Can someone explain this to me?

In the "instructions" it says
Quote
If you uploaded a new copy of the "languages" directory in an earlier step, click the "I have updated my language files by hand" button. Otherwise, click the "Update my language files" button
Am I correct to ASSUME that the first step does NOT upload ANY files - and the second step overwrites ALL of them?????


Now--- if you are performing a NEW INSTALL, then you'd want to upload the entire copy of the "languages" directory. Obviously. So we can forget that scenario.

If you are performing an UPGRADE, then you might want to do one of two things:
1) If you've never made any Language changes, then Upload the ENTIRE directory and OVERWRITE ALL existing files. (The same as a NEW INSTALL.)

Or, if you have made some changes, then:

2) If you think that all of your previous changes are in OTHER language files, then you might want to just update the files with the NEW CHANGES. Or,
3) You need to MANUALLY add the list of changes to the listed files since they might be in with OTHER changes that you made previously.

So-- am I correct to summarize that you need to MANUALLY upload JUST the new changed files if you think that they don't overwrite any that you've made previously.

Or that you need to MANUALLY make the changes (ie. type in) to the files that you think might have previous changes. ??

BOTTOM LINE - there is no way to AUTOMATICALLY have the upgrade program MERGE the existing files along with the newly changed text?

--My head hurts.


--BIll B