PS - That update did the trick I think wink )


GangsterBB.NET (Ver. 7.6.1.1)
2007 Content Rulez Contest - Hon Mention
UBB.classic 6.7.2 - RIP
Browsers: Chrome, Firefox, & Safari (iPhone); No IE, ever!
Re: IE7 Gripes (Venting....) [Re: jgeoff] #174566 01/19/2007 8:37 PM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 15,852
Gizmo Offline
UBB.threads Developer
Offline
UBB.threads Developer
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 15,852
I want to uninstall IE7 :x


I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Need to Upgrade?
Forums: A Gardeners Forum Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
Re: IE7 Gripes (Venting....) [Re: Gizmo] #174569 01/19/2007 8:39 PM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,640
jgeoff Offline OP
Pooh-Bah
OP Offline
Pooh-Bah
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,640
Originally Posted by Gizmo
when i right click in the roolbar it asks if i want to close ie lol...


Intuition tells me yes, that's right! laugh

Right-click on the tab bar, or in the new toolbar area to the right of the tab bar, and you'll get the Menu Bar / Links / Status Bar stuff you can enable/disable



GangsterBB.NET (Ver. 7.6.1.1)
2007 Content Rulez Contest - Hon Mention
UBB.classic 6.7.2 - RIP
Browsers: Chrome, Firefox, & Safari (iPhone); No IE, ever!
Re: IE7 Gripes (Venting....) [Re: jgeoff] #174571 01/19/2007 8:41 PM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 15,852
Gizmo Offline
UBB.threads Developer
Offline
UBB.threads Developer
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 15,852
I would really love to do that, but I don't have a tab bar?


I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Need to Upgrade?
Forums: A Gardeners Forum Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
Re: IE7 Gripes (Venting....) [Re: jgeoff] #174574 01/19/2007 8:45 PM
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,090
ntdoc Offline
Carpal Tunnel
Offline
Carpal Tunnel
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,090
But not classic like they say


Geoff, my guess is you probably have been running Windows a long time there and it has a bunch of BHO and %temp% files and invalid registry entries that all add up to a poor experience. A good cleaning should remove all those errors.

I've been supporting Windows since 3.1 and many techs don't know how to massage Windows and keep it running smoothly.


.

Re: IE7 Gripes (Venting....) [Re: Gizmo] #174575 01/19/2007 8:46 PM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,640
jgeoff Offline OP
Pooh-Bah
OP Offline
Pooh-Bah
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,640
Originally Posted by Gizmo
I would really love to do that, but I don't have a tab bar?


Maybe you should Enable Tabbed Browsing then wink

Okay, I just disabled Tabbed Browsing -- I have the bottom toolbar with Favorite/Home/Tools/RSS/etc -- right-clicking there gives me the submenu, too.


GangsterBB.NET (Ver. 7.6.1.1)
2007 Content Rulez Contest - Hon Mention
UBB.classic 6.7.2 - RIP
Browsers: Chrome, Firefox, & Safari (iPhone); No IE, ever!
Re: IE7 Gripes (Venting....) [Re: jgeoff] #174576 01/19/2007 8:47 PM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 15,852
Gizmo Offline
UBB.threads Developer
Offline
UBB.threads Developer
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 15,852
The box "Enable Tabbed Browsing" is selected; i still have no tab bar lol


I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Need to Upgrade?
Forums: A Gardeners Forum Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
Re: IE7 Gripes (Venting....) [Re: ntdoc] #174578 01/19/2007 8:50 PM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,640
jgeoff Offline OP
Pooh-Bah
OP Offline
Pooh-Bah
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,640
Originally Posted by ntdoc
Geoff, my guess is you probably have been running Windows a long time there and ... A good cleaning should remove all those errors.

I've been supporting Windows since 3.1 and many techs don't know how to massage Windows and keep it running smoothly.



