their profile contains the default preference, not the actual choice that's used by posts. They are choosing to do something contrary to a choice they made in their profile, but the profile is unchanged. The signature is the same as when you locked it. The preference to show signatures is the same as before. The only part of the profile that is changed by making that post is the post count