Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Gallery islands #218486 10/28/2008 3:08 PM
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 98
phoebe Offline OP
member
OP Offline
member
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 98
Dont' see this so it must be me frown

How do you create a Gallery island like on this page in the left column? I am not using the Portal page feature.

I've done the following:

*created a "Gallery Forum" named "member photos" in a category called "Gallery" and both are enabled.

*Configured the Gallery under "Gallery Settings"

*Selected "Gallery Island #1" to show in the left column under "Portal Layout" and all the other things I selected there do show in the left column, just not the Gallery island.

*In "Gallery Islands" I hit Edit and type in the name: Member Photos" selecting Gallery > Member Photos(G) and hit "update gallery island" and get this message:

"It appears that you have reached an update page without submitting any data."

This last thing seems to be the problem....eh?

While I'm at it, the size for an image in the Forum permissions says "8m" is the maximum. I've set it at "2000" because the that is the default in the other gallery settings in the cp. I can't upload any of my low res images. What does everyone type into that field? "8m" "8" "8 mb" or "2000" whatevers?

Last edited by phoebe; 10/28/2008 3:31 PM.
Re: Gallery islands [Re: phoebe] #218487 10/28/2008 3:46 PM
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 5,998
Ruben Offline
Offline
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 5,998
I don't know about the error but before I ask about the island I might ask does the category "gallery" and the forum "member photos" show at all?
I visited your site and I don't see them unless you are using a test site.


Blue Man Group
There is no such thing as stupid questions. Just stupid answers
Re: Gallery islands [Re: Ruben] #218490 10/28/2008 4:16 PM
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 98
phoebe Offline OP
member
OP Offline
member
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 98
They work at the new test site and I was able to upload a picture after setting the "bytes" to the same as avatar bytes setting. This bytes setting stuff should be more clear in the admin guide or cp. I thought maybe I was getting the error "It appears that you have reached an update page without submitting any data" because i didn't have a post in the Gallery forum..but that's not the way it should work either.

Everything else at this test site has been going very well...just all these settings are a challenge. I had to go live with the buggy forum...just hope I can make a smooth transition to the new when I've got all my ducks in a row.

I re-installed with a new database etc. to try and avoid the bug that appears to vex my first try and be more patient with the modifications I'm making to the cp and styles.

I would advise anyone transitioning from Classic to Threads to be very patient with going live. The install goes very smoothly but there are a lot of differences to setting things up correctly in the cp.

Re: Gallery islands [Re: phoebe] #218491 10/28/2008 4:22 PM
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 5,998
Ruben Offline
Offline
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 5,998
So does that mean the island is working now?
The gallery forum shows a upload also?
I feel your pain. I upgraded from classic 16 months ago and will be going to v7.4 this weekend


Blue Man Group
There is no such thing as stupid questions. Just stupid answers
Re: Gallery islands [Re: Ruben] #218513 10/29/2008 11:40 AM
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 98
phoebe Offline OP
member
OP Offline
member
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 98
No, still getting that message and I wonder if it has something to do with the import of my classic files. I found one post about that message here but do not want to chance corrupting my test site by editing any files: "[7.4] RSS Feeds Not Working, Can't Create New Ones" where editing a file was recommended by blaaskaak in this way:
Code
<input type="hidden" name="feed" value="$feed" />
 change to <input type="hidden" name="valid_post" value="1" /> in /templates/default/admin/edit_multi_rss.tmpl 

Re: Gallery islands [Re: phoebe] #218516 10/29/2008 11:58 AM
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 98
phoebe Offline OP
member
OP Offline
member
Joined: Oct 2006
Posts: 98
ok...found the fix in the bug section. actually had to edit a file template/admin/editgalleryisland.tmpl


Forum Search
ShoutChat Box
Comment Guidelines: Do post respectful and insightful comments. Don't flame, hate, spam.
Recent Topics
Mobile app?
by Baldeagle - 12/06/2019 9:32 PM
How do you change Text Line spacing?
by jorb - 11/23/2019 12:14 AM
What happened to FAQ or Forum Help
by Ruben - 11/20/2019 11:58 AM
Search feature encountering an Error message
by jorb - 11/20/2019 12:06 AM
Followed List v7.7.2 Question
by Ruben - 11/12/2019 12:22 PM
Who's Online Now
1 registered members (JAISP), 71 guests, and 400 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Random Gallery Image
Latest Gallery Images
Artistic structures
Artistic structures
by isaac, August 29
Stones
Stones
by isaac, August 19
Amusing Terain Scenics
Amusing Terain Scenics
by isaac, August 19
Sky places
Sky places
by isaac, August 19
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.4
(Snapshot build 20191023)