Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
windows 7 #230263 10/25/2009 8:39 AM
Joined: May 2008
Posts: 735
Bad Frog Offline OP
old hand
OP Offline
old hand
Joined: May 2008
Posts: 735

I had originally set aside the funds to buy a retail full version of 7 professional, but decided to go with home premium instead, I don't need the remote desktop feature, I have had it for years with XP Pro and never used it.

I decided on the upgrade package to save even more money, i figured I would deal with the hassle of having to install XP again first, so I ended up grabbing the family upgrade pack.

for shits and grins, I ran the upgrade installed on this machine that I have been running hte release candidate on for the past couple of months; now, MS said that you couldn't upgrade that way, you had to have a fully activated version of XP or Vista... well, they were wrong! I installed my upgrade, copied my user folder back over and only had to reinstall a couple of things, and was back in business in no time!

so, onto the laptop. older dell inspiron 9100. the DVD drive wont read the DVDS! says i need a drive than can read UDF format... wth? so I pull an IDE DVD drive out of a box and connect it via a USB adapter and install it that way. that was a little slower, but it worked. my laptop is running faster and boots faster than it ever did with XP

now the third machine, my old AMD box.
you would think that they would have SATA drivers built into the damn installer by now, but no.. I had to load drivers still. it took 2 attempts to install windows 7 on that machine because of driver issues and hard drives vanishing. that box also has an older soundblaster card in it (audigy 2zs) and there are no drivers for it that work apparently (not officially anyway, I found some though)

I have been getting my home network sorted out again, setting up my new "home groups" (special network shares for windows 7 machines only), been getting all my software installed again on each machine and testing everything.

for someone who hates change, I am happy with this.


"No matter where you go, there you are."
"If you can't do something smart, Do something right"
"There are three kinds of people in the world, those who can count, and those who can't"
Re: windows 7 [Re: Bad Frog] #230279 10/25/2009 6:42 PM
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,275
JAISP Online Tapedshut
Veteran
Online Tapedshut
Veteran
Joined: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,275
Why does XP Home show the ability to remote desktop but don't actually work?

Re: windows 7 [Re: JAISP] #230283 10/25/2009 8:42 PM
Joined: May 2008
Posts: 735
Bad Frog Offline OP
old hand
OP Offline
old hand
Joined: May 2008
Posts: 735
you can remote out, just can't host a remote connection, hosting is pro/business versions.


"No matter where you go, there you are."
"If you can't do something smart, Do something right"
"There are three kinds of people in the world, those who can count, and those who can't"
Re: windows 7 [Re: peterjones] #231600 12/05/2009 3:37 AM
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,236
ScriptKeeper Offline
veteran
Offline
veteran
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,236
I couldn't wait to get my hands on 7. I hated Vista from day one. 7 has made a big difference. My PC isn't choked up any more, it's not constantly indexing and it is possible to run more that 2 apps at once with a dual core CPU. Vista didn't seem to think so. smile

Re: windows 7 [Re: ScriptKeeper] #231601 12/05/2009 3:44 AM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 15,846
Gizmo Online Tapedshut
UBB.threads Developer
Online Tapedshut
UBB.threads Developer
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 15,846
Same here SK; totally a noticeable differance using W7 Ultimate on a quad core with 4gb ram...


I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Need to Upgrade?
Forums: A Gardeners Forum Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
Re: windows 7 [Re: Gizmo] #231607 12/05/2009 8:52 AM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 391
GregK Offline
addict
Offline
addict
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 391
Now, how many years did it take Microsoft the finally get it right? LOL. At least I didn't have to pay out all that money for 7 as it came on my new laptops. So far I've not had any problems with it.


Greg AKA Virgil Earp at the OK Corral
Tombstone, AZ
Re: windows 7 [Re: GregK] #231608 12/05/2009 9:20 AM
Joined: May 2008
Posts: 735
Bad Frog Offline OP
old hand
OP Offline
old hand
Joined: May 2008
Posts: 735
why run ultimate? it just has the multi language suppport...


"No matter where you go, there you are."
"If you can't do something smart, Do something right"
"There are three kinds of people in the world, those who can count, and those who can't"
Re: windows 7 [Re: Bad Frog] #231614 12/05/2009 9:49 AM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 391
GregK Offline
addict
Offline
addict
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 391
Because of the added security, ease in connecting to networks enhanced backup features and the ability to run programs in the Windows XP mode if needed.


