Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 35
Likes: 3
Newbie
OP Offline
Newbie
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 35
Likes: 3
oh, hello smile

my oldest baby dates back to the late 90s, and is ready for new life! I was recently forced to change hosts, and I downloaded a copy of my (disgustingly large) database. I would love some support in getting running once more.

What are my next steps? Do I purchase the license first, upload the latest version of the software, then purchase the added service for installation / import help...?

best,
Rob

(just for kicks, I was also this guy: https://www.ubbcentral.com/forums/ubbthreads.php/users/327/drkknght !)

Last edited by drkknght00; 10/05/2020 5:25 PM.
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 6,248
Likes: 35
Online Yawn
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 6,248
Likes: 35
You will need to purchase a membership that gives you access to the current software for one year.
If you have your old license tied to your membership then renewal is cheaper.
Just goto the member area and link you old license.
It will only show versions up to when you membership expired.

I guess the first question that will be asked is what flavor and version will you be upgrading from.
It makes a difference if you are upgrading from Classic , WWWthreads or UBBthreads
Then the second will be how big is the backup.
Files=
database=
In any case if the upgrading is to be done online the backup files will need to be uploaded to the server as well as the database

Note: classic does not use a database.

You can have UBB do the upgrade as well as some users here. Of course there is a fee.

Last edited by Ruben; 10/06/2020 3:32 PM. Reason: Added Comment

Blue Man Group
There is no such thing as stupid questions. Just stupid answers
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 35
Likes: 3
Newbie
OP Offline
Newbie
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 35
Likes: 3
thanks, ruben

i will purchase a new membership, as i apparently never linked it. i can do that now to get the party started.

i was running on ubb.threads -- i believe in this 6's, but i don't recall offhand. the database is 1.5gb.

Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 15,992
Likes: 45
UBB.threads Developer
Offline
UBB.threads Developer
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 15,992
Likes: 45
There are several helpful guides at UBBWiki. These include an Upgrade Guide which covers upgrading within UBB.threads v7 and upgrading/importing from UBB.Classic v6.7.x and UBB.Threads v6.5.x.


I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Do you need Forum Install or Upgrade Services?
Forums: A Gardeners Forum, Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 35
Likes: 3
Newbie
OP Offline
Newbie
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 35
Likes: 3
thanks gizmo (hi gizmo!!)

i have not done this in forever smile feels just like old times! ...except slower!!

i purchased a license and downloaded the latest version. i have uploaded the files to my host. i have imported my beastly db. i am running through set up!! i appear to be at the last step, but i am getting "Createtable.php has already been run. Your tables already exist. To continue the installation, remove the tables and then refresh this page."

doing some quick triage now.

Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 15,992
Likes: 45
UBB.threads Developer
Offline
UBB.threads Developer
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 15,992
Likes: 45
Are you trying to do a new install over an existing database? If so, you're generally supposed to do an upgrade unless you're migrating from UBB.Classic 6 or UBB.threads 6, in which case you have to be using either a different database or different table prefix (as compared to your old database) if your host limits your amount of databases.

For migrations you'd run the v7 installer (/install/install.php) in a different database or using a separate prefix as far as the createtable.php step brings you, then you'll have to run the import scripts (do not make an admin user or populate the tables).

For an upgrade within v7 you'd run the upgrade utility (/install/upgrade.php).

Could you outline what you're attempting to do, any steps you've taken, and what versions are involved?


I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Do you need Forum Install or Upgrade Services?
Forums: A Gardeners Forum, Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
1 member likes this: isaac
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 35
Likes: 3
Newbie
OP Offline
Newbie
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 35
Likes: 3
ahh, i see.

yeah, i guess i'm trying too many things at once. i had an earlier version of ubb.threads running on an old host. i was attempting to do a clean install of ubb.threads on my new host with my old db.

to reset where i am now, should i first update the config.php file with a different table prefix, and try again?

Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 15,992
Likes: 45
UBB.threads Developer
Offline
UBB.threads Developer
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 15,992
Likes: 45
Quote
Could you outline what you're attempting to do, any steps you've taken, and what versions are involved?
Was the old version within the v7 series?


I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Do you need Forum Install or Upgrade Services?
Forums: A Gardeners Forum, Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 35
Likes: 3
Newbie
OP Offline
Newbie
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 35
Likes: 3
yessir - 7.2

Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 15,992
Likes: 45
UBB.threads Developer
Offline
UBB.threads Developer
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 15,992
Likes: 45
Then simply run /install/upgrade.php, it'll get you to the latest version.