Considering I just bought this computer and re-formatted and re-installed Windows last week, I think it should work properly. Even Windows isn't THAT bad! laugh (I think it did crash from the Yahoo Toolbar wink )

Been using Windows since 3.1 -- which was better than 95, let me tell you! 98SE improved on it, but XP has been pretty good in general compared to the rest. wink



GangsterBB.NET (Ver. 7.6.1.1)
2007 Content Rulez Contest - Hon Mention
UBB.classic 6.7.2 - RIP
Browsers: Chrome, Firefox, & Safari (iPhone); No IE, ever!
Re: IE7 Gripes (Venting....) [Re: Gizmo] #174579 01/19/2007 8:51 PM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,640
jgeoff Offline OP
Pooh-Bah
OP Offline
Pooh-Bah
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,640
Originally Posted by Gizmo
The box "Enable Tabbed Browsing" is selected; i still have no tab bar lol


Did you just select it, or was it always selected? If you just turned it on, you'll have to close/reopen the browser...


GangsterBB.NET (Ver. 7.6.1.1)
2007 Content Rulez Contest - Hon Mention
UBB.classic 6.7.2 - RIP
Browsers: Chrome, Firefox, & Safari (iPhone); No IE, ever!
Re: IE7 Gripes (Venting....) [Re: ntdoc] #174580 01/19/2007 8:54 PM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,640
jgeoff Offline OP
Pooh-Bah
OP Offline
Pooh-Bah
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,640
Originally Posted by ntdoc
many techs don't know how to massage Windows and keep it running smoothly.


I massage Windows fairly well, but still refuse the happy ending. laugh


GangsterBB.NET (Ver. 7.6.1.1)
2007 Content Rulez Contest - Hon Mention
UBB.classic 6.7.2 - RIP
Browsers: Chrome, Firefox, & Safari (iPhone); No IE, ever!
Re: IE7 Gripes (Venting....) [Re: jgeoff] #174581 01/19/2007 8:54 PM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 15,852
Gizmo Offline
UBB.threads Developer
Offline
UBB.threads Developer
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 15,852
it was on, so i hit ok and got back to my desktop, reopened ie and it wasn't there; so i closed ie, re-enabled it, hit ok, went back to desktop, reopened ie, still no tab bar lol...

Comeon, i can support *nix, utilities that i've never used, windows, all adobe products, etc, but i can't figure out wth is wrong with IE7 lol


I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Need to Upgrade?
Forums: A Gardeners Forum Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
Re: IE7 Gripes (Venting....) [Re: jgeoff] #174582 01/19/2007 8:57 PM
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,090
ntdoc Offline
Carpal Tunnel
Offline
Carpal Tunnel
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,090
Originally Posted by jgeoff
Originally Posted by ntdoc
many techs don't know how to massage Windows and keep it running smoothly.


I massage Windows fairly well, but still refuse the happy ending. laugh



ROFLMAO

Re: IE7 Gripes (Venting....) [Re: Gizmo] #174583 01/19/2007 8:57 PM
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,090
ntdoc Offline
Carpal Tunnel
Offline
Carpal Tunnel
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,090
Maybe you need a new install of Windows Gizmo wink


Geoff will be right over grin

Re: IE7 Gripes (Venting....) [Re: Gizmo] #174584 01/19/2007 8:57 PM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,640
jgeoff Offline OP
Pooh-Bah
OP Offline
Pooh-Bah
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,640

I hope this isn't a case of PBCAK... laugh

No idea, man... maybe the Doc can fix it for ya lol


GangsterBB.NET (Ver. 7.6.1.1)
2007 Content Rulez Contest - Hon Mention
UBB.classic 6.7.2 - RIP
Browsers: Chrome, Firefox, & Safari (iPhone); No IE, ever!
Re: IE7 Gripes (Venting....) [Re: jgeoff] #174589 01/19/2007 9:01 PM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 15,852
Gizmo Offline
UBB.threads Developer
Offline
UBB.threads Developer
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 15,852
lol, you're the PEBKAC wink...

And if I have to reformat my computer again, I'm so not putting Windows anywhere near it wink... Considering I can run the few Windows utilites that I actually use throught Wine I don't see why I haven't done it yet...

Though i haven't tested running The Realm Online through Wine yet though...