Greg AKA Virgil Earp at the OK Corral
Tombstone, AZ
Re: windows 7 [Re: GregK] #231615 12/05/2009 9:56 AM
Joined: May 2008
Posts: 735
Bad Frog Offline OP
old hand
OP Offline
old hand
Joined: May 2008
Posts: 735
you can do that in the business release., except for bitlocker,
how much software do you have that needs to be run in an XP virtual machine?
backing up data to your home network, sychtoys is free and works awesome.

just boils down to spending a lot more money than needed for an OS.
bitlocker should have been included in all releases I think.


"No matter where you go, there you are."
"If you can't do something smart, Do something right"
"There are three kinds of people in the world, those who can count, and those who can't"
Re: windows 7 [Re: Bad Frog] #231630 12/05/2009 11:34 AM
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,938
SD Offline
Former Developer
Offline
Former Developer
Joined: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,938
7 ultimate 64bit here and lurvin it!! i have only 1 program requiring XP mode and it actually works BETTER.. reason being, it is a VPN client which used to change the computer's IP and i was essentially slaved to that one task while it was running..

now, with XP mode only the XP mode program has the IP and the rest of my computer (i run 3 monitors) are free to do what they want..

/me happy wink

Re: windows 7 [Re: Bad Frog] #231699 12/05/2009 5:06 PM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 15,846
Gizmo Online Tapedshut
UBB.threads Developer
Online Tapedshut
UBB.threads Developer
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 15,846
Originally Posted by GregK
Now, how many years did it take Microsoft the finally get it right? LOL. At least I didn't have to pay out all that money for 7 as it came on my new laptops. So far I've not had any problems with it.
Well, I still see some avenue's for improvement, but they've done better than in the past.

Originally Posted by Bad Frog
why run ultimate? it just has the multi language suppport...
Ultimate gives you more support with remote connections; plus I used an OEM.



I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Need to Upgrade?
Forums: A Gardeners Forum Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
Re: windows 7 [Re: Gizmo] #231700 12/05/2009 5:07 PM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 3,837
Ian Offline
Carpal Tunnel
Offline
Carpal Tunnel
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 3,837
Don't forget if you have children, you can get educational versions for a low price smile

Re: windows 7 [Re: SD] #232086 12/12/2009 11:26 PM
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 8
skylines Offline
stranger
Offline
stranger
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 8
I just got myself a Windows 7 and so far I love it. So much faster than vista!

Re: windows 7 [Re: SD] #232091 12/13/2009 10:24 AM
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 1
jodevizes Offline
stranger
Offline
stranger
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 1
Can 7 open jpegs created with a Mac ? I am trying to lift some old photos of my old Mac but XP says cannot read this format.

Re: windows 7 [Re: jodevizes] #232092 12/13/2009 10:33 AM
Joined: May 2008
Posts: 735
Bad Frog Offline OP
old hand
OP Offline
old hand
Joined: May 2008
Posts: 735
Originally Posted by jodevizes
Can 7 open jpegs created with a Mac ? I am trying to lift some old photos of my old Mac but XP says cannot read this format.


jpg is a universal file format, non-OS dependent...


"No matter where you go, there you are."
"If you can't do something smart, Do something right"
"There are three kinds of people in the world, those who can count, and those who can't"
Re: windows 7 [Re: Bad Frog] #232093 12/13/2009 1:01 PM
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,236
ScriptKeeper Offline
veteran
Offline
veteran
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,236
Just change the .jpeg extension to .jpg wink

Re: windows 7 [Re: SD] #232094 12/13/2009 4:39 PM
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 1
thefallsman Offline
stranger
Offline
stranger
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 1
Windows 7 is wayy better is than vista i have home premium 64 and i like it a lot more than vista.

Re: windows 7 [Re: thefallsman] #232095 12/13/2009 4:49 PM
Joined: May 2008
Posts: 735
Bad Frog Offline OP
old hand
OP Offline
old hand
Joined: May 2008
Posts: 735
Originally Posted by thefallsman
Windows 7 is wayy better is than vista i have home premium 64 and i like it a lot more than vista.


home premium?


"No matter where you go, there you are."
"If you can't do something smart, Do something right"
"There are three kinds of people in the world, those who can count, and those who can't"
Re: windows 7 [Re: Bad Frog] #232106 12/14/2009 6:19 AM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 391
GregK Offline
addict
Offline
addict
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 391
Originally Posted by Bad Frog
Originally Posted by thefallsman
Windows 7 is wayy better is than vista i have home premium 64 and i like it a lot more than vista.


home premium?