This is covered on the Upgrade Guide section "Upgrading within UBB.threads v7"


I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Do you need Forum Install or Upgrade Services?
Forums: A Gardeners Forum, Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
1 member likes this: drkknght00
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 6,248
Likes: 35
Online Yawn
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 6,248
Likes: 35
Just as a fyi.
You will need to import your backup database and upload you backup files first.
Then edit your includes/config.inc.php file to make the forum run correctly.
It will be database location user name and password then all the paths.
Then check the forum to see it is working correctly.

Then you follow the guide to upload the new version files.
Over writing the existing ones but avoiding specific files per the guide.
Then when ready run install/upgrade.php not install/install.php.
Follow the prompts closely.

You can follow the UBBwiki or here at https://www.ubbcentral.com/doc_upgrade7.php


Blue Man Group
There is no such thing as stupid questions. Just stupid answers
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 35
Likes: 3
Newbie
OP Offline
Newbie
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 35
Likes: 3
thanks friends -- sorry for radio silence, there were some import errors on the database; it borked at like 98%. i have a full 100% import now, so i can try again this evening smile

2 members like this: isaac, Gizmo
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 6,248
Likes: 35
Online Yawn
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 6,248
Likes: 35
It could be your database collation.
If your UBB version was using latin1_swedish_ci and your new server is utf8.
Otherwise known as iso-8859


Blue Man Group
There is no such thing as stupid questions. Just stupid answers
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 35
Likes: 3
Newbie
OP Offline
Newbie
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 35
Likes: 3
sorry, i meant the import of the db file into phpmyadmin. it was too hearty a beast! buuuut, just took a look, and it's all there now!

going to begin the ^^ operation procedures, and see if we can get the boards'a'goin smile

Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 15,992
Likes: 45
UBB.threads Developer
Offline
UBB.threads Developer
Joined: Jun 2006
Posts: 15,992
Likes: 45
Wow, you imported a large db over PHPMyAdmin? I wouldn't do that any larger than a GB as you could run into timeout issues with a large transaction (and really wouldn't notice missing content unless its all fresh in your mind, and even then)... Generally with large DBs I'd advise using the command line interface to fully process the queries.


I am a Web Development Contractor, I do not work for UBBCentral. I have provided free User to User Support since the beginning of these support forums.
Do you need Forum Install or Upgrade Services?
Forums: A Gardeners Forum, Scouters World
UBB.threads: UBBWiki, UBB Styles, UBB.Sitemaps
Longtime Supporter & Resident Post-A-Holic
VNC Web Services: Code Modifications, Upgrades, Styling, Coding Services, Disaster Recovery, and more!
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 35
Likes: 3
Newbie
OP Offline
Newbie
Joined: Jan 2007
Posts: 35
Likes: 3
Originally Posted by Gizmo
Wow, you imported a large db over PHPMyAdmin? I wouldn't do that any larger than a GB as you could run into timeout issues with a large transaction (and really wouldn't notice missing content unless its all fresh in your mind, and even then)... Generally with large DBs I'd advise using the command line interface to fully process the queries.

aye, that is what happened. phpmyadmin kept timing out. i had to work with my host to do the command line method (i did not yet have direct access)

but now.... wahoo! i've got a working forum smile

its hideous -- i must have messed up the templates somewhere (and can't seem to reset the styles yet)

but... rkmbs.com is alive!!!

Last edited by drkknght00; 10/08/2020 7:37 PM.
1 member likes this: Gizmo
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 6,248
Likes: 35
Online Yawn
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 6,248
Likes: 35
Most hosts limit the file size to 50MIB. using phpmyadmin

Looks like you have it up and running as 7.7.4 now.

For future rote in case you do not have terminal access I have used SQLDumpSplitter.
You set the max file size for your files.
It then reads the sql dump file and breaks it into several smaller files according to the specified size.
Then you import them in order with phpmyadmin.

It works quite well.

Last edited by Ruben; 10/09/2020 1:47 PM. Reason: Fixed typo

Blue Man Group
There is no such thing as stupid questions. Just stupid answers

Link Copied to Clipboard
ShoutChat Box
Comment Guidelines: Do post respectful and insightful comments. Don't flame, hate, spam.
Recent Topics
MySQL 5.6 upgrade to 5.7
by Morgan - 10/19/2020 6:19 AM
Errror log issues ea day
by Morgan - 10/18/2020 7:28 AM
Custom islands error
by Morgan - 10/18/2020 7:25 AM
Saved Member Searches Enhancement
by Ruben - 10/10/2020 1:17 PM
RSS Feeds
by Mors - 10/06/2020 6:44 PM
Who's Online Now
2 members (JAISP, 1 invisible), 68 guests, and 58 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Random Gallery Image
Latest Gallery Images
gallery test
gallery test
by Mors, September 23
Los Angeles
Los Angeles
by isaac, August 6
3D Creations
3D Creations
by JAISP, December 30
Artistic structures
Artistic structures
by isaac, August 29
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5
(Snapshot build 20201014)