BTW, I have a copy of Windows 1x, 3.1, and 3.11 on a floppy somewhere lol; the last few pc's i have built though don't even have a floppy drive... I even have W95B on a set of floppies.


I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Need to Upgrade?
Forums: A Gardeners Forum Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
Re: IE7 Gripes (Venting....) [Re: Gizmo] #174591 01/19/2007 9:07 PM
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,090
ntdoc Offline
Carpal Tunnel
Offline
Carpal Tunnel
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,090
Quote:
BTW, I have a copy of Windows 1x, 3.1, and 3.11 on a floppy somewhere


Not unless you zipped them up. 1.x fit on a 360 5.25 disk
3.1 and 3.11 fit on 3 1.44 disks.

Nice thing about 1.x is it actually runs from the floppy just fine.

The fastest modern version of Windows was 95B as it fixed things that 95,A did wrong, and before MS starting adding a ton of hand holding code into the mix. 95B smokes all the 9x versions for speed. 98, 98SE, ME just started adding too much code that watched to make sure you as the user didn't do something dumb just like 2000,XP,2003,Vista do. If you could remove all that type of hand holding code XP would FLY but NOOOOOO.... have to make sure it works with every piece of poorly coded software out there.

.

Re: IE7 Gripes (Venting....) [Re: jgeoff] #174593 01/19/2007 9:12 PM
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,090
ntdoc Offline
Carpal Tunnel
Offline
Carpal Tunnel
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,090

Last edited by ntdoc; 01/19/2007 9:13 PM.
Re: IE7 Gripes (Venting....) [Re: ntdoc] #174594 01/19/2007 9:26 PM
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,090
ntdoc Offline
Carpal Tunnel
Offline
Carpal Tunnel
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,090
Code
Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Toolbar\WebBrowser]

"ITBar7Position"=dword:00000001



.

Re: IE7 Gripes (Venting....) [Re: ntdoc] #174596 01/19/2007 9:34 PM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 15,852
Gizmo Offline
UBB.threads Developer
Offline
UBB.threads Developer
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 15,852
lol i meant i had them all on floppies :smack nt: wink


I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Need to Upgrade?
Forums: A Gardeners Forum Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
Re: IE7 Gripes (Venting....) [Re: Gizmo] #174598 01/19/2007 9:37 PM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 15,852
Gizmo Offline
UBB.threads Developer
Offline
UBB.threads Developer
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 15,852
lol that set my googlebar to the top


I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Need to Upgrade?
Forums: A Gardeners Forum Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
Re: IE7 Gripes (Venting....) [Re: Gizmo] #174599 01/19/2007 9:42 PM
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,090
ntdoc Offline
Carpal Tunnel
Offline
Carpal Tunnel
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,090
Actually there is a known issue with Google Toolbar.

I'd remove the Google toolbar and other toolbars, then go into advanced->General->Browsing history->Settings->View Objects

Then check properties of these BHO and remove any you don't need or think you might be having trouble with and re-install them if you still want them.

See if that helps.

.

Re: IE7 Gripes (Venting....) [Re: ntdoc] #174603 01/19/2007 10:18 PM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 15,852
Gizmo Offline
UBB.threads Developer
Offline
UBB.threads Developer
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 15,852
'eh I'll just continue not using it :x


I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Need to Upgrade?
Forums: A Gardeners Forum Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
Re: IE7 Gripes (Venting....) [Re: Gizmo] #174608 01/19/2007 11:49 PM
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,090
ntdoc Offline
Carpal Tunnel
Offline
Carpal Tunnel
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,090
Otay Panky

Re: IE7 Gripes (Venting....) [Re: ntdoc] #174610 01/20/2007 1:04 AM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,640
jgeoff Offline OP
Pooh-Bah
OP Offline
Pooh-Bah
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,640

Thanks for that reg edit earlier - gonna try it tomorrow! cool



GangsterBB.NET (Ver. 7.6.1.1)
2007 Content Rulez Contest - Hon Mention
UBB.classic 6.7.2 - RIP
Browsers: Chrome, Firefox, & Safari (iPhone); No IE, ever!
Re: IE7 Gripes (Venting....) [Re: jgeoff] #174691 01/20/2007 7:36 PM
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 184
Stephen G Offline
member
Offline
member
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 184
It works

:-)

Re: IE7 Gripes (Venting....) [Re: Stephen G] #174693 01/20/2007 7:40 PM
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,090
ntdoc Offline
Carpal Tunnel
Offline
Carpal Tunnel
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,090
Originally Posted by Stephen_H-B
It works

:-)



What works? There is a lot of complaining and discussion in this topic.