Yes, Windows7 Home Premium. This is the version usually installed on new Pc's and laptops these days.


Greg AKA Virgil Earp at the OK Corral
Tombstone, AZ
Re: windows 7 [Re: GregK] #232115 12/14/2009 8:35 AM
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,236
ScriptKeeper Offline
veteran
Offline
veteran
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,236
I tell you what I have noticed (and maybe someone can solve this for me) whenever I change something in a folder it doesn't update until I refresh the folder view.

Example: If I add something to the folder (while viewing the folder contents) it doesn't appear until it's refreshed. If I change the name of a file and click Enter, again, the file name displays the original until it's refreshed.

It gets very confusing. crazy

Re: windows 7 [Re: thefallsman] #232121 12/14/2009 9:07 AM
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 8
skylines Offline
stranger
Offline
stranger
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 8
A lot better indeed and I am in love with it.

Re: windows 7 [Re: GregK] #232123 12/14/2009 9:11 AM
Joined: May 2008
Posts: 735
Bad Frog Offline OP
old hand
OP Offline
old hand
Joined: May 2008
Posts: 735
Originally Posted by GregK
Originally Posted by Bad Frog
Originally Posted by thefallsman
Windows 7 is wayy better is than vista i have home premium 64 and i like it a lot more than vista.


home premium?


Yes, Windows7 Home Premium. This is the version usually installed on new Pc's and laptops these days.


I thought it was just "home", my bad


"No matter where you go, there you are."
"If you can't do something smart, Do something right"
"There are three kinds of people in the world, those who can count, and those who can't"
Re: windows 7 [Re: Bad Frog] #232124 12/14/2009 9:47 AM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 391
GregK Offline
addict
Offline
addict
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 391
I thought the same thing frog, until I too another look at the releases.


Greg AKA Virgil Earp at the OK Corral
Tombstone, AZ
Re: windows 7 [Re: GregK] #232308 12/17/2009 10:58 PM
Joined: May 2008
Posts: 735
Bad Frog Offline OP
old hand
OP Offline
old hand
Joined: May 2008
Posts: 735
ok, here is something I don't like...

I right click on an HTM/HTML file, select edit, and it pops up in Word, I don't want it to do that.. I want it to open in notepad when I select edit.

thoughts?


"No matter where you go, there you are."
"If you can't do something smart, Do something right"
"There are three kinds of people in the world, those who can count, and those who can't"
Re: windows 7 [Re: Bad Frog] #232309 12/17/2009 11:26 PM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 391
GregK Offline
addict
Offline
addict
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 391
For some reason it's associating HTML files with Word as your editor. You should be able to associate those files with notepad or whatever other editor you might want to use.


Attached Files htmleditor.jpg

Greg AKA Virgil Earp at the OK Corral
Tombstone, AZ
Re: windows 7 [Re: GregK] #232314 12/18/2009 7:29 AM
Joined: May 2008
Posts: 735
Bad Frog Offline OP
old hand
OP Offline
old hand
Joined: May 2008
Posts: 735
I realize that, the problem is, how do I change the association?
I have figured out how to change what it opens with, but not what it edits with


"No matter where you go, there you are."
"If you can't do something smart, Do something right"
"There are three kinds of people in the world, those who can count, and those who can't"
Re: windows 7 [Re: SD] #232474 12/20/2009 6:53 PM
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 9
grin Offline
stranger
Offline
stranger
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 9
I prefer Xp than seven and vista a lot of my friends prefer Xp too maybe I guess their just used to it then.

Re: windows 7 [Re: SD] #232564 12/22/2009 8:05 AM
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 15
Philip Offline
stranger
Offline
stranger
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 15
I just got Windows seven for both of my laptops and yeah it's good alright, but I'm not sure it's worth the price they charge... I mean it's not that different from vista and I don't think it's as good as Mac. Mabye if I fiddle around with it some more I'll find it of better use...

Re: windows 7 [Re: Bad Frog] #232664 12/26/2009 6:38 AM
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 1
bbailey15 Offline
stranger
Offline
stranger
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 1
So, BadFrog,

Would you then recommend staying with XP till it finally dies or upgrading to Win 7 Home Premium? This is something I've been considering for a while now.