Re: IE7 Gripes (Venting....) [Re: ntdoc] #174694 01/20/2007 7:54 PM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,344
gliderdad Offline
veteran
Offline
veteran
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,344
Ok so how do I stop it from questioning if I want to run a script every time I try to lets say enter a image here? I thought I fixed this once but looks like it didn't take. Oh and it rearranges my tool bar when it wants even when it's locked, lol

Re: IE7 Gripes (Venting....) [Re: ntdoc] #174697 01/20/2007 8:25 PM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,640
jgeoff Offline OP
Pooh-Bah
OP Offline
Pooh-Bah
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,640
Originally Posted by ntdoc
Originally Posted by Stephen_H-B
It works
What works?


The reg edit, of course. Yeah, it works - thanks! cool

...But now my Yahoo toolbar is above the address bar... POS IE7 laugh
The one time IE7 doesn't move things around I suppose... laugh

Last edited by jgeoff; 01/20/2007 8:28 PM.

GangsterBB.NET (Ver. 7.6.1.1)
2007 Content Rulez Contest - Hon Mention
UBB.classic 6.7.2 - RIP
Browsers: Chrome, Firefox, & Safari (iPhone); No IE, ever!
Re: IE7 Gripes (Venting....) [Re: gliderdad] #174709 01/21/2007 12:03 AM
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,090
ntdoc Offline
Carpal Tunnel
Offline
Carpal Tunnel
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,090
Originally Posted by gliderdad
Ok so how do I stop it from questioning if I want to run a script every time I try to lets say enter a image here? I thought I fixed this once but looks like it didn't take. Oh and it rearranges my tool bar when it wants even when it's locked, lol


From what I read the Google Toolbar is the reason for the toolbars moving around.
Uninstall Google and Yahoo toolbars.
Close IE run the fix, start IE and check if okay.

If you really want this other pieces of junk toolbars then go download their latest versions and install them after following the removal and fix steps.

For the Script errors go here:
Tools->Internet Options->Advanced
Disable Script debugging (Internet Explorer)
Disable Script debugging (Other)

.

Re: IE7 Gripes (Venting....) [Re: ntdoc] #174712 01/21/2007 12:09 AM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,344
gliderdad Offline
veteran
Offline
veteran
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,344
Thanks, I know I have done that a time or two before. I have roboform and that is the thing the IE moves position on a lot, thats all. Its really no big deal

Re: IE7 Gripes (Venting....) [Re: gliderdad] #174713 01/21/2007 12:30 AM
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,090
ntdoc Offline
Carpal Tunnel
Offline
Carpal Tunnel
Joined: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,090
Yeah I looked at RoboForm but just didn't really give it the time to setup correctly so don't use it.

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Forum Search
ShoutChat Box
Comment Guidelines: Do post respectful and insightful comments. Don't flame, hate, spam.
Recent Topics
Mobile app?
by Baldeagle - 12/06/2019 9:32 PM
How do you change Text Line spacing?
by jorb - 11/23/2019 12:14 AM
What happened to FAQ or Forum Help
by Ruben - 11/20/2019 11:58 AM
Search feature encountering an Error message
by jorb - 11/20/2019 12:06 AM
Followed List v7.7.2 Question
by Ruben - 11/12/2019 12:22 PM
Who's Online Now
0 registered members (), 61 guests, and 372 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Random Gallery Image
Latest Gallery Images
Artistic structures
Artistic structures
by isaac, August 29
Stones
Stones
by isaac, August 19
Amusing Terain Scenics
Amusing Terain Scenics
by isaac, August 19
Sky places
Sky places
by isaac, August 19
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.4
(Snapshot build 20191023)