Thanks

Re: windows 7 [Re: Bad Frog] #232673 12/26/2009 8:46 AM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 391
GregK Offline
addict
Offline
addict
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 391
Originally Posted by Bad Frog
I realize that, the problem is, how do I change the association?
I have figured out how to change what it opens with, but not what it edits with


I guess I'm not sure what you're trying to do. For instance, I have php files set to open with a php editor which then allows me to make any changes needed. All I did was click on the php file, which then brings up a window with a list of installed programs you can then set to always run for that file. If it's not on the list, there is an option to browse for it. When found, it autodefaults to "Always open with this program". Once set I just click on the file I want to edit and my editor of choice runs and loads the file.


Greg AKA Virgil Earp at the OK Corral
Tombstone, AZ
Re: windows 7 [Re: GregK] #232680 12/26/2009 1:45 PM
Joined: May 2008
Posts: 735
Bad Frog Offline OP
old hand
OP Offline
old hand
Joined: May 2008
Posts: 735
Originally Posted by GregK
Originally Posted by Bad Frog
I realize that, the problem is, how do I change the association?
I have figured out how to change what it opens with, but not what it edits with


I guess I'm not sure what you're trying to do. For instance, I have php files set to open with a php editor which then allows me to make any changes needed. All I did was click on the php file, which then brings up a window with a list of installed programs you can then set to always run for that file. If it's not on the list, there is an option to browse for it. When found, it autodefaults to "Always open with this program". Once set I just click on the file I want to edit and my editor of choice runs and loads the file.


certain files in win7 have separate open and edit associations. when right click on an html file, they are associated with my browser for open, but there is also an edit option, but when I select edit, it opens them in MS word to edit them.


"No matter where you go, there you are."
"If you can't do something smart, Do something right"
"There are three kinds of people in the world, those who can count, and those who can't"
Re: windows 7 [Re: bbailey15] #232681 12/26/2009 1:46 PM
Joined: May 2008
Posts: 735
Bad Frog Offline OP
old hand
OP Offline
old hand
Joined: May 2008
Posts: 735
Originally Posted by bbailey15
So, BadFrog,

Would you then recommend staying with XP till it finally dies or upgrading to Win 7 Home Premium? This is something I've been considering for a while now.

Thanks


if XP covers all your needs, stay with it. I wanted a 64 bit OS to handle more memory and take full advantage of my CPU


"No matter where you go, there you are."
"If you can't do something smart, Do something right"
"There are three kinds of people in the world, those who can count, and those who can't"
Re: windows 7 [Re: Bad Frog] #232685 12/26/2009 2:14 PM
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 391
GregK Offline
addict
Offline
addict
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 391
I'd agree with Frog here, if XP is doing everything you need, stick with it. But, if you're going to be upgrading, then 7 is the way to go. I had an older laptop that had XP on it and I saw no reason to make the jump, since it would only handle a 32bit OS so Windows 7 would not have given me any more enhancements other than maybe some 'eye candy'.


Greg AKA Virgil Earp at the OK Corral
Tombstone, AZ
Re: windows 7 [Re: SD] #232717 12/28/2009 11:42 AM
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 4
Marcus Offline
stranger
Offline
stranger
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 4
Not too happy with Vista. Hope Windows 7 is a change for the better.

Re: windows 7 [Re: SD] #232798 12/30/2009 2:18 PM
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 3
Mike & Jayne Offline
stranger
Offline
stranger
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 3
Just installed Win 7 Pro and have to admint coming from Vista I really like it


Forum Search
ShoutChat Box
Comment Guidelines: Do post respectful and insightful comments. Don't flame, hate, spam.
Recent Topics
Followed List v7.7.2 Question
by Ruben - 11/12/2019 12:22 PM
UBB Dev
by JAISP - 11/03/2019 11:01 AM
Exceeded Number of attachments
by rbrtgrmn - 11/02/2019 9:57 PM
Forum New User Registration
by kf6zpl - 10/25/2019 10:45 AM
Having issue with redirects to UBB classic URLs
by amciotola - 10/16/2019 12:11 AM
Who's Online Now
2 registered members (Gizmo, isaac), 93 guests, and 300 spiders.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Random Gallery Image
Latest Gallery Images
Artistic structures
Artistic structures
by isaac, August 29
Stones
Stones
by isaac, August 19
Amusing Terain Scenics
Amusing Terain Scenics
by isaac, August 19
Sky places
Sky places
by isaac, August 19
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.4
(Snapshot build 20191023)